We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed in the self catering cottages” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stayed in the self catering cottages”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

After a long day getting to waterford castle hotel. The reception we received by all staff was excellent, the quality of the self catering cottages ? a) very clean inside b) well equipped c) needing a lot of TLC around the the outside e) maintenance needed inside.
The ferry over to the island runs every 15 mins. I would not stay in cottages again but would stop in hotel, love to of played golf their.

Room Tip: Ideal for golfers, club house very friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Waterford Castle Resort.
I was happy to read that you encountered excellent staff and your lodge was well presented.
The internal and external ground maintenance issues you note are receiving our immediate attention.

I am encouraged to read that you would return to Waterford Castle and take the opportunity to play a round of golf. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    253
    96
    51
    22
See reviews for
347
513
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our family stayed at Waterford Castle Lodges for 5 nights in June/July of this year. We found an excellent deal through Grab One for a 4 night stay and were able to extend for a further night at a very reasonable €75. The kids loved the ferry ride onto the island and the castle and grounds were very grand. Check in was very straightforward and we found our lodge quickly. The accommodation was excellent -big open plan living area downstairs with 3 good sized double bedrooms upstairs (2 with en suite bathrooms). It was very clean and well equipped with plenty of utensils, dishes, glasses and cups. I would agree with another reviewer that there could be more pots and pans, but we asked one of the cleaning staff for an extra pan and they brought it straight away. It is starting to show a bit of wear and tear and could use a lick of paint, but so could our house! The wifi is a big plus and there were plenty of kids channels on the tv (a necessity with early rising under 7s). There is a small children’s park close by with football nets, swings, slides, etc. It could be developed a bit more, but overall it was entertaining enough for the children. We really lucked out with the weather- having 5 full days of sunshine. We took walks on around the island, played in the common areas and visited the beach in Tramore and the very picturesque town of Dunmore East. I fear if the weather hadn’t been as nice we would have struggled to keep the children entertained on the island, but there are plenty of activities in Waterford City and other nearby towns. We ate in the golf club on one evening- there’s not much atmosphere there, but the food was good (excellent thin crust pizza) and the service was good. If I could make one suggestion, it would be to create a kids activity trail/treasure hunt to take advantage of the island trails... something like being on a hunt for a Gruffalo where they have little tasks to find a specific tree, deer, mice, a sign along the trail, etc. Then they could bring it to the club house or hotel and get a badge or sticker saying they’re a junior castle explorer. Young kids love that kind of stuff and it would work in any type of weather. Overall our stay was well above expectations and I’ve already recommended the lodges to friends and family. We made a lot of memories during this trip and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpio1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I am really happy to read that you and your family has such a great stay at our Lodges .
We are very fortunate to have such a unique property on its own island and we want all family members especially children to enjoy the entire experience from the trips on the ferry to spotting wildlife on the island trails.
We are always looking at ways to enhance the experience of our your visitors and will take your suggestions on board.

I look forward to sharing your review with the team here, and we hope to see you here at Waterford Castle Resort some time in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in one of your lodges. On driving up to them we could see they were in dire need of repair on the outside. They all needed painting and most were black and mouldy including ours. They were fairly modern inside and we were happy but throughout the weekend we noticed alot of things wrong. Two of balconies wouldn't open and the rooms were fairy stuffy as the windows would only open so far. There were lamps missing from the bedrooms and a broken light over our bed. Our duvet cover was ripped on both sides and also the one in one of the spare bedrooms. There were 3 shelves missing in the fridge and no dust pan and brush. Outside on our patio there were cigarette butts everywhere and we have 2 small children. I would advise anyone going to stay here during the summer to bring some sheets or a light duvet as the duvet were heavy winter duvets and way too warm and no sheets available. Also very limited wi if unless you're hanging out of the window. There was also a constant motor noise going through the house all night, a constant buzzing and when I spoke to other people they heard the same noise all night, it was like a washing machine. So bring some ear plugs. Also be aware that this castle and lodges are in receivership hence the hesitation to do some repairs and it wasn't just our lodge that had the faults.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I was very sorry to read of your disappointment in relation to aspects of Maintenance and Housekeeping in the Lodges and I would like to apologise for any distress caused.

I will be sharing your comments with the Lodge team and we will address the shortcomings you experienced. We would have welcomed the opportunity to address some of the issues outlined during your stay and would encourage Lodge residents to contact the Castle if they are experiencing any problems.

Again please accept my sincere apologies for any distress caused and I hope you will consider a return visit to Waterford Castle Resort in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Staff was very accommodating with excellent guest service. Dinner in the main dinning room was a wonderful experience. Very good food. The rooms are in much need of a face lift; carpets had many stains and dated furnishings took away from the charm of the room. Bathrooms are large and spacious but the shower curtain is an issue. Clings to you while showering... Grounds on back side of Castle were unkept with cigarette butts and trash everywhere. Which took away from the ambience of the Castle.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1002Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at Waterford Castle.
I am delighted to read that you had so many positive things to say about your stay particularly in relation to the staff you encountered and the wonderful dinner you enjoyed in The Munster room.
We pride ourselves on our culinary reputation and I look forward to sharing your review with the team here.

I was sorry to read that there were some issues that impacted on your overall impression of Waterford Castle and I would like to apologise for that.
All your comments have been noted for attention. Some of the issues you highlighted have already been addressed.

Again I am sorry you were disappointed but I do hope that we may be able to welcome you back
sometime in the future to Waterford Castle.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Planned our wedding from The States and could not have asked for a better experience. Mirka did an excellent job of staying in touch with us through our many questions. The staff was very nice to our guests and a wine glass was never empty. They truley went above and beyond to make our wedding a memorable weekend! Brides, this place is great value for the money!!!! AND you have an entire island to yourself and your guests for your big day! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Wedding Day Experience here at Waterford Castle. We hope you are settling into married life.
Mirka will be delighted you have mentioned her, she takes great care of her Brides to ensure the day is perfect and stress free for the bridal party.

I look forward to sharing your comments with the entire team, who take great pride in their positions and place of work.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Waterford Castle, on your Anniversary perhaps.
Again congratulations to you both.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

OK, so you want to stay in a castle. You want to stay in one that is located on a private island where you have to ferry across to get to it. This is the place. A most beautiful piece of history that has been perfectly renovated for the pleasure of the travelers staying there.

And when we were assigned our room, little did we know that we were getting a 3 room suite with a very large sitting room, an even larger bedroom and a large bathroom.

You play golf? They have a fantastic course right outside the front door.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and the service even better.

Treat yourself to a great Irish locale.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your review.

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments. We are very fortunate to have a very unique property situated on its own Island and are delighted that you were able to experience all we have to offer.

I look forward to sharing your comments with the team here, who take great pride in their jobs and place of work.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Waterford Castle in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The castle outside is beautiful, we stayed in the castle, not the lodges, the room needed things replaced, lamps did not work, mattress was very very old and had a huge dip on one side, carpet was bad. However, The staff was friendly and the food at breakfast and dinner was excellent and beautifully done. This is a better experience than a standard hotel but don't expect it to be updated completely.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
It is always great to get positive feedback from our guests, I am delighted to read you found our staff friendly and Restaurant Service excellent.
We pride ourselves on our Restaurant having being awarded Two AA rosettes again for 2014.

I am sorry to read of the shortcoming in your room, these issues I have noted and I will address with both the Housekeeping and Maintenance teams here.

Again thank you for your review and we hope you make a return journey to Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing