We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience, two thumbs up all round.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience, two thumbs up all round.”
Reviewed 30 April 2010

A beautiful setting for a luxurious hotel. From the moment of our arrival to the day we left we were treated like the King and Queen of this most beautiful Castle Hotel. Very efficient staff and friendly too. Spotless rooms. Fantastic food served in the big old dining room which also has a large glass conservatory which looks out over beautiful gardens. lovely relaxing woodland walks with plenty of wildlife an deer to look out for. Also boasts a fantastic 18 hole golf course with very nice, friendly staff in Pro Shop and clubhouse. The clubhouse has a very nice menu too. I cannot praise this exceptional hotel enough. Go see and experience it for yourself. You will not regret it! Bravo and two thumbs up to the whole team, form the ferry pilot to the Hotel Management and all the staff in between. RD

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RpDCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    260
    96
    53
    22
See reviews for
357
530
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

My wife & I stayed here for 1 night totally by chance, we had heard about it from other visitors in Killarney so when visiting waterford town we asked for directions. I think the ferry did it for my wife, "honey we are staying here" I was told as we went across! This Hotel was just great, Staff were warm ,helpfull and friendly, Rooms were spacious and clean , we also dined in the Resteraunt and in the bar during the day, food was really good! dinner in the restaurant was just divine, expensive but worth every $.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obama409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Stayed in the Castle for Easter, staff on reception were very friendly. Fantastic deal with dinner included available on supervalu getawaybreaks (and probably elsewhere). Breakfast set-up was a little poor, staff didn't bother to explain how it all worked; hot buffet not great and easy to miss the fact that you could order from a menu. Dinner however was fab, different staff to brekkie and much more professional. Room and bathroom were very spacious, could do with a fresh coat of paint, especially on a flaky ceiling. Pity there is no leisure centre. Location excellent, places worth visiting Cheekpoint, Dummore East and the beautiful drive along the Copper Coast. I think one visit to this hotel is enough, whilst it was very pleasant I don't think I'll stay again but I would recommend it if you get a good deal. Not worth paying full price!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eithne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian3553, Operations Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2010
Dear Eithne072,

Thank you very much for your recent review, it was fantastic to hear your positive feedback regarding our reception team and restaurant staff at dinner and I will ensure that your comments are passed onto them. I was disappointed to hear however about your experience at breakfast and please be assured that your comments have been acknowledged and that they will be acted upon through ongoing staff training. I am glad that you got to see some of the wonderful sights in the area and please note that our guests do have access to a leisure centre at a nearby hotel, for a nominal fee. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, and I hope that you will re-consider staying with us again in the future’


Kind Regards

Adrian Rossetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2010

we had a great stay at the Waterford Castle hotel. We got a great deal because it was off-season (in March). There were not a lot of other hotel guests. I would stay there, but definitely go out into the town. Rooms were nice.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westrook, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2010

On a family trip to Ireland we decided to stretch the budget and stay at the Waterford Castle Hotel. We were all so glad we did. The drive in is great, taking the ferry over, driving around the island, then up to the courtyard in front of the Castle. The staff was wonderful right from the start. Our rooms were much better than the pictures on the site and made for much squeeling of delight from my daughters. Dinner was just elegant and I had the best cut of beef I've ever had, all the food as delish! Breakfast was equally wonderful and the dining room staff we supurb. If you want to experience a major touch of class and what it might have been like to live in a castle, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdquig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We have stayed in Waterford Castle several times, a few times in the hotel and a few times in the Golf Lodges.

The hotel is wonderful, very relaxing. We have always found the staff to be very attentive and customer focused and the rooms are very comfortable.

The golf lodges are great for a family, this past visit we stayed in one of the golf lodges and we did find they are getting a bit run down, our bathroom had a broken sink and the lodge was not as clean as we have found on previous occassions, it's such a shame if they allow them to deteriorate, as they really are lovely, very nicely furnished and decorated.

The grounds are glorious with herds of deer to keep the kids amused and a wonderful golf course for those who play golf. It is a shame they were unable to complete the Leisure Center and a little kiddies playground would not go amiss.

Overall, this is the best property in the South East of Ireland, and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfordcastle, Rooms Division Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2010
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your most recent visit to Waterford Castle.
Recieving feedback from our guests is always welcomed wheather it is positive or negative . so that we can use it to ensure we are meeting guests needs.

We are currently in the process of putting aa outdoor play area in place .

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

At breakfast on our last morning of a 3 day break in Waterford Castle, we discussed what could possibly be improved at this magnificant hotel. The answer is, simply nothing. Everything was excellent from the moment we arrived at reception. The staff, location, views, car parking facilities, room decor, food and wine were just outstanding. We will certainly be returning to this Island Haven and would highly recommend Waterford Castle as an ideal venue to relax in style and revitalise yourself for a short or long term vacation, it was simply perfect.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenandSonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing