We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“wonderful stay”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I recently stayed in one of the lodges with a group of friends and we had such a lovely weekend. The lodge was fantastic, finished to a very high standard and with everything you could need. We ate in the golf club for breakfast and dinner and I was so impressed with the service and quality of the food. Without a doubt the staff are the best thing about Waterford castle and that is really saying something considering how beautiful the whole resort is. Every member of staff we dealt with went above and beyond their job description to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. They were all so friendly and seemed to be genuinely interested in how we were enjoying our stay as opposed to just asking because it's their job to ask. I would particularly like to mention Linda in reception and the manager in the golf club ( I think his name is Adrian but I could be wrong) for their great service. I will certainly be back and would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at the lodges. I was delighted to read the abundant compliments throughout your review and to hear mention of impressive service and quality is most gratifying. I look forward to sharing your views with all my colleagues and in particular with Linda and Adrian whom I am sure will be most humbled by your remarks.
We are most grateful for your seal of approval and look forward to having you back in the very near future.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    260
    96
    53
    22
See reviews for
357
530
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Really loved our stay in one of the lodges , very modern with everything you need. Lovely welcome when we entered the lodge to find the amazing fire in full blaze as it was such a wintery day outside.The castle really is a sight to behold and the walks around the island are beautiful , we had such a lovely day with our 2 kids splashing in the puddles in the rain, thankfully we came prepared for the bad weather. The only complaint we had was a group of teenagers were staying in a lodge across from ours and had a party all night with loud music and a taxi man who dropped more people off and decided to beep his car horn continuously outside at 3am however upon my wife raising this with the lovely lady on reception she dealt with our complaint and could not apologise enough to us and assured that this was not the norm .Waterford castle is a wonderful place and i look forward to returning later in the year.....G Kelly Kildare

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was most pleased to read of your experience at Waterford Castle and your findings with our lodge accommodation. I am sorry to hear that your stay was briefly marred by a group staying in another lodge but at the same time I am happy to hear that our reception dealt with the issue in question.
We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Blazing fires, winter's evening and a truly sumptious afternoon tea. Well done to the warm and friendly staff. Great sandwiches , pastries and lovely Bellini cocktails. Wanted to stay and never leave!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnMarieOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for such lovely feedback. I was delighted to read of your Afternoon Tea experience at Waterford Castle and your compliments are greatly appreciated. It will be my pleasure to share your review with my colleagues.
We hope that you will return in the very near future.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Really enjoyed this hotel. Although only 100 or so years old it truly captures the essence of a period castle. The grounds are beautiful, and having to get a ferry across adds a little to the experience. The lobby is truly magnificent, the fireplace is a great place to spend a couple of hours on a cold day!

We rented a suite. It was massive. It had antique furniture which is a nice touch. The rooms are not perfect but the imperfection adds to the experiance in my view. The bed was comdortable and clean. The bathroom and study were similar to the bedroom in condition/style etc.

We went for a package with meal and breakfrast The dinner was top class, my wife and I both enjoyed our meal. The suggested wines were also reasonable and also suited the food being served. The dining area is also beautiful! Service was prompt, freindly and efficient!

Breakfast menu was certainly more varied than most hotels, with Irish, continental and American menus.

All in all a great experience, castle, island, good food. If thats what you are looking for you wont be disapointed! Great for a quiet weekend!

Room Tip: Go the extra mile for a suite, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I was very pleased to read of your experience at Waterford Castle and it is most reassuring to hear the mention of a great experience.
We are very grateful for your complimentary remarks and appreciate your seal of approval.
We hope that you will avail of a quiet weekend sometime in the close future.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here with my Dad and Brother during December. There was a party organised by the Guinness Brewery, for their closing down party. My Dad, who worked there, invited me and my brother along. The hotel overall was amazing, the whole atmosphere was fantastic. From the special ferry you had to take to get across to the hotel on the Island, (yes it had its own Island in the middle of the river), to the architecture of the castle and its amazing fireplace at the reception it was beautiful. Myself, a student of history, acknowledged the history and architecture of the castle.

The dinner was once again beautiful, i had soup for starters, sirloin steak for mains and various desserts to finish. All the food was top class, and was relatively quick to say the were serving such a big group, over 200 of us. Not only that during the breaks between courses the hotel had entertainment in the form of Fawlty Towers actors, recreating famous scenes from the successful TV show. I went down a storm with the crowd.

Dinner finished, then came the open bar, and live music, which was fantastic. Finally when all was finished we stumbled back to our rooms, which were located in the castle lodges. A little walk from the main building itself, however great views and woodlands so we werent really bothered.

The lodges were lovely, well kept, modern, clean and sleek. The beds were comfortable and big, and the whole lodge was very good.

Breakfast was lovely with both cooked, and continental options possible. Overall the whole experience was perfect, i couldn't fault it. A great place for venues or receptions i would strongly recommend everyone to visit Waterford Castle.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your comments were a delight to read and your compliments are much appreciated. It was our pleasure to have you and indeed the Guinness Brewery Party stay with us.
I look forward to sharing your comments with my colleagues and we are sincerely grateful for your strong recommendation.
We hope to see you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raynham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed at the Waterford Castle as part of a family vacation on a trip around Ireland. This was the most memorable place we stayed. Beautiful castle on a picturesque island. The rooms, the stall the food and the scenery were excellent. I highly recommend Waterford Castle and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YNCS_Ret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for posting an excellent review. Your words were a delight to read and to be mentioned as the most memorable place you stayed is something for us to cherish.
Thank you for choosing to stay at Waterford Castle and we are most appreciative of your recommendation.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed for a family wedding at the end of december... What a treat. We stayed in the lodges the night before the wedding and they are fantastic. When we arrived the fire was on as was the heating,the place was very cosy. The lodges are very modern and beautifully decorated. They are
really comfortable and just a 5-10 min walk to the castle. The castle itself is spectacular. Walking into the reception area is just gorgeous. We stayed in the rose suite with its four poster bed, huge bedroom and large separate sitting room. The wedding was magical. The food was delicious both the wedding meal and breakfast. The staff were very friendly. The ferry ride across adds to the magical feeling of this place. I cant wait to return.

Room Tip: The presidential suite is amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsar0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay with us. When I read that you experienced both the lodges and the castle during your stay and that both were highly complimented is indeed most rewarding for all of us. I am delighted to learn of delicious food coupled with friendly staff and it will be my pleasure to share these views with my colleagues.
We are sincerely grateful for your kind remarks and to hear that you can't wait to return is most inspiring.
Kind Regards
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing