We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful anniversary stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful anniversary stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

We recently returned to the Castle for our first wedding anniversary and it was really lovely to be back. We had the Ormond Room which is a large room with gorgeous views. The only noise that we could hear was the birds which is a lovely change! The food at dinner and breakfast was perfect (especially the lamb) and service was efficient and friendly as usual, especially Antonio who took time to chat. Our dessert plate even had a happy anniversary message on it which was a lovely touch and made us feel special. Hopefully we'll be back for our next anniversary.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjcb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to wite your review. It was lovely to read such compliments and we are delighted to hear service being described as efficient and friendly. I will happily be alerting Antonio to your kind remarks and we hope to see you on your next anniversary if not sooner!
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    253
    96
    51
    22
See reviews for
347
513
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

went to dear friends 50th birthday with afternoon tea just for the girls, it was fabulous and a real treat.staff were very friendly and helpful nothing too much for them,location in conservatory was just lovely.A great afternoon..

Room Tip: the only tip i can give people thinking about booking a night or two just book it or you will be dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnapreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We were delighted to learn of your Afternoon Tea experience at the castle and that your findings were positive. The staff will greatly appreciate the recognition you have given them and we hope that you will return for many more great afternoons. Please pass on all our very best and a belated happy birthday to your dear friend.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

You can't go wrong with booking at the castle. The staff is incredible; wonderfully attentive and kind. They anticipated our wants and needs without being intrusive. Our room was beautiful; a castle dream with modern conveniences. Food and service is excellent. The grounds well kept. We didn't want to leave "our" castle and definitely would book again on a future trip to Ireland.
I

Room Tip: Choose any room. They are all wonderful. Spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dotty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. All of the staff at Waterford Castle will be so proud to receive such abundant compliments. Your review was most complimentary and we are delighted to accept your seal of approval. We will look forward to having you return and we too do not want you to leave "your" castle.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molalla, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We arrived early and exhausted from our overnight flight to Dublin and drive to Waterford. The staff was wonderful and as kind as anyone could be. The staff took our bags and parked the car and then led us to a beautiful fairyland room. We stayed to the Suir Room and it was large, beautiful and had a wonderful view. After a nap in a very comfortable bed, we wandered the beautiful grounds and then ate wonderful dinner. After a fabulous night sleep, we had Breakfast. The buffet before the hot breakfast was incredible. We were pampered from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Staying in this castle was the perfect was to start our Ireland experience. I cannot recommend The Castle Waterford enough!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you very much for sharing such positive and complimentary feedback with us. Your review was a joy to read and I look forward to sharing your comments with all of my colleagues ata Waterford Castle. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and we greatly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Unbelievable place to spend a few nights! It is situated on a small island and you can get it by ferry only. Very picturesque place with foxes, sheeps, cows etc
They have room service what is important as yo can' t get to tha land at night.
The price is ok for rooms and service they offer!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadorialena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you so much for posting your feedback following your recent stay. We were delighted to read your review and indeed your caption "I would stay here for ages" really has made us smile and has created such a sense of pride.
We look forward to your return visit.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
242 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

The hotel is pretty enough but could use a little updating and some new carpeting. Service is good and our dinner in the restaurant was enjoyable but not memorable. We walked around the island and although we were prepared for it to be muddy, it was not so pleasant for other reasons - hard to avoid the golf course, lots of insects, an unattractive water line. It was a fine stay for one night but we would have been bored with more, and I can't imagine that we would return to this hotel (or to Waterford, for that matter).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAGreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. I would like to assure you that updating is ongoing. I was pleased to read that food and service was enjoyable and that it was a fine stay for one night. I am sorry to hear of the other reasons that made it not so pleasant and indeed were not to your liking. I do hope that you will reconsider your stance on a return visit to Waterford Castle.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

This is a great hotel with an amazing golf course. I couldn't recommend it more. The bar staff in the clubhouse were lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We looked around the course but didn't play a round. It looked great though.
We went on a couples break and the hotel was perfect and relaxing.
We were also told about the adventure breaks they offer and would love to return for one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are sincerely grateful for your recommendation. I will be happily passing your compliments to the bar staff at the clubhouse.
I am delighted to hear of your enjoyment with your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing