We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The location is amazing, although you do need to leave time for ferry service back and forth if you are going into town. Beautiful grounds and common areas. Took a great walk through the property down to the river and it was peaceful and pretty. Staff was helpful and attentive. Our suite was worn and could have used some upkeep. Peeling paint on the ceiling and on some of the furniture. Sofa in the sitting room had no support left at all. The food was very good - we had dinner and breakfast and they both got high marks. Claw foot tub was a nice touch, but taking a shower was not very functional. Our suite was very good sized and fit 2 adults and 1 child comfortably. Had hoped for a bit more of a "wow" factor, but an overall good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Go_Utes_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am please to read that you had an overall good experience here at Waterford Castle.
In particular the beautiful grounds and walks along with the attentive and helpful staff you encountered during your visit with us.

I am sorry that you found your Suite in need of some upkeep and apologise for this.
All our Castle Rooms and Suites are unique and different, and from time to time they require special attention. A plan for this work is being drafted at the moment.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you to Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

It seems to me that the Castle and its separate Lodge accommodation should get separate reviews. We couldn't fault the Castle in terms of charm and decor, but the Lodge accommodation was disappointing. They are modern ski-type lodge buildings in need of some serious TLC. Tired, stale, jaded, needing decoration and upgrading. There is a pleasant walk to and from the Castle, through woodland, past the golf course (where we had a pleasing dinner one evening, James an excellent host). The ferry to and from the mainland was quirky and fun. The breakfast at the Castle was wonderful from beginning to end, including lovely serving staff. So, a very mixed bag.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SomaticCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

I was pleased to read the very many very positive elements to your stay with us. The castle itself and breakfast, The Club House where you had dinner and of course the island itself . I am glad to read you were able to take the opportunity to explore the walks.

I am sorry to learn that the lodges did not meet the standards of the Island in general. I apologise for this. We have a dedicated Maintenance team who look after the Lodges on a daily basis. I have noted your comments for immediate attention and we will put an action plan in place with the housekeeping team to ensure the Lodges are well maintained.

Again thank you for taking the time to write your review , and we hope to see you at Waterford Castle sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Wonderful setting, lovely room, great food (and wine) and friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you.They told us where to park in Waterford and pointed out things that were a "must " to see and do. It was our 31st wedding anniversary and the staff were wonderful. We even got a complimentary glass of champagne after our meal. How thoughtful. Great experience and one which my wife and I will definitely repeat.

Room Tip: Tell the staff it is a special occasion. They were very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your views. We sincerely appreciate your very kind comments.

I look forward to sharing your comments with the team here.

We are delighted you chose Waterford Castle to celebrate your 31st wedding anniversary.
Congratulations to you both and we look forward to welcoming you back to Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed for one night on a beautiful June day in this unique location. The castle is amazing and walks and grounds first class, the staff were attentive and friendly, could not fault the room nor the food drink and service. Have no doubt this is an amazing castle and hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayfocus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of Waterford Castle.
We are very fortunate to have such a unique property in its own Island
I am delighted you were able to enjoy your brief stay with us including taking the time to discover the walks on the Island.

I will share your comments with the team here who are very proud of their place of work and looking after our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the castle hotel for one night. The grounds are gorgeous! The staff was extremely helpful, making us dinner reservations in their restaurant that evening. The food was very good. There was even a pianist playing! The only negative I can think of pertains to my room. The decor could use a bit of updating/freshening up. Room size, however, was grest! It was quite large for Europe. Nice stay overall!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hpadidas82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed a short break with us here at Waterford Castle. I am looking forward to sharing your comments with my colleagues.

I am sorry to read that you found your room in need of updating, rest assured anything we can improve on immediately will be addressed by myself and the Housekeeping team.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit some time in the future

Kind Regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

You don't stay in the small castle. It doesn't feel like you stay anywhere near it. We stayed in a 3 bedroom 4 bath lodge. It was nice. The wash machine and dryer did not work. No phone for assistance. Nothing to do on what they are calling an island. The staff were really unfriendly and we couldn't get any info on the clay shooting or games. A huge disappointment and waste of money. I don't know who other than a golfer this would be good for. Bowen we entered our room their was a pool of water from housekeeping. All around I wouldn't recommend to anyone ever. Food from a 7 eleven store might be better. If you go make dinner and tea reservations immediately or go without.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lwr1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us and am sorry that we did not have the opportunity to address these issues while you were with us.
I have now made note of your comments and will address them immediately with the team here.

Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations and do not hesitate to contact me here if you would like to discuss your recent stay further.

I hope that you might consider returning to Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind regards.

Helen Courtney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Rudy greeted us and showed us inside to the desk in the Great Hall of the Castle. Shown to the Rose suite my bride of 30 years and I enjoyed a large suite with Four post King bed and antique setee and comfortable chairs. The Bathroom is a scene from a period movie with Bear claw tub, pull chain toilet with the bowl AND tank painted with lovely flowers making the BEST out of a ***** situation.
Dinner in the oak paneled dining room was as enjoyable as the meal and dessert, our claret was a fine accompaniment.
Drinks in the bar were comfortably served at a luxurious couch armchair area.

The grounds were beautiful and odiferous from the many bloomers in Early June.

It's not Ashford or Dromoland but for Waterford and the area, it is a must if you want to stay in a castle without paying a kings ransom!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your views with us. We sincerely appreciate your kind comments.
Rudy will be delighted to be mentioned in your review.
We pride ourselves on our culinary reputation and an glad to read you enjoyed Dinner in the Oak Room.
I look forward to sharing your comments with the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Waterford Castle in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,207 reviews
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,365 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,187 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,203 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £111 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing