We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

OK, so you want to stay in a castle. You want to stay in one that is located on a private island where you have to ferry across to get to it. This is the place. A most beautiful piece of history that has been perfectly renovated for the pleasure of the travelers staying there.

And when we were assigned our room, little did we know that we were getting a 3 room suite with a very large sitting room, an even larger bedroom and a large bathroom.

You play golf? They have a fantastic course right outside the front door.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and the service even better.

Treat yourself to a great Irish locale.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your review.

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments. We are very fortunate to have a very unique property situated on its own Island and are delighted that you were able to experience all we have to offer.

I look forward to sharing your comments with the team here, who take great pride in their jobs and place of work.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Waterford Castle in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    265
    99
    53
    22
See reviews for
365
539
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summit, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The castle outside is beautiful, we stayed in the castle, not the lodges, the room needed things replaced, lamps did not work, mattress was very very old and had a huge dip on one side, carpet was bad. However, The staff was friendly and the food at breakfast and dinner was excellent and beautifully done. This is a better experience than a standard hotel but don't expect it to be updated completely.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
It is always great to get positive feedback from our guests, I am delighted to read you found our staff friendly and Restaurant Service excellent.
We pride ourselves on our Restaurant having being awarded Two AA rosettes again for 2014.

I am sorry to read of the shortcoming in your room, these issues I have noted and I will address with both the Housekeeping and Maintenance teams here.

Again thank you for your review and we hope you make a return journey to Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed fo a long weekend in a lodge . We have been there a few times and it's always good. The lodges are comfortable. Unlike some of the previous reviews it was clean and everything worked. We self catered, the only criticism about this is that there could be a few more cooking pots of various sizes. It''s odd that the TV in an Irish location cannot receive an Irish transmitter. We also had some difficulty reducing the level of the central heating. Minor problems so we'll probably be back. As an afterthought, on a previous visit, our 5 year old granddaughter was fascinated to see a deer opposite our front window!
PS The staff are always very attentive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmw215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your views. I am delighted that you found the Lodges clean and comfortable. I have noted the minor issues you encountered and I will address them with the Housekeeper.

We are always delighted to welcome return visitors and look forward to seeing you here at Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is only based on a lunch stop and we were staying somewhere else.
The location is wonderful, set on an island and needing a short ferry ride to get to the hotel. The exterior of the house is beautiful, as are the grounds. After that we were rather disappointed.
The main entrance is bare, drab, cold, rather depressing and totally lacking in the atmosphere one would expect from the exterior. It needed somebody to take a little time to make it more welcoming - even a couple of flower displays would have helped. We also took the opportunity to have a look around and this confirmed the view that the hotel is tired, with shabby decor, and that it definitely needs (and deserves) some TLC.
But the staff were very helpful, friendly and attentive - especially our Italian waiter.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your recent visit to Waterford Castle.
I am delighted to read you found our staff especially Antonio to be helpful, friendly and attentive. We take great pride in our restaurant, having being awarded two AA Rosettes again for 2014.

I am disappointed to read that the interior of the Castle did not meet your expectations.
We appreciate our customers'' opinions and observations. They are valuable and conveyed to all departments weekly, also when decisions are being made at board level for any future projects.

Again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you to Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Castle proper had no room available, so we booked one of the "Lodges" located on the property. The lodge was ultra modern and utterly without charm. It was also very tired and worn--very rough around the edges. The worst part was that the bedrooms were not particularly clean. There were yellow stains on our duvet and we had to take bedding from another room for our bed. The bathrooms looked as if they could use a good scrubbing. Clearly, these buildings host many golf parties who might not mind scuffed paint and marginally clean beds and baths. We tend to be particular about these details, so have to give the experience low marks.

That said, the breakfast at the Castle was wonderful, with everything impeccably clean. The table linens were pure Irish linen, beautifully pressed and the table settings were positively elegant. The food was lovely and plentiful, with lots of choices and the staff could not have been more attentive.
Unfortunately, that didn't make up for a marginal room accommodation, especially given the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

The issues you encountered in your bedroom, I have noted and I will address with both Housekeeping and Maintenance departments immediately.

Our restaurant was awarded Two AA Rosettes again for 2014, which we are very proud of.
It is disappointing to read you did not enjoy the experience and I apologise for this.

Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations, I hope you might consider returning to Waterford Castle in the future.


Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantsville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This "castle" looked beautiful from the outside and the grounds were nice but the rooms were run down. Paint was peeling off the walls and the bottom of the bathtub. The shower curtain clings to you like saran wrap during the shower making it virtually impossible to bath. Food in the main restaurant was just OK. Would not recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, and especially sorry to read that you would not recommend Waterford Castle as a place to stay.
I have noted the issues outlined in relation to your room and I will address them immediately with both our Housekeeping and Maintenance teams on site.

I was disappointed to see that you did not enjoy the restaurant. We were recently awarded Two AA rosettes again for 2014 . The Restaurant team take great pride in the culinary offering here at the Castle and want all our customers to enjoy the experience.

Please accept my sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations on this occasions.
I do hope that you will consider a return visit to Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from a two night stay in the lodges at Waterford castle.it was great as always but noticed the lodges have become a little run down and in need of some TLC,but the staff in the castle as fantastic as ever always cheerful friendly and most helpful. ,we had a problem on the first night with an alarm going off intermittently. They did all they could to solve the problem and invited us to the castle for breakfast and also gave us some glasses of wine the evening before. ,I would like to point out that they need to sort out the bar at the castle ,its so hard to
find someone to get you a drink, to order a further drink ,and then to actually pay for the drink.i saw a lot of people walking out as no one around but otherwise no complaints,watch out for special offers

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I am delighted to read that your stay in the Lodges was for the most part great. The Lodges are very popular and from time to time some need additional care and attention. Along with Housekeeping and the Maintenance team we are addressing this.
I would like to apologise for any distress caused by the intermittent alarm at your lodge when you arrived, I am heartened to see the staff on duty looked after you.

The issues raised with service in the Bar I will address immediately with my Beverage Manager.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you at Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,275 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,154 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,105 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing