We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edward and Sandras Irish Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had a wonderful two days staying in the Casle,we were going to dine in one night and then go to a Michelin Restaurant the second,however it was a 45 minute drive so we ate a second night in the Castle.The food and service were excellent and we can honestly say the best we have had on our visit to Ireland.The staff were most helpful and the surroundings spectacular you can just imagine what it was like to live there in the 15th century.The bedrooms are a litle tired however the setting more than compensates for this.Afternoon tea or coffee sat next to the huge great hall fireplace is a must.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwarddeery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Your review was indeed a delight for us to read . We are most proud of the association with excellent food and service. I have noted your comment in regards to the bedrooms and this will be our focus in the near future.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband & I stayed at Waterford Castle for a one night B&B with
evening meal on the 16th.,of November, which was a Saturday night.

The castle itself is on an Island & access is by ferry which makes the whole experience
special.

The ivy covered castle is breathtaking on approach, with lots of very authentic features.

We were welcomed enthusiastically by Kadie & given a tour of the reception rooms.
Our bedroom was very quaint with victorian porcelain floral ensuite.

Dinner was fantastically delicious, & service was immpecable.
The whole dining experience was added to by the truly gifted pianist.

Breakfast was equally delicious with very attentive table service.

If we had one regret, it would be that it was all over too soon.

Well done Waterford Castle. Just Magic.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was delighted to read your comments and your compliments are most appreciated. It will be my great pleasure to share your review with my colleagues.
Thank you for choosing Waterford Castle and we look forward to having you back for an even longer stay in the future.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Just returned from short break in one of the fabulous lodges on the estate. Great accommodation. Evening meal in the Castle was perfect, great food and service, in wonderful surroundings. Would recommend and hope to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to express your views. The word "excellent" that you choose to describe your stay brings a smile and a sense of achievement to all of us. We sincerely appreciate your compliments and like you we hope that you will return for more of the same..
Thank you for your recommendation.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

we stayed at the lodges and they were fabulous! so comfortable really big and had a cosy feel. We would definitely stay there again. ideal for any type of visitor, family, or friends. Beautiful location.

Room Tip: The leisure centre is located at different site. All the lodges are quite nice we stayed at the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zhenni_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. I was delighted to read of your findings with our lodges and thank you for voicing such positive comments. To hear that you would definitely stay again is most rewarding for us.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

on our honeymoon--we decided to be lavish for a night and treat ourselves to this amazing stay at waterford castle. it was expensive, but we were ready for it. they even upgraded us since it was our honeymoon, and gave us a delicious dessert with "congratulations" painted in chocolate on the plate. everyone was SO sweet and friendly--helpful, accomodating, polite, engaging. we absolutely loved our stay. the room was GORGEOUS, quiet, peaceful, clean, huge! the shower was odd--gorgeous old tub, but shower curtain that wrapped in a tight circle around you--the floor was soaked each time we used the shower. i felt pretty bad! that was the ONLY weird part--but def not enough to soil this review. i would go back immediately if i could. we loved our stay, the food, the comfort....simply perfect. go here now!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarynk07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for sharing such lovely feedback. Your review was such a delight for us to read and we sincerely appreciate the abundant compliments. It will be my pleasure to share this review with all my colleagues at Waterford Castle whom I am sure will be most proud of the content.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we also would like if you came back immediately!
We sincerely appreciate your seal of approval and recommendation.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The stay at the Waterford Castle was very nice and a great experience
Anyone that has never stayed in a castle will need to do so.
On our trip to Ireland we stayed in 3 castle and the Waterford was the best one of the 3

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely appreciate the compliments and it is high reward to hear that you had a great experience. Thank you so much for such a strong recommendation and the rating of the best from 3 is indeed something to cherish.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

A group of us (Girls in our 20-30s) got a discount voucher to stay in one of the houses on the grounds, we really had no idea what to expect but we were very impressed, even the boat over to the island is a nice touch, the Island feels untainted and private, the houses on the grounds are really fab and modern and decorated to the highest standard, only bug barer was the prices in the hotel we though it was very expensive, we also got food out of the golf club one evening and we were able to collect it and bring it back to the house staff were quite helpful and did plate everything and tinfoil it for us to take it away which I believe they generally don't do. Would we stay again absolutely!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5starsdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to express your views. I was delighted to read of your impressions of the island and it is lovely to hear that you were indeed impressed. We appreciate your compliments in regards to our lodge accommodation and we are most grateful for your recommendation.
To hear you would absolutely stay again is music to our ears and we sincerely look forward to having you back.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,422 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,252 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,083 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,227 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £104 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing