We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bookers beware if booking castle lodges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bookers beware if booking castle lodges”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I arrived here on a one nights stay with two kids to be advised that private function was on and the castle and golf club house was closed for us to use any of its amenities. So no food for kids. General manger very unhelpful and did not care. They advised me that they rang to leave me know that the castle had private function but as I told them and showed my phone records no such call had been made.... Make sure you double check. The whole experience was an absolute disgrace and is NOT 4 star treatment

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Caitrionaok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your recent review.

Firstly I would like to apologise for the distress caused to you. We regret that on the evening of your intended stay we were hosting two private events at the resort. This in itself is unusual and not the norm. As policy we notify all arrivals to our Self Catering Lodges prior to their arrival date of any restrictions to the services we provide at the resort. It is regrettable that we were unable to make contact with you when you made your booking and the procedures we have in place for this will need to be reviewed.
On your arrival on learning of the restrictions on the resort for the remainder of the evening you were understandably upset. The booking agent you booked your Lodge through kindly and immediately agreed to refund you for your intended stay.

Again I would like to apologise for the distress caused. It is regrettable that we had two functions on, on the evening of your intended stay. We hope you might consider visiting Waterford Castle at some future date.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    256
    96
    52
    22
See reviews for
354
520
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armidale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Waterford castle is in desperate need of an overhaul. Stained carpets and a dreadful smell all through the inside of the castle. This is definately a place for golfers to stay, it offered very little else for anyone who doesn't play golf. The bed was lovely as was the breakfast, but other than that we were overall disappointed. Some serious money needs to be poured into this place.

Room Tip: Ask for one which has windows which actually open and aren't seized up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanineR291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.
I was disappointed to read that we did not deliver on your expectations in some areas. There is no denying the Castle is a very old building and quite unique. We carry out repair and maintenance projects on an on going basis, always sensitive to modern day expectations and old world charm.
We welcome all feedback and I will make note of your concerns for attention.
On a positive note I am happy to see that you found Bed and breakfast to your liking.

I apologise for the disappointment you felt and hope you were able to take some happy memories from Waterford Castle.
I hope you might consider returning to Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place to visit and ideal for couples and a great venue for a wedding.
Food is good and staff very friendly . Great rooms and breakfast is also great. Had a fabulous time. While the ferry crossing is a novelty it can be a bit of a chore when you miss it and as it only runs on the 1/4 hour and you could be held up for 30 mins or so.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Conor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We have a wonderful property ideally suited to weddings. We take great delight when we hear our guests have a fabulous time.
The ferry journey adds to the uniqueness of the place but it can add to your expected journey time.

We really appreciate your compliments and look forward to welcoming you back to Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Spent one night here very recently and the experience was a profound disappointment.

The entire hotel is in need of a thorough cleaning and updating. Almost every carpet or piece of furniture is stained, worn and threadbare. It looks like at least ten years since anything was painted, the bathroom was old and very well worn and the the wall paper is stained and falling off the wall in many places.

Our suite overlooked the trash bins on one side and the staff smoking break area on the other and the mattress should have been replaces many years ago. The only sound we could hear after 6 am was the relentless hum of the kitchen ventilation system.

It looks like even the most routine forms of maintenance have been deferred for many years and the grounds are unkempt at best.

I'd recommend looking elsewhere for accommodations. The hotel has all of the disadvantages of being old with none of the charm.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your views with us. I was very sorry to read of your profound disappointment with Waterford Castle and please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations.

We welcome all feedback from our guests as it enables us to improve and evolve. I have noted your comments and I will share them with the team.
It is regrettable that you Ieft Waterford Castle with such a negative view, this is not the norm.

Again please accept my sincere apologies for any distress caused.
Do not hesitate to contact me here at Waterford castle should you like to discuss your experience further.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is my third time to stay. In May of 2013 I got married in Waterford Castle. It was such a wonderful time with some great memories. This time was our anniversary stay, although a little belated. Again it was luxury from the moment we arrived. We were greeted by staff that remembered us and reminisced with us about our wedding day which was really nice. We were given the presidential suite again which was unexpected but much loved by us. The room had a warm feel to and its grandeur was still breath taking. That evening a tray of savory and sweet snacks with a bottle of Prosecco, was brought up to our room congratulating us on one year of marriage. We ate in the restaurant that night. The food was great, as great as we had remembered it. Walking the grounds of the castle was relaxing and cathartic.

The staff of Waterford Castle set this place apart from its competition. Everyone you meet is friendly and welcoming. We will certainly be back when we are in Ireland again. I would recommend Waterford Castle for any occasion or simply a night or two away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daviddelaney70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and give us such wonderful feedback.
I was delighted to read that the experiences you remember from your Wedding Day were replicated on this your trip to celebrate your anniversary.

I look forward to sharing your comments with the team here at Waterford Castle. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Waterford Castle in the not too distant future.

Happy Anniversary to you both from all the team at Waterford Castle

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just had an excellent early dinner in the Fitzgerald room. My starter was Duncannon smoked salmon with all the accompaniments and it was spectacular. This was followed by a wonderful main course of sole fillets, with broccoli, white beans, samphire and a creamy mash. There were also spots of two sauces which were delicious indeed. Finally I had white chocolate profiteroles, with ice cream and it was extremely moreish. All in all a great meal!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d20Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to read that you had an excellent early dinner here in The Fitzgerald Room at Waterford Castle.

We pride ourselves on our culinary reputation and our Kitchen team will be delighted with your comments which I will share with them later today.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Waterford Castle in the near future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our group of six stayed here overnight while on a tour of Ireland. The castle is very old so electric adapters are a must and things like hair dryers are a challenge. If you can get over things like that and enjoy a castle that is hundreds of years old, you will have a great experience here. There is a dining room and restaurant that serves gourmet type meals. Imagine eating in a large room with 30 ft ceilings. Service is great and the employees here go above and beyond to make your stay a truly memorable experience. I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbearcatfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I was delighted to read that you had a great experience here.
The Castle is a very unique property with a History spanning many centuries.

We pride ourselves on our food, The Munster Room where you enjoyed dinner received 2 AA Rosettes again for 2014. Dining there is an experience not to be missed if the opportunity arises or when staying at Waterford Castle.

I look forward to sharing your comments with all the team here and we hope to see you again at Waterford Castle sometime in the not to distant future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing