We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical island/A rare gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We are just back from a fantastic relaxing weekend with all the family,staying in the beautiful lodges.When we entered the amazing houses, the fire was lighting, and we felt at home straight away.Houses are so modern, bright, spacious, clean and so cosy, with all 4* qualities & more.The nature walk was great, and seeing all the beautiful wildlife (Deers, Hares) added to the excitement.All the adults & children had a brilliant time.The ferry was an added bonus, giving us the magical feeling of staying on this magical island.So close to Waterford city & Tramore, yet when you board the ferry, you feel a world away from everything...pure bliss!! Will definately be returning soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DublinMadyolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

998 - 1,004 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

A lovely old building in a unique island setting.
A first-rate restaurant, offering gourmet cuisine.
We got a 2-night package, with 1 Dinner (Set menu with good choice) included.
Standard room was quite satisfactory.
Golf-course is only a stroll from hotel - not the cheapest green fees, but an interesting course in perfect condition for time of year.


[Don't be put off by car-ferry access to Island. It runs 24 hours, with minimal wait.]

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FOX47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Me and my husband got married here July 30th.... I could not praise the staff enough.
We stayed in the lodges for 8 days over our wedding and in the castle the night before and the night of our wedding. We felt like royalty.
The food was outstanding and our guests are still commenting to this day on how wonderful the food was... Especially the steak and crab cakes.
All our guests, some who travelled as far as Canada fell in love with the castle...
Everything was perfect. I'm just disappointed we aren't doing it all again, although I have told the hubbie we are going to renew our vows there on our tenth anniversary.
The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful, especially Gillian who coordinated our wedding, we owe so much to her for making our day so wonderful... From the original booking right up until we had to leave, Gillian made sure we were taken care of and we could not of asked for more, we are from England and it could of been very difficult to arrange our wedding in Ireland but with Gillian's help everything went with such ease.
Ideal for a romantic getaway and families alike and the ultimate wedding venue, I cannot wait to revisit...
Mr and mrs Walsh

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkils11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryEllen, Sales & Marketing at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Mr. & Mrs Walsh,

Thank you for your lovely review of you wedding experience at Waterford Castle. Our staff strive to make your day as special as you have always dreamed and I am delighted to hear that they succeeded. I have past all of your comments on to our staff who were very happy to hear your wedding meal is still a highlight amongst your guest.

I am thrilled to see you are already planning the ten year return, but I hope we have the pleasure of seeing you much sooner than that for an anniversary.

Warmest Wishes
Kerry Dunne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Everything about this venue is top class. From the welcome on arrival to the moment of departure, the staff are friendly and nothing is too much bother for them. I have stayed here on a few occasions and intend to return. The food was delicious!! Well done to everyone at the Castle!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryEllen, Sales & Marketing at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Reviewer,

I have just read your review and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our property. I am so happy to hear you experienced the customer service for which our staff are famous for.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Wishes
Kerry Dunne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed down on the Easter weekend, 6 adults (3 couples) and a dog. We were pleasantly suprised how nice the houses were and for such a reasonable cost, we are used to staying in the likes on Doonbeg but I have to say for the cost diffrence Waterford Castle is right up there. The ferry was always availble to Waterford, Dunmore East was only down the road for walks, the city centre was a short taxi ride away, the houses were large and well equipped and the golfing was a big hit and tee times could be easily reserved, my own critism is that the club house closed very early and for a golfing resort, the Masters could not be viewed on the island. will be back and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Self Catering Houses are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryEllen, Sales & Marketing at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Reviewer,

I have just read your lovely review of our Castle Garden Lodges, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed The Island and all that Waterford has to offer.
I am sorry that you did not get to see the Masters at our clubhouse, we are looking at extending our opening times for such events.

I hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Kerry Dunne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Waterford castle is like no other venue that i have ever stayed in before in Ireland. I was fortunate enough to get married there and i would do it all over again in a heart beat. It is a fantastic location for any sort of important event in your life that you would like to celebrate or it is definitely a place to go if you just want to get away from it all and be treated to first class service and food.
All my guests raved about the food, in short our meal was fantastic, it is defintiely a treat to eat in the Munster Room, Michael and his staff of chefs create mouth watering dishes from locally sourced produce. The staff, i can't talk more highly of, every single member of staff that i encountered was friendly, attentive and anything you asked of them was done immediately. Every single staff member came across as wanting to give you the best service they possibly could.
My husband and i are already looking forward to our next trip to Waterford Castle.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but if you can afford it get yourself a suite. However it doesn't ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shellymf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryEllen, Sales & Marketing at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our property and staff. We take great pride in the food and service here at the Castle and I'm delighted that this came across during your stay.
I am happy to hear that you are already planning your return trip.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards
Kerry Dunne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Just back from my cousins wedding this weekend we took two lodges and found them to be fantastic very plush lovely kitchen living area comfortable beds etc best holiday rentals we have ever stayed in worked out great value as there was ten of us in total would definitely return

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,207 reviews
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,365 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,187 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,203 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £111 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing