We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much overpriced, not a luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Troy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Much overpriced, not a luxury hotel”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We were very disappointed. The rooms were very shabby. The staff was efficient but not luxury helpful. Eugene in the bar area was the exception! the lodges share access to the castle, so during our stay there were hoards of children screaming through the castle-family oriented but not our romantic couple getaway. Look for castle or manor getaways elsewhere. This would be "charming" @ 1/3 the price.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hootietigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfordcastle, Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear Reviewer,
It is with great disappoinment that I read your comments. We get lots of feedback every day about the value that is available to our guests and the friendly service we offer. We do accomodate families in both the lodges and the Castle and yes as it was mid term break there was more activity than normal creating a busy atmosphere in the castle at breakfast time.
We will continue to work on meeting all guest expectations.

Kind regards
Louise McNamara
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    267
    99
    54
    23
See reviews for
373
540
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here over the Bank Holiday weekend with the family and had a great time. We were in the Lodges which are about a 10 minute walk from the hotel and are ideal for extended families. We were told well in advance that the castle was booked privately for a wedding, which was not a problem at all - went there for drinks on the Friday and even though we had a 1 year old with us, were made to feel very welcome and staff were top drawer. The lodges are finished off to a high standard, but there were two small things which I thought they could improve on. I know when you have a break, the TV is one of the last things you think of, but the TV in our lodge had more than a few 'adult' stations inbetween the normal stations - I did not think that this was in the best taste. I know they are blocked, but each one (and there were more than a few!) had a lady in her underwear on the bed on the 'phone. Secondly, on the landing the lights are just above the skirting board, even though they look fantastic, they do heat up very quickly and are quite an attraction for little hands - so just watch out for them!

The weather was shocking when we were there and the ferry did break down on the Saturday - but this did not distract from our stay. The island was further away from the city than I initially thought, so you would need a car.

Would recommend this hotel and a big thank-you and well done to all the staff that we met

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Footy_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfordcastle, Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent stay with us at Waterford Castle .I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with .It is always good to hear positive and constructive feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back again in the future.

Kind regards
Louise McNamara
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We have just come back from a week in a 3 bed lodge, superb. The Houses are fantastic, modern, plenty of room, great beds and pillows. The Castle is beautiful and you have to eat in the restaurant, the food is fantastic. We had a great deal on the lodge due to end of season and you could not ask for better. I have been going to Waterford for years and staying with my in-laws, I wish I had found these a few years back. I will definantly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I loved this. It was perfect for a romantic getaway. The staff are friendly, the castle itself is beautiful and the grounds are great. The restaurant is also beautiful, the food is amazing. I would reccommend getting one of the deals that has breakfast and dinner included as it is pricey if you were to buy it when you get there. The ferry is very efficient and runs 24 hours and the Castle is only a few minutes drive from the centre of Waterford. I loved it and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kildare room which was nice. Some minor issues like peeling wallpaper but overall s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankay65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Really special. You have to get a ferry in your car over to the island which makes it more special. The Castle looks so good it's really beautiful. A very special place. Only negitive is the price. Not the price of the Hotel which is not cheap but is fair. The price of the food is too high at 72 a head for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appraisal4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bandon, county cork
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The castle is on a private island so is a two minute ferry ride across the water. We stayed in the castle itself rather than in one of the modern self catering lodges on the estate. We all viewed each of the three bedrooms assigned to us. They were all similar with zip and link beds. The bathrooms are equipped with large old fashioned baths with a central shower overhead. The bedrooms and bathrooms were both spacious and warm. The furnishings in all the rooms are somewhat dated though comfortable with a really oldie worldie feel to the place.

One word of warning, if you are a light sleeper, be sure not to book a room overlooking the roof of the kitchen as the noise from the fans is annoying and they seem to run up to midnight and from about 7am onwards making a constant whirring sound.

The reception area has a wonderful open fire with comfy seating around it. The bar is directly off the reception and it is also spacious and welcoming.

Dinner was excellent so compliments to the chef. We started with a complimentary artichoke taster and I had a French Country terrine with an onion marmalade though the more popular choice with our group was the scallop dish. This was followed by a sorbet. My main course was a delicious sea bass followed by an equally enjoyable chocolate dessert, teas, coffees and chocolates.

There was a buffet for breakfast as well as cooked options. The prunes should have been soaked a little longer to along the prune to fall away from the stones, ie they were a bit chewy and a hazard for teeth! Two other disappointments were the pancakes which were distinctly leathery and the hash brownies which weren't great either. Try the blackish brown bread as it was delicious. The scrambled egg got the vote of approval also.

We walked along some of the trails around the island and watched the golfers enjoying themselves. There were plenty of deer to be spotted in the woodlands. We glimpsed into the self catering lodges, three rows of attached two story houses - about 50 of them in total. This development looked like it had been constructed in the past five years.

The hotel oozes charm and is in a wonderfully private setting. Although none of us stayed in one of the lodges, I think that staying in the castle was a much more memorable experience for us even if the bedrooms are slightly dated. The lodges just wouldn't have the same ambience which was the really magical part of our stay.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room overlooking the kitchen if you are a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KilbroganHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I grew up in Waterford and always dreamed of staying in Waterford castle. We had to visit Waterford for a breavement recently and ended up staying at one of the Castle's lodges, Coupled with the rush we both needed a bit of peace and quiet and we definitely got it here. The lodges are very spacious and modern with 3 or 4 double bedrooms. We stayed in a 3 bedroom one and even one of the sofas coupled as an extra bed. The cosy gas fire in the nighttime was welcoming after a day in the blustery wind. You pay for the house, not per person and the best rate is the 2 for 1 night offer. You definitely have to have dinner in the Castle hotel restuarant. (Early Bird offer is a must try). It was one of the best meals we've ever eaten and there was plenty of it. What I liked is that I didn't have to pre-warn them of my intolerances. After speaking to the waitress and a quick word with the chef my 3 courses were sorted in minutes, no fuss or bother and they were delicous. The hotel is definitely worth spending some time in. Big open fireplace in reception and you can spend a while looking at all their various awards sipping your drink. We are both looking forward to going back under happier times for us and enjoying the hotel and a lodge a bit more. You definitely get a warm welcome at the castle...

Room Tip: Look out for the 2 nights for 1 offer for the lodges. The lodges have 3 or 4 double bed bedrooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelmontTonyMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,149 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,165 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,129 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing