We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to go!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We had a lovely night in Waterford Castle recently. Fantastic pleasant staff who couldn't do enough for us. Even down to the groundsman re-starting my car the next morning with jump leads as I had left the lights on (silly me!!). Rooms were very comfortable with cosy beds and lovely décor. Nice big bathroom. All spotlessly clean. Views from windows were of spectacular countryside and water - we even saw some deer! We had an excellent dinner in the beautiful diningroom with very helpful and attentive staff. We would highly recommend this hotel and only wish we had longer to stay in order to take in some great walks around the island.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank bennett-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review.

I am delighted to read that you had such memorable if brief stay here at Waterford Castle and that you found all the staff you encountered to be attentive and accommodating.

I am happy to see that you were able to experience Dinner in the Munster room. With 2 AA Rosettes awarded again in 2014 the staff take great pride in the knowledge that our customers enjoy the experience.

It will give me great pleasure to share your comments with the team here and we look forward to your return visit in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

While touring Ireland, we wanted to stay in a castle hotel. This one did not disappoint. Isolated on a small island, you take a short ferry ride to get there. The castle and grounds are very beautiful and we were made to feel very much at home. My husband decided he'd like to play an impromptu golf round, and they were very accommodating. We dressed up for dinner and had a delicious meal. Breakfast in the conservatory felt like stepping back to another world. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Be prepared that once you get onto the island, there isn't much else to do there except the castle, grounds and golf. We found it a lovely, relaxing castle experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyadventurer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I am delighted to read that you had such a lovely relaxing Castle experience here at Waterford Castle.
We are very fortunate to have such a unique property on its own island where you can switch off and relax.
We pride ourselves on our culinary reputation and I am glad to see you enjoyed Dinner and Breakfast with us here.

I will share your comments with the team here who take great pride in their place of work.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Waterford Castle in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The castle and grounds are great. There is a nice walking path around the island with beautiful views of the river and the grounds. The restaurant was very nice and we enjoyed the meals there very much, including their afternoon tea. If we were to do it over again though, we would ask for a room in the back of the building. We were in the front, overlooking the entrance, and they light up the front of the castle at night, and the big flood lights make it very light in the room, even with all the shades and curtains drawn. Also, it was summer, and with the windows open for fresh air, the sound of people driving up to the front of the hotel, slamming car doors, walking around in the crunchy gravel, unloading luggage, talking, and so on, was loud. My suggestion would be that after 11 PM, they turn off the flood lights and close the drive-up drop-off area to cars.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are loud and bright at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Waterford Castle. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the Castle. You were able to enjoy a walk around the very scenic island paths and enjoy dinner and afternoon tea.

In relation to the external lights and the cars in the set down area at the front of the Castle, these are areas we can definitely address and hopefully improve on. Please accept my sincere apologies for any distress this may have caused you during your stay.

Again thank you for your review, we hope to see you again at Waterford Castle in the not too distant future.

Kind regards


Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

wonderful castle on a private island. and for €130 absolutely affordable. when visiting ireland, one stay in a castle must be included, and this is the one (the other could be dromoland, but that is like 4x the price) you definitely will enjoy all the little details of pure luxury. and the €45 for the optionaly dinner are also worth every cent.
the view from my room was over green fields to the river, absolutely quiet. there were many families with little kids.
above all was this extraordinary and impressive setting.

Room Tip: this was by far the best price - value ration on my whole trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petr95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review of Waterford Castle.
We are very lucky to have such a unique property on its own Island. It is quiet and peaceful with unobstructed views across the island from all windows.

I am delighted to read that you took the time to dine in The Munster room. Awarded 2 AA Rosettes again for 2014 it is a culinary experience that will not disappoint.

Again thank you for your review, I look forward to sharing it with the team here.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Waterford Castle in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney.


I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

I don't throw the word fantastic about too often but if you are looking to get away somewhere special for a night this is a fantastic place to go. For an authentic castle hotel experience I don't think you can beat Waterford castle.

I treated myself and the missus to a night away from the kids for our wedding anniversary. It included a 4 course gourmet dinner and a bottle of house wine. The dinner was sensational. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would highly recommend this hotel.

The only slight criticism I would have is that our room (hurst room) which was great had a light right outside our room which for me made it very hard to sleep as there was a lot of light coming in.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pat g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We are very fortunate to have such a unique property and are delighted that you were able to enjoy a brief stay with us on your Wedding anniversary.

We pride ourselves on our culinary offering here at the Castle and the Kitchen team will be delighted with your comments.

I will take a look at the light outside the Hurst and see if there is anything we can do to rectify the problem.

Again thank you for your kind comments and we do hope to see you again at Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

From the moment we drove off the ferry onto this island, we felt that this was a magical destination. You approach through a wooded lane and reach a real castle. True, this place doesn't have modern amenities like a pool/spa, which would be a fun addition. But the old world elegance and the feeling of having stepped back in time is completely charming. I wish we'd done the afternoon tea, but we loved dinner and breakfast. There was a man playing the piano all through dinner, and the food was one of our best meals in Europe this summer. Highly recommend the tomato fennel soup and the passion fruit cream dessert. The bedrooms are spacious and the bathrooms have those giant claw foot tubs with floral enamel. Wish we could've stayed longer. Truly unique and memorable place.

Room Tip: Wall Room and Executive Suite both wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellsfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Waterford Castle.
Waterford Castle is a truly unique place, arriving by ferry onto its own Island you can leave the everyday activities behind and step into another era.
We hold 2 AA Rosettes in the Munster Room Restaurant and it is a real culinary experience, our Kitchen team are passionate about their menus and are always encouraged when they receive such positive feedback.

Again thank you for your review, we hope you might return someday and try the Afternoon Tea.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Very disappointed by this hotel after reading many good reviews on the site. Immediately after staying here we stayed at Hayfield Manor a few hours away and that highlighted just what's lacking at Waterford. There really is very little to do- no spa, pool, gym.. nothing. Restaurant, whilst absolutely beautiful, was completely underwhelming. Rooms and communal parts just are not well appointed. The whole place is small and tired, and the scenic walk round the island is pleasant, but not at all scenic.

The large suites can easily accommodate several rollaway beds- there is lots of space, so the hotel is really exploiting customers who might not be aware that there is easily space for 3+ extra beds. The standard rooms are not at all special.

Pleasant enough staff. But really- don't bother. There are so many other options, and for the money they charge you can do way better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank likest0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Waterford Castle.
It is regrettable that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
The Castle is without doubt unique, only assessable by ferry. Parts of the Castle have been in existence since the 16th century and enlarged through the 19th century to its current size.

The Castle is probably more suited to travellers who what a glimpse into the past and take things at a very leisurely pace.
We do encourage our guests looking for activities here on the Island to avail of the golf, tennis or clay pigeon shooting or take a picnic prepared by the chef on to the lawn and try and spot the deer who have made the island home.

Again thank you for your feedback, I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Waterford Castle in the future.

Kind Regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,206 reviews
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,360 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,187 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,201 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £111 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing