We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay in the lodges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in the lodges”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Just back from a three night stay at the lodges in Waterford castle with 3 friends from U.K.
We had an excellent time , the lodges are extreamly comfortable and well designed.
They are very spacious so you are not on top of one another.
We were very lucky with the weather so we could sit out in the sunshine and go for long walks
around the island which is teeming with wildlife, we saw badger, deer, hares and rabbits.
The staff at the castle and the golf club are top class and nothing is any bother to them.
We all came away feeling well rested and relaxed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wcastle, Sales & Marketing Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear Patricia N
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Waterford Castle Garden Lodges recently & that you and your party were able to experience all that our 310 acre private island has to offer. Many thanks for sharing your thoughts on tripadvisor & please come back to visit soon.
Kind Regards Joanna Hannick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    260
    96
    53
    22
See reviews for
357
529
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The grounds and the castle itself were absolutely beautiful. It was a lot smaller than Ashford Castle which was a breath of fresh air. We loved Ashford, but in Waterford we felt very secluded. You have to take a car ferry to and from the Island which is pretty cool. There is a desk in the lobby with books from the 1800s which was really cool to look at. The bedrooms were HUGE and so were the bathrooms. They had old fashioned hand painted toilets and huge 2 person claw foot bath tubs. The staff was super attentive. When we got back to the hotel late, I tried calling a room and couldn't figure it out so I called the front desk and received no answer. It wasn't a big deal but the front desk came up to the room to make sure we were ok which was really nice. The window is actually part of the castle wall which was cool too. The breakfast buffet was really small consisting of danishes and cereals but the breakfast menu had plenty of items. I was a little disappointed when I ordered and omelet and that was all that literally came on the plate. However, the omelet was delicious.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-Ann1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Beautiful hotel. Rooms are very clean and good size. Not much to do around hotel though. The dinner in the dinning room was very good. Have to take ferry to hotel but is only 2 mins and you drive your car right on or can stand on. About a 10 min drive to town

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afox06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian3553, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Afox06,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that your brief visit was enjoyable.

I hope that the rest of your journey is as relaxing and unique as Waterford Castle.

Kind Regards

Adrian Rossetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom lodge with our 4 month old baby. It was overall a great experience, the lodges are contemporary and spotlessly clean, with facilities such as a dishwasher/tumble dryer and washing machine, ideal for a family. They also supply washing up liquid, a couple of dishwasher tablets and washing powder tablets....which the initial booking information we received said they didn't...so we wouldn't have bothered packing that, had we known, not a problem though.

The master bedroom was big enough for a large travel cot, without bumping into it when going into the en suite or opening the bedroom door. The other two bedrooms were smaller, perfect doubles, but wouldn't fit a travel cot or camp bed for little ones in.

We stayed in lodge 40,which was fantastic as the back patio doors face into the open golf course/ gorse bushes, and every morning we would see deer and pheasants whilst having breakfast. However some of the lodges backed onto each other, which I wouldn't have been so happy with, so ask for one on the back row!

Most of the time we self catered, but a couple of evenings we had dinner in the main hotel, and it was top quality and great value at 35euro/head for four courses, and they were happy with us bringing our little one into the dining room.

The only downside in facilities was that there was no draining board next to the sink so water went everywhere, as we couldn't wait for the dishwasher every time we needed a bottle for the baby. A very minor quibble!

Area wise, we felt Waterford was our least favourite area of Ireland that we visited on our trip, however the castle lodges and hotel were so good, and such brilliant value we will still be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMand2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian3553, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear HMand2,

Thank you for your recent review which was recently posted. Its great to hear that you enjoyed all the facilities with your young family.

I look forward in welcoming you back to the Island in the near future.

Kind Regards

Adrian Rossetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We dined in Waterford Castle during earlier this week. The castle itself is very nice with a great lobby and the dining room was nice.

A party of six of us went there to celebrate my 40th birthday. The evening menu was very overpriced and not very good. The vegetables which were extra arrived cold. My sister requested her Duck cooked well done however when it arrived it was rare. When she requested that it be cooked further the waiter did not apologise for the mistake. By the time it was returned everyone else had finished. The waiter did he offer her any fresh vegetables which is what I would expect from this calibre of hotel.

When the booking was made I made them aware that it was for a birthday celebration however no effort was made to acknowledge this.

I was extremely disappointed as I had heard wonderful thing about this hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cupcake05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian3553, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Cupcake05,

I have read your review and I am dissapointed that you have had a negative experience on your visit to the Castle.

I can only apologize and ask for you to contact me directly at the Castle so we may discuss this further.

I will pass your comments to both kitchen and restaurant.

I look forward to speaking to you.

Kind Regards

Adrian Rossetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audubon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This was our first stop on our honeymoon and was a very neat place. Our Room (rose room) was big and there was a bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived. We had dinner there that night as well and it was great! There is a nice big welcoming fireplace when you first walk in and after dinner we finished our drinks by the fire and talked with some of the other guests there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian3553, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear ErikB,

Firstly I would like to take this opportunity in congratulating you on your Wedding. Thank you for choosing Waterford Castle and I hope the rest of your honeymoon will be as good as your first stop over!!

Kind Regards

Adrian Rossetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

As a treat on our journey around Ireland, my daughter and I stayed one night at the castle. Cool ride on the ferry to the island and magical driving down the lane to the hotel. Our suite of rooms was fantastic, elegant and spacious. We had dinner in the bar, where we got great service and excellent food. The staff was gracious and helpful. Thank you all for making our one splurge so special.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Countrygalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian3553, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Countrygalks,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and to share your thoughts on your experince with us.

We hope you enjoyed your journey around Ireland.

Kind Regards

Adrian Rossetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing