We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On an Island!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“On an Island!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Booked hotel on my iPhone in 2 seconds. Couldn't believe it was on an island. Yes it is. The staff were great, from the gentleman who bought our bags up for us, to the bar, the waitresses and staff in the kitchen, everyone was great. They even turned down the bed for us when we were at supper. Beautiful property. And, I could not believe how quiet the room was. I could have stayed a week. Very restful! Love the claw foot bath, at 6 ft tall, I even fit in it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We are very fortunate to have a very unique property on an Island and are delighted that you enjoyed a relaxing if brief stay with us.
I will share your comments with the team here who take great pride in their place of work.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Waterford Castle in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    265
    99
    53
    22
See reviews for
365
539
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel is on a 300-acre private island in Waterford Harbour, and is serviced by a ferry which takes 5 minutes and runs 24/7. We stayed in one of the "lodges" - modern 3-bedroom townhouses discreetly out of sight of the castle itself. The lodges are very comfortable, and equipped with full kitchens, washers, dryers and all that you need for self-catering, except for a very limited supply of cooking pots. As a result, you need to be a bit creative about what you cook. Note to management: buy a few more pots - they are cheap and would make it a lot easier for your guests to cook. There is a good grocery store about 20 mintues away by ferry and car. The food in the castle dining room is excellent. There is an 18-hole golf course attached to the hotel, which is very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandVisitor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read that you had a very comfortable stay in one of our Lodges. The lack of cooking pots you encountered is now top of our Housekeepers agenda and apologies for that.
We take great pride in our restaurant which has been awarded Two AA Rosettes. I am delighted you found it excellent and I will convey this to the team.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will make a return journey to Waterford Castle in the not to distant future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were so excited to be staying in a castle during our recent trip to Ireland and this hotel experience was the best of all our accommodations. The castle is well maintained and had everything we expected. We had a suite and it was lovely. The staff were fantastic and the meals were excellent. We utilized the walking trails and saw lots of wildlife .For an additional fee we also played golf. Although staying in a castle is a bit pricey, it was worth it as it is so unique.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post such wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us.
We have a very unique property on its own Island with an abundance of wildlife to meet as you stroll the resort trails.
It will give me great pleasure to share your comments with the team here, who are very proud of their work place.

We look forward to seeing on your next trip in the not too distant future when it would be a privilege to have you as our guest again.


Kind regards

Helen Courtney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We enjoyed a relaxing break at Waterford Castle. The ferry ride to the island adds to the appeal of a castle stay. Our room (the Presidential Suite) was very spacious and the bed large and comfortable, the staff were friendly and courteous s all round a good experience. The breakfast was a little disappointing as we've had brilliant 'Irish' breakfasts which were much better, but didn't stop us eating!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bintravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed a relaxing break here at Waterford Castle and have taken the time to share such positive comments regarding your stay.
I am sorry to hear that you were a little disappointed with Breakfast. We are very proud of our culinary reputation and I will certainly share your comments with our Head Chef.
We hope to see you again on your next trip

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Taking a ferry to an island hotel was a new experience for us but it left us completely relaxed. The food at the hotel was quite good so it was easy to go sightseeing during the day and return for a lovely dinner right there. Our room was lovely, looking out over the water. The walk around the island only takes about 40 minutes and lets you see a lot of beautiful flowers, views, and takes you past the golf course that is also on the island.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-Pittsburgh-native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and give us such wonderful feedback.
We are very fortunate to have such a unique property on its own Island where you can immediately switch off and relax.
We pride ourselves on our culinary reputation and I look forward to sharing your comments with the entire team.
We hope to see you here at Waterford Castle in the not too distant future

Kindest regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our large group of eight families booked 4 of the lodges for a three night weekend stay. This was the first time any of us had been to waterford castle and we were all absolutely thrilled with our stay. We had 20 young children as part of our group and they all really enjoyed the castle and the grounds - the staff could not have been more friendly and obliging which really added to everyone's enjoyment - we have found in the past that not everywhere is as child friendly as they make out in their brochures! The playground albeit small was a great amenity. The woodland trail is just magical and we even spotted some deer! We all really enjoyed the proximity to the castle and were made to feel so welcome when we popped in for refreshments after our walk. The ferry which goes every 15 minutes, night or day, was a particular thrill to the children - it is a short ride but just lovely and really adds to the sense of adventure. Of note also is the proximity to dun more east - which is possibly the nicest small beach town in Ireland - it has a beautiful cove and the pub food beside the beach is astoundingly good (particularly recommend the real chips and the chowder). Again the people we met in dun more east were so warm and welcoming. We will 100% be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We were delighted to read that you all had such a wonderful adventure here on the resort. . A visit to Waterford would not be complete without a visit to one of the many beaches. We are fortunately to be so close to Dunmore East a beautiful seaside village where you had a fantastic time.
We all appreciate your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you to Waterford Castle in the future.

Kindest Regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgirl32
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Wonderful stay in an old castle, if ultra modern is your style then this is not for you, if however you like romantic old world get always this is the place! Fab location great service, love it!!!!! We will be back...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelgirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a heart felt review.
It was our pleasure to have you here and we very much look forward to welcoming you to Waterford Castle in the not to distant future.

Kindest Regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,275 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,154 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,105 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing