We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The lodges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The lodges”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in the lodges for 2 nights and found the whole experience a disappointment. This is our 3rd stay in the past year and the lodges are rapidly deteriorating. The lodge we stayed in could have been cleaner. The walls could do with a paint and everything seems to be falling apart. TV is hit and miss as signal goes in and out. Lights kept flicking on and off. Toaster plug was broken and lethal.
When we checked in the girl told me that there had been improvements and now you could get takeaway food in the golf club and breakfast. I went to get a takeaway and was told it was not possible due to a private function. This resulted in us having no dinner.
Another thing I will say is we travelled with a 4 month old and a 3 year old. I rang the hotel in advance and asked was there anyway for an early check in and was told no. I asked could I feed the baby in the castle and was told no as there was a private function. I was told check in is at four and that's it. The receptionist was very rude.
On checkout I was not asked did we have a nice stay and I mentioned the food situation.
All in all I could not recommend it to anyone and we won't be going back. There are plenty of other hotels with self catering where they don't make you feel in welcome.
I forgot to mention the really loud music on both nights. Not great with a baby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your views with us. I was very sorry to read you found the whole experience a disappointment and please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations.
We would have welcomed the opportunity to address the shortcomings in the Lodges during your visit as the housekeeping and maintenance teams are on site daily to address any issues that arise.
We do try to facilitate early check-in for guests where possible. We are in the height of the summer season, occupancy levels are high, and facilitating early check- in requests is a challenge. Check out time is 11am, cleaning of the Lodges which are effectively three bedroom, four bathroom townhouses takes time to prepare for new arrivals.

I am particularly disappointed with the receptionist you met and the information you received prior to arrival. We notify all arrivals to the lodges prior to arrival when we have private functions. On this occasion we were hosting a Wedding at the Castle and Captains Dinner in the Golf Club. Any guests we fail to contact by phone or email we follow up with our newsletter to all Lodge residents to make them aware of any restrictions to service on the resort.

In relation to the noise on the two nights I believe it was coming from the Spraoi Festival which was taking place in Waterford City, it could be heard all over the Island and unfortunately we had no control over this.

Again I would like to apologise for the distress caused. It is regrettable that we had two functions on during your stay. We hope you might reconsider returning at some future date.

Please do not hesitate to contact me here at Waterford castle should you like to discuss your experience further.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    260
    96
    53
    22
See reviews for
357
530
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just returned from weekend break. Had visited lodges few years ago when newly built. Love seclusion of Waterford Castle but sadly lodge (48) is beginning to show its age.Layout lovely, and rooms clean and tidy but lots of little faults let it down. All need a good painting both inside and out. Grass cut but gardens unloved. Going upstairs , bannister sticky and tacky. Had to take cloth and wipe down - hadn't been wiped for months if dirt gathered anything to go by.Same with hob - never wiped from last use.Stainless steel sink was grey - unpolished.Upstairs, balcony window would not close as no locks top or bottom(had to use chain). Be aware that tv channels limited - no Rte so missed sports coverage. Ate at golf club which was just ok. Pricey for very average fare. Tables could do with varnishing and staff with better training.The setting of this hotel is very lovely but it is crying out for a bit of T.L.C.. Please hire good gardener and train housekeeping and dining staff in luxury hotel standards.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMBWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I am disappointed to read that you found aspects of the cleanliness and maintenance of your lodge well below par and I apologise for any distress caused.We would have liked the opportunity to address the housekeeping issues when you were here in the hope that we could have restored your confidence in the Lodges.
I will now review the shortcomings you have listed with the Housekeeping and Maintenance Teams for immediate attention.

Your views on the Golf Club I will take on board and address with the team there.
We welcome all feedback, and again please accept my sincere apologies for any distress caused. We look forward to welcoming you back to Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay in June fab place would highly recommend. Can't wait to return.good for families ..A real treat.staff very friendly and helpful.club house nice for food also.ferry crossing to the island is also very regular

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruby55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your views with us. We sincerely appreciate your kind comments.
To read that you enjoyed a real treat, encountered friendly, helpful staff and enjoyed the food at the Club House is fantastic.

It will give me great pleasure to share your comments with the team here and we look forward to welcoming back to Waterford castle in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped at Waterford Castle for the Sunday lunch service. The food & service was wonderful (a bit pricey but worth the experience).

We walked the grounds for a little bit - nicely keep but not expansive. We did not stay at the hotel but some of the guests were departing from a wedding & shared + feedback.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We really do appreciate your kind comments.
We are delighted to see that you took the time to come and enjoy a wonderful Sunday lunch in the Munster room which currently holds 2 AA rosettes.

I look forward to sharing your review with our team especially our Head Chef and we hope to see you at Waterford Castle again in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarenville, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We arrived at Waterford Castle by a 2 minute ferry ride and a short drive on a very scenic road. The check in was quick and the staff are very friendly. We were showed to our room (The Browne room) and helped with our luggage. The rooms are a little quirky, unique and spacious. The bathroom is victorian style with a clawfoot tub and a pull cord toilet.
The grounds are pretty. There is a walking trail and golf course on site. We seen several deer around the property.
When we booked we chose the room and dinner option and we were not disappointed. The dinner in the Munster Room was absolutely delicious. We had the continental breakfast in the morning which was also good. (lots of choices)
The negatives would be the cost. It's a little pricey but we wanted to stay in a castle on this trip so we didn't mind the cost. No air condition either.
Overall we had a great stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like the castle experience. Great place for golfers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRodway2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Waterford Castle. It is always great to read such positive comments. We have a very unique property on its own island where we hope our guests once on the ferry can switch off, enjoy the scenic setting, the deer that wander freely, the leisurely walks and if there is time enjoy the Golf.
Its great to see you enjoyed Dinner in the Munster room, our chef will be delighted. The Munster room currently holds 2 AA Rosettes something we are very proud of.

I will share your comments with the team here who take great pride in their place of work and are always delighted to receive such positives remarks.

We hope to see you again at Waterford Castle in the not to distant future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I arrived here on a one nights stay with two kids to be advised that private function was on and the castle and golf club house was closed for us to use any of its amenities. So no food for kids. General manger very unhelpful and did not care. They advised me that they rang to leave me know that the castle had private function but as I told them and showed my phone records no such call had been made.... Make sure you double check. The whole experience was an absolute disgrace and is NOT 4 star treatment

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Caitrionaok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your recent review.

Firstly I would like to apologise for the distress caused to you. We regret that on the evening of your intended stay we were hosting two private events at the resort. This in itself is unusual and not the norm. As policy we notify all arrivals to our Self Catering Lodges prior to their arrival date of any restrictions to the services we provide at the resort. It is regrettable that we were unable to make contact with you when you made your booking and the procedures we have in place for this will need to be reviewed.
On your arrival on learning of the restrictions on the resort for the remainder of the evening you were understandably upset. The booking agent you booked your Lodge through kindly and immediately agreed to refund you for your intended stay.

Again I would like to apologise for the distress caused. It is regrettable that we had two functions on, on the evening of your intended stay. We hope you might consider visiting Waterford Castle at some future date.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Waterford castle is in desperate need of an overhaul. Stained carpets and a dreadful smell all through the inside of the castle. This is definately a place for golfers to stay, it offered very little else for anyone who doesn't play golf. The bed was lovely as was the breakfast, but other than that we were overall disappointed. Some serious money needs to be poured into this place.

Room Tip: Ask for one which has windows which actually open and aren't seized up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanineR291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.
I was disappointed to read that we did not deliver on your expectations in some areas. There is no denying the Castle is a very old building and quite unique. We carry out repair and maintenance projects on an on going basis, always sensitive to modern day expectations and old world charm.
We welcome all feedback and I will make note of your concerns for attention.
On a positive note I am happy to see that you found Bed and breakfast to your liking.

I apologise for the disappointment you felt and hope you were able to take some happy memories from Waterford Castle.
I hope you might consider returning to Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing