We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most delightful Hotel I have ever had the pleasure of staying in.”
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The highlight of Ireland was the night we stayed at the Granville, we stumbled onto the place late that day, it was raining and we walked in off the street and got a good deal.
The superbly maintained premises & delightful old world charm was the icing on the cake
I now feel we should have stayed all 3 nights with you, more fully enjoyed our stay and day tripped to the areas adjacent to Waterford.
We are telling all our friends how lovely The Granville is and how well we were cared for.
This is our way of showing our appreciation to the Management & all the Staff.
Hopefully our enthusiasm will bring you more business.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank australiarules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2011

Delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciated the time you took to write the review and I am sure your comments will help to attract business to us. These and the all the other comments really do help us both on a business and as importanly the human side. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,349)
There are newer reviews for Granville Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,225 - 1,231 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2011

Very little to fault here. Large bar downstairs, I was in a very large room with three beds, bath and seperate shower. Friendly staff. Breakfast cooked to order.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevintiobraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2011

Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to write your review. All reviews help us to maintain standards. Hope you can stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We stayed in this hotel because we were impressed with the food on a visit to Waterford last year (stayed in a different hotel - poor!) This a superior hotel with graceful public rooms, a very welcoming attentive staff and an old world ambience. We enjoyed our stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Gavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2011

Thank you from all of us for those nice comments. We have been trying hard to deliver good food,service and encourage repeat business. Good to read it's paying off. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

The hotel is centrally located with free parking across the street. Reception was friendly. Most rooms have free internet (my first room did not, but I was moved to an other room when I said I wanted internet). The rooms have big beds, a nice bathroom, some chairs and a working desk. The restaurant in the hotel has good food and friendly staff. The style is Victorian. I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geerlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2011

Thank you for your good comments and that you would recommend our Hotel. Hopefully you can stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We were not too enchanted with this hotel. If you like Victorian style, then you might like this hotel. It is centrally located arcoss the water, near a large parking lot and walkable to some shopping. We did not care for our room and though the food was not so good at the hotel pub. The breakfast food too at the restaurant was awful. Really could have been better. Bland, not too tasty and not well cooked either! If you have stay here, fine, stay, but would not go out of your way to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryland804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Very dissappointed you were not enchanted with our hotel.We are one of Irelands Oldest and most historic Hotels and we go to great lenghts to maintain that Old World charm. That is one of our unique selling points. I thank you for your opinion and your other comments. We seemed not to have reached your expectations on our food and breakfast and I apologise for that. Your comments have been passed on. Maybe you will be in this area again and give us the oppertunity to redeem ourseleves. Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed at The Granville again for two nights midweek, last week. We booked two rooms, one for us, one for my Brother. Both rooms were very clean, nicely decorated, flat screen tv and generally well equipped and perfect for what we needed (cable can be obtained from reception giving you free internet access).
This is what we were expecting following our previous stay, however I must again mention the staff - in particular the reception staff on both days who were very friendly and helpful. Also, this time, we had a late lunch in the bar which was really very good and we will definitely eat there again during our next visit. It's also a pleasant welcoming and warm bar just for a drink - well worth a visit (but seriously, do try the food...).

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomson Al Fresco
Thank EzzieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. They are also passed on to the staff, who very much appreciated them.We looking forward to returning to the Granville Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Pleasant and friendly reception staff. Bedroom was large and clean but the decor was a little dated. Location was excellent right beside shopping area, restuarants and bars.

However, on the first night of our stay after having a few drinks in a nearby bar we recieved a phone call to our room from the night porter reporting noise coming out of our room and we were told abruptly to 'keep it down'.
I was quiet insulted to say the least as we are quiet people but weren't given a chance to say back to him that it could not of been from our room as we were merely speaking in a normal tone and no way could be causing a noise disturbance.

To be honest it ruined our weekend and we felt very uncomfortable even speaking in our own room for fear of the porter ringing up again. I also agree with the previous post and we too could hear bathroom fans and people talking in the next room.

Perhaps the complaint was made about us because people next to us could hear us talking but this is not our fault and is down to the thin walls from room to room. This was a major downside to the hotel and we felt like leaving a day earlier than planned.

Breakfast was tasty with pleasant waitress.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boofle41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the location, staff how pleasant they where and how tasty the breakfast was.To have been made feel uncomfortable would never have been our intention and for this I apologise. It should not have been abrupt. Perhaps you will stay with us again and give us the oppertunity to redeem ourselves. We have as you have said some very good points . Please contact me to reservea room I will ensure you have a quiet room. Looking forward to being of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,190 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £77 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing