We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ladies week-end”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

A group of us, 10 women, stayed in a "lodge" in the grounds of Waterford Castle. To say it was luxurious would be an understatement. This was showhouse condition at it's very best.Lodge is the wrong description for this very beautiful house with every mod con and a state of the art kitchen. You have to stay in one of these lodges to appreciate it.

Room Tip: Ask for an end lodge as these have the benefit of extra balconies and utility room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myra n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for finding the time to review your stay with us. I was delighted to read your comments and we sincerely appreciate your compliments within the review. We are most grateful for your seal of approval and most pleased that all of the ladies had a luxurious weekend.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future we hope!
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Lovely building & location, let down by poor standard of afternoon tea. Treated ourselves last Sunday week & felt very poor value at €20 p/p. Tiny sandwiches & very scarce, with bread gone hard/stale from being left out too long. Cakes ok. Scones tasteless. €60 for 2 adults & 1 child....not worth it, even for the nice surroundings. How hard can it be to serve decent sandwiches? Would be reluctant to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tpk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us. I was saddened to learn of your disappointment with our afternoon tea offering at Waterford Castle. I am very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations and indeed I am concerned that we did not take the opportunity to act on this when you were here. As a rule we check on all guests satisfaction during their dining experience so that any issues may be addressed. I have taken all of your comments on board and will be bringing them to the attention of our Food & Beverage Team where they will be highlighted. The composition of our afternoon tea remains traditional with finger sandwiches on offer and to compliment our scones we serve butter, homemade jam and Chantilly cream to heighten the taste experience of the scones. We have indeed worked hard of recent times on our afternoon tea offer and this in turn has received applause from guests.
I agree with you that it should not be hard to serve decent sandwiches and hard bread is simply not good enough.
I do hope you will change your stance on a return as we would very much like to regain your confidence.
Thank you
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Waterford Castle is a little gem of a place to stay especially in the off season, it feels like your own castle !!!
Staff great, I have to mention the 2 wonderful girls in charge of the drawing room area,everything done with a smile.
Rooms simple clean and cosy. Comp tea and coffee on request to your bedroom.
Dining room with a warm atmosphere and fantastic food..
Had the golf course to ourselves bar the 4 legged creatures, a delight.

If I had one wish it would be to tear down the lodges, not suitable for the island too modern and too many of them.

I will be back and I wish all at the castle a good season ahead

Room Tip: Stay in the castle not the lodges, its a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. May I say that your description of " a gem of a castle" brings a smile to my face and I greatly look forward to sharing your comments with all of my colleagues at Waterford Castle.
I am delighted to read that you will be back and a sincere thank you for your best wishes for the season ahead.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were at Waterford for a few days in our journey through Ireland in Oct 2012. The grounds are so pretty, and the staff is wonderful. The rooms were a bit on the small side, but the beauty and history of the rest of the building made up for it for me. There's trails to take a jog/walk on and at dusk there's deer everywhere. Be sure to be back for afternoon tea! The car ferry to get there was easy to find. My husband actually just brought this place up again and wanted to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read of your experience at Waterford Castle and to hear that your husband has mentioned us again coupled with and intent to return is most gratifying. I do hope that we can make this come true very soon.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

From the start waterford castle is special, the ferry to the island(free) to the fact that it has a real castle look and feel to it. From the front of house to the bar, the staff were brilliant. Special mention for derek whom I believe is the manager, a true professional and a gentleman. The food and room were wonderful and I cant wait to return.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Insomnia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Reviewer
Thank you so much for sharing such lovely feedback. To have Waterford Castle labelled as a special place is of great reward for all of us here. I personally feel very humbled by your mention and must say that it was my pleasure to have met you during your stay.
We greatly look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

A winter wonderland @ The Castle! We celebrated our sons wedding last saturday what an amazing experience from the moment we crossed the quirky ferry onto the island we had a truly wonderful family gathering to finish off 2013!! We had the use of a lodge on the night before the wedding (complimentery) absolutely 1st class all the comforts of home, a welcoming fire blazing in the lounge area, heat on upstairs 3 most comfortable double rooms with all facilities supplied, a great start to our celebrations and it only got better from there on. @ the castle we resided in The Wedgewood Suite for the following 2 nights, felt like a king and queen, well nice while it lasted. The wedding itself from start to finish was magical as we entered the great hall to a hot drinks reception amid the festive decorations the bar was set very high and it didnt fail, our meal (banquet) was 5* the excellence and quality of the food was commented on by all our guests everyone agreed it was a veritable gourmet feast! A big thank you to all the professional attentive staff of Waterford Castle you certainly made our wedding celebrations truly memorable, hope 2014 is a healthy and peaceful year for you all!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodnwine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for finding the time to share your views with us Your review was indeed a delight for us to read and we greatly appreciate your compliments. Your recognition along with your seal of approval are very welcome and make us most proud of what we do at Waterford Castle.
Our sincere best wishes to the bride and groom and many happy returns for the year ahead.
We look forward to having the opportunity to having you back very soon.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Our magical pre-Christmas break started with a lovely unique ferry journey over , then a sweeping beautiful driveway leading up to the hotel. When we opened up the hugh castle doors we were greeted with a sincere genuine warm welcome from the receptionist. The reception area was magical with a hugh Christmas tree, a glowing fire a really lovely atmosphere . We were shown around the main areas in the castle & then to our room . Our room was very comfortable with lovely old leaded windows with a beautiful view outside , tv , an amazing old fashioned bathroom, cosy & warm with thoughtful personal comforts that included a nightly turndown service, plush bathrobes, bottled mineral water. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room but the reception provide tea/coffee when you require it. We had dinner the first night in the restaurant & the second night we had bar food in the lobby beside the fire-place , the food was lovely & the staff were very friendly, courteous ,helpful and efficient . We went for a stroll around the beautiful grounds in the lovely December sun-shine & we even saw deer. Breakfast was served each morning in a little room beside the dining room , firstly a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice to start then you could have cereal, Fresh bread, a variety of hard cheeses , cold meats , pastries, homemade marmalade and raspberry jam, prunes, yogurts , tea/coffee . Then you choose from 'a full irish ' , pancakes , egg benedict , omelette, salmon or porridge....all very tasty & enough to keep you going for the day !!! The castle is unique with lovely old world charms with drafts, a sagging mattress etc but we really enjoyed our stay at Waterford Castle & hope to have the pleasure of returning some day !!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank procus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your kind remarks and it was very reassuring to hear of friendly, courteous, helpful and efficient staff. I am delighted to read your feedback in regards to our food offering and thank you for such abundant compliments.
Thank you for choosing Waterford Castle and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,409 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,243 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,222 reviews
19.9 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,068 reviews
2 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £111 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing