We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Nearby Hotels
Waterford Marina Hotel(Waterford)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzwilton Hotel(Waterford)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dooley's Hotel Waterford(Waterford)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Granville Hotel(Waterford)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel(Waterford)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,360)
Filter reviews
1,360 results
Traveller rating
885
289
106
54
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
885
289
106
54
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmunster roompresidential suiteprivate islandcar ferrygolf clubdriving rangeself catering lodgesclaw foot tubfairy taleround of golfsitting roomfamily weddingold worldfrom start to finishsconesfollowing morningtop class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
742 - 747 of 1,360 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is good. Fetches a high price because it's a castle. And in every respect it is, there's a ferry to reach the grounds and the lobby and public areas are fantastic and memorable. We stayed off season and on a Sunday night The staff seemed to be on a skeleton crew and didn't feel as welcoming as the hotel it's trying to be. The Fireplace and holiday decorations in the the lobby were terrific and food was great.
I do have to say the rooms seemed dirty and in disrepair.
But all in all my daughter will remember the night in the princess castle forever. We would return, but only with discounts or a better room.

The elevator also needs some service

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad to hear that there were aspects of your stay that were fantastic and memorable. It is concerning to read of your findings with the rooms and we will give this immediate attention as it well deserves.
We are pleased to hear that you will return and we look forward to having that opportunity.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Stunning views inside and outside the castle.

Was here for a wedding and stayed in the lodges, the accommodation was really lovely, all underfloor heating so you step out of the shower on a nice heated tilled floor and even the carpets were warm the fireplaces were lovely and warm, felt like I didn't spend nearly enough time in the lodge because we were having such a nice time at the wedding.
The pictures I got from this place were beautiful, big hit on my Facebook lol, huge fireplaces, windows Christmas tree's & nice staircases!
Staff were lovely, friendly and can't say enough about the place outside and inside.
If there was one small complaint there was only one key they could find for a three bedroom lodge and the lodges are not near enough to say ill drop the key back up to you but I sense that was a one off case as when I complained they were more than helpful trying their best to solve the problem as quickly as they could.
Drinks were a little but expensive but to be expected at this beautiful place.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fionamarienolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to express your views. We sincerely appreciate the compliments throughout your review and it is reassuring to hear of lovely, friendly staff. I am delighted to read of your satisfaction with our lodges as we are most proud of what they offer.
I am sorry to read of the issue with the lodge key and we have noted this. Our apologies for this inconvenience.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime in the future.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had a wonderful two days staying in the Casle,we were going to dine in one night and then go to a Michelin Restaurant the second,however it was a 45 minute drive so we ate a second night in the Castle.The food and service were excellent and we can honestly say the best we have had on our visit to Ireland.The staff were most helpful and the surroundings spectacular you can just imagine what it was like to live there in the 15th century.The bedrooms are a litle tired however the setting more than compensates for this.Afternoon tea or coffee sat next to the huge great hall fireplace is a must.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwarddeery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Your review was indeed a delight for us to read . We are most proud of the association with excellent food and service. I have noted your comment in regards to the bedrooms and this will be our focus in the near future.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband & I stayed at Waterford Castle for a one night B&B with
evening meal on the 16th.,of November, which was a Saturday night.

The castle itself is on an Island & access is by ferry which makes the whole experience
special.

The ivy covered castle is breathtaking on approach, with lots of very authentic features.

We were welcomed enthusiastically by Kadie & given a tour of the reception rooms.
Our bedroom was very quaint with victorian porcelain floral ensuite.

Dinner was fantastically delicious, & service was immpecable.
The whole dining experience was added to by the truly gifted pianist.

Breakfast was equally delicious with very attentive table service.

If we had one regret, it would be that it was all over too soon.

Well done Waterford Castle. Just Magic.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was delighted to read your comments and your compliments are most appreciated. It will be my great pleasure to share your review with my colleagues.
Thank you for choosing Waterford Castle and we look forward to having you back for an even longer stay in the future.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Just returned from short break in one of the fabulous lodges on the estate. Great accommodation. Evening meal in the Castle was perfect, great food and service, in wonderful surroundings. Would recommend and hope to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to express your views. The word "excellent" that you choose to describe your stay brings a smile and a sense of achievement to all of us. We sincerely appreciate your compliments and like you we hope that you will return for more of the same..
Thank you for your recommendation.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews