We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cigarette smoke and a loud bar”
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cigarette smoke and a loud bar”
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Upon entering this hotel we instantly noticed heavy cigarette smoke odors that followed us up and into our room. The room was tastefully decorated and had a great towel warmer but the cigarette odor was strong. Thankfully we were able to open our window and left it open most of the chilly night so we could breathe fresh air. Bring ear plugs in case you get a room on the floor above the bar because even with earplugs we ended hearing the base and loud voices as we tried to sleep. This hotel is centrally located. The next day breakfast was provided and was so-so compared to all the other venues on our tour. And one last item: their business center is a computer jammed into a busy hallway complete with cig smoke.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seadog4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2010
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are very sorry to hear that you found the smell of cigarette smoke in the hotel and in your bedroom. This is a comment I rarley get and I can't give you a reasonable answer as there is no smoking in the hotel and to facilitate smoking we have an outside smoking area so unless somehow it came into the hotel from there. Regarding the bedroom our housekeeping staff become aware if someone smokes in the room(even though they know it's not allowed) and we have have a system in place to rid the room of the smell of smoke. However on this occasion they must have missed it and I appologise and you may not have heard the noise from the bar had you not have to open the window. Also dissappointing our breakfast( which has over 92% satisfaction rate with our groups) was not to you liking. Again I am sorry as we do try hard to provide an interesting variety including homemade jams,marmalde,brown bread, muffins,scones,porridge choice of juices,cerals freshfruit ,yogurts and a full hot Irish cooked breakfast. Perhaps had the smell of smoke not been there you would have enjoyed your stay. Again many thanks for your comments. We will be even more aware going forward and sorry again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    357
    99
    37
    24
See reviews for
240
614
33
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
473 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

An excellent blend of old and new. Charming decor upgraded with refurbishments. Tiny lobby but great pub area. Unfortunately, the food served as part of package tour was only so-so but we enjoyed the atmosphere and location.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
Your comments are very much appreciated and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Granville Hotel.Charming is a very good way to describe what we offer. Sorry to read you where dissapointed with the meal you had with your group. Don't know what happened, only to assure you that your comments are passed on to our Chef. A small comment regarding the dinner is that we do monitor the satisfaction rate of our Dinner and year to date we are achieving a 93% satisfaction. So your comments will help us to keep the pressure on to achive better. Again many thanks for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Check in was professional although aloof. Bedroom was spacious, comfortable and quiet.
First impression of hotel was the Bar, could not fault the service, welcome and choice of wines given by Elizabeth.
Chose to eat in the Restaurant for the 'Early Bird Menu' which looked great value. I asked the waitress if the cod was the fresh 'catch of the day' The surly reply was "Do you mean fresh frozen?" "We do not have a bath with them swimming around in" Stunned into silence! I ordered the cod (glad I did not ask about the origins of the meat).....It was not edible. My partner said his soup & main course was bland. Desert was fine. In fairness was not charged for the Cod.
Breakfast was ok. Hotel good location, just the food let it down. An 'Early Bird Menu' should be enticing people to dine again in the future. I would certainly stay here again but dine elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2010
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to read that you would stay with us again and very concerned that you would not dine with us. However reading your observations I can understand why and I myself was" stunned into silence". Comments made like that by any of my staff I can not defend,also I can not defend poor product quality for these I sincerly apoligse. The next time you stay please give our food another chance as we have a daily fresh fish special subject to availability. This because of price is not on the early bird menu .The fish you had, would have been frozen from fresh and I am having our chef contacting our supplier and if need be we will change supplier. Once again many thanks as your comments will help us to maintain standards. Also I have passed your kind comments to Elizabeth in the bar. Looking forward to you returning to the Granville Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The Granville Hotel is a beautiful, old building with so much charm and history. The woodwork is spectacular in the building. The room was smaller than any of the others we stayed in during our tour, and the beds were small. We had a room that overlooked the street and the water, and I was concerned about noise, but it was not bad. We were on the second floor, so walked to our room and avoided the overcrowded elevator. The restaurant is beautiful and served an excellent dinner. The location is convenient to shopping and the Waterford Crystal Showroom. We only stayed one night, but would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wewannagoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2010
Delighted to read tha you would have liked to have stayed longer at The Granvile Hotel Waterford. Very much appreciate the time you took to write your review and for your kind comments. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Spent five nights at the Granville as our base for exploring Waterford County. Overall we had an enjoyable stay, though a few things could have been better. Roads were closed because of a fun run and food fair the day we arrived, so the directions given by the hotel were useless and no one had emailed alternative routes to us. Luckily we found a couple of very helpful Gardei to help us. The hotel also plays host to lots of bus tours, which means there are times when the one lift is just impossible to use as suitcases are being delivered to rooms. Our room was very comfortable, but we felt the thin, skimpy bath towels did not befit a 4-star hotel. We were given a room that does not have the internet (apparently the thickness of the walls means the wireless does not reach everywhere) - and were not advised of this on check-in. At least there is wireless in the bar, which we used but obviously not as convenient. We found the Irish staff very friendly and helpful, but unfortunately the Eastern European staff in the restaurant where we had breakfast were much less so and seemed more interested in setting tables for lunch than helping those of us who chose to miss the early bus tour rush and breakfast a little later (though still well before breakfast closed). We ate dinner in the bar a number of times, and enjoyed both the variety of on-tap beers and the food.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJSCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay at The Granville Hotel. Its pleasing to read the overall impression was good and that you enjoyed the beer and the food in the bar. The things that could have been better I do apoligse for. Some of them are within our control and are looking into ways we can improve the services and those that are outside our control we are also looking into ways of improving communication between all parties involved. When what you have commented on is resolved we will be all the better for it. So many thanks again for taking the time to write. Looking forward to being of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2010

3rd time staying in this hotel .Previous times with supervalugetawaybreaks .On both times got excellent rooms to the front of the hotel .This time booked on hotel website with weekend break offer of 2 nights b/b and 1 one evening meal . Got a small room at rear of hotel overlooking kitchens with noise and smells coming from same .Also wedding in hotel on friday night and noise coming from same a until late from reception hall also at rear of hotel outside our bedroom window

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedcrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2010
Thank you for staying at The Granville Hotel many times and for taking the time to write your comments. I am so sorry your last visit was not as good as the previous ones. When reserving your next weekend with us, please email that your room choice is to the front of the hotel and we will ensure that's what you will get. Looking forward to you returninn to The Granville Hote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The Granville Hotel exceeded our expectations. We had a good deal with 2 nights B&B and 1 dinner for £160. Considering the exchange rates on euros this is an excellent deal. The checkin was easy and friendly. The bar is always lively and again very friendly staff. The room we were in did not have a view but this is our perference as we prefer to be away from any main roads. The room had a double and a single bed with large space and lovely bathroom. The dinner we had was a set menu with 6 main choices, starter, dessert and tea/coffee which I think is their early bird menu (5.30pm - 7pm) but for the deal they offer it all evening. The food was lovely, generous portions, service efficient and we enjoyed every mouthful. Breakfast is also excellent. Lots on offer and the cooked breakfast is hot and tasty. We used Waterford as a base to explore the coast and there are some gorgeous beaches from 4 to 10 miles away to spend the day with your family. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay and there are some lovely restaurants and bars in Waterford itself for your stay. Would also recommend The Gingerman for pub grub and pleasant helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2010
Your high recommendation and kind comments are greatly appreciated. We thank for taking the time to write your review and look forward to you revisiting The Granville Hotel sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,167 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athenaeum House Hotel
Athenaeum House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Waterford
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing