We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Nearby Hotels
Waterford Marina Hotel(Waterford)(Great Value!)
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzwilton Hotel(Waterford)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dooley's Hotel Waterford(Waterford)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granville Hotel(Waterford)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhu Glenn Hotel(Slieverue)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portree House(Waterford)(Great Value!)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,365)
Filter reviews
1,365 results
Traveller rating
889
290
106
54
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
889
290
106
54
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmunster roompresidential suiteprivate islandcar ferrygolf clubdriving rangeself catering lodgesclaw foot tubfairy taleround of golfsitting roomfamily weddingold worldfrom start to finishsconesfollowing morningtop class
Filter
Updating list...
648 - 653 of 1,365 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Staff was very accommodating with excellent guest service. Dinner in the main dinning room was a wonderful experience. Very good food. The rooms are in much need of a face lift; carpets had many stains and dated furnishings took away from the charm of the room. Bathrooms are large and spacious but the shower curtain is an issue. Clings to you while showering... Grounds on back side of Castle were unkept with cigarette butts and trash everywhere. Which took away from the ambience of the Castle.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 1002Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at Waterford Castle.
I am delighted to read that you had so many positive things to say about your stay particularly in relation to the staff you encountered and the wonderful dinner you enjoyed in The Munster room.
We pride ourselves on our culinary reputation and I look forward to sharing your review with the team here.

I was sorry to read that there were some issues that impacted on your overall impression of Waterford Castle and I would like to apologise for that.
All your comments have been noted for attention. Some of the issues you highlighted have already been addressed.

Again I am sorry you were disappointed but I do hope that we may be able to welcome you back
sometime in the future to Waterford Castle.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Planned our wedding from The States and could not have asked for a better experience. Mirka did an excellent job of staying in touch with us through our many questions. The staff was very nice to our guests and a wine glass was never empty. They truley went above and beyond to make our wedding a memorable weekend! Brides, this place is great value for the money!!!! AND you have an entire island to yourself and your guests for your big day! :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Wedding Day Experience here at Waterford Castle. We hope you are settling into married life.
Mirka will be delighted you have mentioned her, she takes great care of her Brides to ensure the day is perfect and stress free for the bridal party.

I look forward to sharing your comments with the entire team, who take great pride in their positions and place of work.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Waterford Castle, on your Anniversary perhaps.
Again congratulations to you both.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

OK, so you want to stay in a castle. You want to stay in one that is located on a private island where you have to ferry across to get to it. This is the place. A most beautiful piece of history that has been perfectly renovated for the pleasure of the travelers staying there.

And when we were assigned our room, little did we know that we were getting a 3 room suite with a very large sitting room, an even larger bedroom and a large bathroom.

You play golf? They have a fantastic course right outside the front door.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and the service even better.

Treat yourself to a great Irish locale.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 929BillB929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your review.

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments. We are very fortunate to have a very unique property situated on its own Island and are delighted that you were able to experience all we have to offer.

I look forward to sharing your comments with the team here, who take great pride in their jobs and place of work.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Waterford Castle in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The castle outside is beautiful, we stayed in the castle, not the lodges, the room needed things replaced, lamps did not work, mattress was very very old and had a huge dip on one side, carpet was bad. However, The staff was friendly and the food at breakfast and dinner was excellent and beautifully done. This is a better experience than a standard hotel but don't expect it to be updated completely.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
It is always great to get positive feedback from our guests, I am delighted to read you found our staff friendly and Restaurant Service excellent.
We pride ourselves on our Restaurant having being awarded Two AA rosettes again for 2014.

I am sorry to read of the shortcoming in your room, these issues I have noted and I will address with both the Housekeeping and Maintenance teams here.

Again thank you for your review and we hope you make a return journey to Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed fo a long weekend in a lodge . We have been there a few times and it's always good. The lodges are comfortable. Unlike some of the previous reviews it was clean and everything worked. We self catered, the only criticism about this is that there could be a few more cooking pots of various sizes. It''s odd that the TV in an Irish location cannot receive an Irish transmitter. We also had some difficulty reducing the level of the central heating. Minor problems so we'll probably be back. As an afterthought, on a previous visit, our 5 year old granddaughter was fascinated to see a deer opposite our front window!
PS The staff are always very attentive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bmw215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your views. I am delighted that you found the Lodges clean and comfortable. I have noted the minor issues you encountered and I will address them with the Housekeeper.

We are always delighted to welcome return visitors and look forward to seeing you here at Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews