We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely gorgeous setting! a must see.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“absolutely gorgeous setting! a must see.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

wonderful castle on a private island. and for €130 absolutely affordable. when visiting ireland, one stay in a castle must be included, and this is the one (the other could be dromoland, but that is like 4x the price) you definitely will enjoy all the little details of pure luxury. and the €45 for the optionaly dinner are also worth every cent.
the view from my room was over green fields to the river, absolutely quiet. there were many families with little kids.
above all was this extraordinary and impressive setting.

Room Tip: this was by far the best price - value ration on my whole trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petr95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review of Waterford Castle.
We are very lucky to have such a unique property on its own Island. It is quiet and peaceful with unobstructed views across the island from all windows.

I am delighted to read that you took the time to dine in The Munster room. Awarded 2 AA Rosettes again for 2014 it is a culinary experience that will not disappoint.

Again thank you for your review, I look forward to sharing it with the team here.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Waterford Castle in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney.


I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    253
    96
    51
    22
See reviews for
345
513
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

I don't throw the word fantastic about too often but if you are looking to get away somewhere special for a night this is a fantastic place to go. For an authentic castle hotel experience I don't think you can beat Waterford castle.

I treated myself and the missus to a night away from the kids for our wedding anniversary. It included a 4 course gourmet dinner and a bottle of house wine. The dinner was sensational. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would highly recommend this hotel.

The only slight criticism I would have is that our room (hurst room) which was great had a light right outside our room which for me made it very hard to sleep as there was a lot of light coming in.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pat g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We are very fortunate to have such a unique property and are delighted that you were able to enjoy a brief stay with us on your Wedding anniversary.

We pride ourselves on our culinary offering here at the Castle and the Kitchen team will be delighted with your comments.

I will take a look at the light outside the Hurst and see if there is anything we can do to rectify the problem.

Again thank you for your kind comments and we do hope to see you again at Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandy, utah
Level Contributor
240 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

From the moment we drove off the ferry onto this island, we felt that this was a magical destination. You approach through a wooded lane and reach a real castle. True, this place doesn't have modern amenities like a pool/spa, which would be a fun addition. But the old world elegance and the feeling of having stepped back in time is completely charming. I wish we'd done the afternoon tea, but we loved dinner and breakfast. There was a man playing the piano all through dinner, and the food was one of our best meals in Europe this summer. Highly recommend the tomato fennel soup and the passion fruit cream dessert. The bedrooms are spacious and the bathrooms have those giant claw foot tubs with floral enamel. Wish we could've stayed longer. Truly unique and memorable place.

Room Tip: Wall Room and Executive Suite both wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wellsfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Waterford Castle.
Waterford Castle is a truly unique place, arriving by ferry onto its own Island you can leave the everyday activities behind and step into another era.
We hold 2 AA Rosettes in the Munster Room Restaurant and it is a real culinary experience, our Kitchen team are passionate about their menus and are always encouraged when they receive such positive feedback.

Again thank you for your review, we hope you might return someday and try the Afternoon Tea.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
240 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Very disappointed by this hotel after reading many good reviews on the site. Immediately after staying here we stayed at Hayfield Manor a few hours away and that highlighted just what's lacking at Waterford. There really is very little to do- no spa, pool, gym.. nothing. Restaurant, whilst absolutely beautiful, was completely underwhelming. Rooms and communal parts just are not well appointed. The whole place is small and tired, and the scenic walk round the island is pleasant, but not at all scenic.

The large suites can easily accommodate several rollaway beds- there is lots of space, so the hotel is really exploiting customers who might not be aware that there is easily space for 3+ extra beds. The standard rooms are not at all special.

Pleasant enough staff. But really- don't bother. There are so many other options, and for the money they charge you can do way better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank likest0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Waterford Castle.
It is regrettable that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
The Castle is without doubt unique, only assessable by ferry. Parts of the Castle have been in existence since the 16th century and enlarged through the 19th century to its current size.

The Castle is probably more suited to travellers who what a glimpse into the past and take things at a very leisurely pace.
We do encourage our guests looking for activities here on the Island to avail of the golf, tennis or clay pigeon shooting or take a picnic prepared by the chef on to the lawn and try and spot the deer who have made the island home.

Again thank you for your feedback, I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind Regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Though it is a little difficult to find at first, this hotel is charming. The staff is especially helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Because the castle is on an island accessible only by its own private ferry, noise is not a problem. Breakfasts are very good and nicely served. This is a good choice for a stay in a real castle. There's so much to do in the Waterford area, and this hotel is conveniently away from the crowds. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacation00002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We sincerely appreciate your kind comments.
The castle is unique, set in a tranquil location where it is easy to switch off and relax.
I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us, you enjoyed breakfast and you hope to return in the future.

I look forward to sharing your review with the team here and we look forward to welcoming you to Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed one night & glad I did. You take a ferry to get to the island. Unfortunately it's not within walking distance once you exit the ferry into the city so you need your car but there is plenty of street & lot parking in central Waterford. The castle is in a beautiful setting with nice grounds to walk around if you're not a golfer. Our room was spacious, bright, overlooked the water & was very comfortable. Staff was helpful & attentive. The main dining room was very good & we enjoyed a nice 3 course meal. Breakfast was also quite good with lots of choices. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlenihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.
We are very fortunate to have such a unique property on its own Island where our guests can switch off and relax.
We pride ourselves on our culinary reputation and am happy to see you were able to experience Dinner and Breakfast here at The castle.
I look forward to sharing your comments with the team here who take great pride in their work place. We look forward to your return visit to Waterford Castle in the not too distant future.
.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Management please please over
the quiet season do some maintenance on your lodges. These are fantastic houses however standards have slipped. TV volume muted itself when watching. Numerous blubs not working. Immersion stopped working during stay though was quickly fix by maintenence. Cleanliness was also questionable as lumps of dust under furniture and curtains. Mismatch of cutlery and delph in the kitchen. Houses need painting.
There is a large cable protruding from grass area between houses. We informed reception that this was an accident waiting to happen and said they would get it looked at. Despite above issues really enjoyed stay. Staff v friendly.
Hopefully when we retur; lodges will have improved.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FOXYLADYBABE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff very friendly on site.

In relation to Lodge Cleanliness and Maintenance we have a team on site at all times, it is disappointing to read that you found the cleanliness of the lodge questionable with bulbs blown and an issue with your TV.
I will be addressing the various issues raised in your review with the on site team in the coming days.
We will over the course of the winter be putting a plan into action to prepare the Lodges for the 2015 season. We are indeed coming to the end of 2014 season and with the lodges at maximum occupancy it is difficult to do anything other than basic work.
Again thank you for your review, Please accept my sincere apologies for any distress caused and we look forward to your return in 2015.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing