We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Granville Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Waterford Marina Hotel(Waterford)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzwilton Hotel(Waterford)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dooley's Hotel Waterford(Waterford)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel(Waterford)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,465)
Filter reviews
1,465 results
Traveller rating
902
387
113
38
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
902
387
113
38
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporridgeirish whiskeyold world charmhistoric hotelold stylecie tourthe riverwonderful hotelthe hotel managerwaterford crystalthe pubbreakfast was excellentviking trianglecar parkfull irish breakfastbar foodhotel bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,342 - 1,347 of 1,465 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2011

The hotel is centrally located with free parking across the street. Reception was friendly. Most rooms have free internet (my first room did not, but I was moved to an other room when I said I wanted internet). The rooms have big beds, a nice bathroom, some chairs and a working desk. The restaurant in the hotel has good food and friendly staff. The style is Victorian. I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geerlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2011

Thank you for your good comments and that you would recommend our Hotel. Hopefully you can stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We were not too enchanted with this hotel. If you like Victorian style, then you might like this hotel. It is centrally located arcoss the water, near a large parking lot and walkable to some shopping. We did not care for our room and though the food was not so good at the hotel pub. The breakfast food too at the restaurant was awful. Really could have been better. Bland, not too tasty and not well cooked either! If you have stay here, fine, stay, but would not go out of your way to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryland804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Very dissappointed you were not enchanted with our hotel.We are one of Irelands Oldest and most historic Hotels and we go to great lenghts to maintain that Old World charm. That is one of our unique selling points. I thank you for your opinion and your other comments. We seemed not to have reached your expectations on our food and breakfast and I apologise for that. Your comments have been passed on. Maybe you will be in this area again and give us the oppertunity to redeem ourseleves. Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed at The Granville again for two nights midweek, last week. We booked two rooms, one for us, one for my Brother. Both rooms were very clean, nicely decorated, flat screen tv and generally well equipped and perfect for what we needed (cable can be obtained from reception giving you free internet access).
This is what we were expecting following our previous stay, however I must again mention the staff - in particular the reception staff on both days who were very friendly and helpful. Also, this time, we had a late lunch in the bar which was really very good and we will definitely eat there again during our next visit. It's also a pleasant welcoming and warm bar just for a drink - well worth a visit (but seriously, do try the food...).

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomson Al Fresco
Thank EzzieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. They are also passed on to the staff, who very much appreciated them.We looking forward to returning to the Granville Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Pleasant and friendly reception staff. Bedroom was large and clean but the decor was a little dated. Location was excellent right beside shopping area, restuarants and bars.

However, on the first night of our stay after having a few drinks in a nearby bar we recieved a phone call to our room from the night porter reporting noise coming out of our room and we were told abruptly to 'keep it down'.
I was quiet insulted to say the least as we are quiet people but weren't given a chance to say back to him that it could not of been from our room as we were merely speaking in a normal tone and no way could be causing a noise disturbance.

To be honest it ruined our weekend and we felt very uncomfortable even speaking in our own room for fear of the porter ringing up again. I also agree with the previous post and we too could hear bathroom fans and people talking in the next room.

Perhaps the complaint was made about us because people next to us could hear us talking but this is not our fault and is down to the thin walls from room to room. This was a major downside to the hotel and we felt like leaving a day earlier than planned.

Breakfast was tasty with pleasant waitress.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boofle41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the location, staff how pleasant they where and how tasty the breakfast was.To have been made feel uncomfortable would never have been our intention and for this I apologise. It should not have been abrupt. Perhaps you will stay with us again and give us the oppertunity to redeem ourselves. We have as you have said some very good points . Please contact me to reservea room I will ensure you have a quiet room. Looking forward to being of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

The hotel is in a great location on the quays. It's an older hotel. The bedrooms are a decent size, a bit on the outdated side but pretty comfortable. The shower had good power, but the hot water was lukewarm (I'm fussy about showers). The receptionist, Liz was lovely and very friendly. Staff in the breakfast room and in the hotel bar - some were friendly, some were not. The breakfast was very nice and freshly cooked. The bar food was okay, nothing special. The room was also well cleaned.
The downside to the hotel was the noise. We had a room at the back of the hotel and the ignorance of people in the corridoor outside in the middle of the night was outrageous. The layout of the bedrooms meant that there was no buffer between the beds and the corridoor. We also could hear the shower and bathroom fan of the bedroom upstairs. The second night of our stay we had to ring reception to complain about the noise from the room directly above us - a couple having an argment in the middle of the night. To be fair the guy on recption acted immediately, but we should NOT be able to hear this noise.
I just didn't get a very welcoming feel from this hotel. Some of the staff could learn how to smile - it costs nothing and goes a long way.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write and I appreciate all of your comments the good and the not so good. They have been passed on to the relevant departments.We are continuously looking at our performances for which we are normally recieving compliments. However we must accept critic also and grow from it. Regarding the conduct of other guests we have no tollerance for that sort of behaviour and had we been aware of it we would have dealt with it as the night porter did the next night. I am truly sorry you did not get that welcome feel. We do try hard to create that feel and again this a reminder to us. I hope you change your mind about recommending us and please contact me should you wish to revist the hotel and give us the oppertunity to change your views. Again many thanks for your custom and the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews