We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money, friendly staff, great customer service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Waterford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Waterford
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money, friendly staff, great customer service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Travel Lodge in Waterford with my daughter. We had stayed at a previous Travel lodge in Dublin and had been left disapointed with the service. However this hotel delivered on every level. The rooms where clean and tidy the staff where friendly and efficient. We had a very enjoyable stay and will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADCurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear ADCurtis,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I have posted your kind words on our canteen noticeboard for all the staff to read. I am glad that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us and i hope that you will both visit us again sometime in the near future.

Regards,

Conor M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    82
    70
    67
    87
See reviews for
112
126
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Very disappointed in fact didn't even stay for one of the three nights we booked. Made alternative arrangements at additional expense. First room offered had a view of a brick wall, second was very noisy close to ventilation fans. Long time since the room had seen a lick of paint the whole hotel needs refurbishment. Bed had seen better days and was not a king size as advertised. The manager did offer to try to find us alternative accommodation and promised us a full refund. 9 days on I have not received this payment.

Room Tip: walked around the entire hotel, noisy throughout
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elayne47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Elayne47,

Thank you for your review. It is clear that our hotel was not what you expected and i must apologise again for same. I have raised the issue of how the hotel is being advertised on the Travelodge UK website and this will be addressed as soon as possible. As we discussed on the day in question in great detail, our hotel is in the process of refurbishment and you will recall some of the many items that i mentioned regarding upgrades that i have made to the property since i took over which did include the hotel being fully repainted and also about our future plans as well. Regarding your refund and as we discussed on the day in question, our refund procedure can sometimes take a while to be completed but i will certainly enquire as to the status of this for you first thing tomorrow morning.

Regards,

Conor M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I felt a little uneasy on entering the hotel; it seemed so impersonal, so rushed, so indifferent. The receptionist was a bit on the rude side. The room was cramped. The carpets were dirty and the sheets were not clean. I just felt uncomfortable there and I really wanted to leave but I had booked and paid and it was a busy weekend so we didn't have an option of finding another place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Ann F,

Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel however i must admit that i am rather puzzled by some of the issues that you mentioned. I have tried to call you since you stayed with us but as yet i have been unable to make contact with you. I must apologise if you felt that a member of our reception team was a bit rude to you on arrival. This is certainly not the usual level of customer service that we provide here in Travelodge Waterford and i will certainly discuss this matter with my staff. I do however note that we organised your rooms for you early on the day in question to accommodate your plans and also waved our early check-in fee for your rooms as well. Our room sizes are of a good standard size, comparable to other hotels but i do apologise if you felt the rooms were too cramped for your particular requirements. In relation to the carpet and sheets being dirty, i am curious as to why you did not bring this to our attention at the time in question as we would have gladly attended to any items that were in need of attention had we been informed of same. I would like to discuss some of these points with you further so could i please request that you make contact with myself on waterford@travelodge.ie

Regards,

Conor M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Meath, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel as a family on many occasions. We discovered the hotel last summer 2013. Over this time we have noticed many improvements, the main one that was of importance to us was the replacement of the sofa bed to a single bed as we have a young daughter. The rooms have always been clean, fresh white sheets, clean towels, hot water. Breakfast is not included but at the price you pay I wouldn't expect it to be. For under €10 pp you get a great cooked breakfast in Rockin Joes across the car park and Mc Donalds is less than a minute away also. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and go out of their way for us. The TV didn't work in our room once and it was replace within minutes with no hassle. It was everything we needed for our stay as we are up in the morning and out for the day. It is ideally located. We usually go to Tramore, on the ferry to Hook Head or at Christmas for Winterval. We always shop around when travelling and you can't beat this hotel for the price. In short, it's a clean room to put your head down at night at a great price!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mistletoe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Mistletoe2014,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. Nothing pleases me more than seeing guests returning to visit us time and time again. Its great to see that our hotel is perfect for your needs and i am delighted that you and your family always enjoy your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon

Regards,

Conor M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
243 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our experience was quite ok. The room appeared to have been modernised, but the tiles in the bathroom could have done with a little more work. Having said that the room was tidy and clean with new curtains. The bed was quite comfortable so we had a good night'sleep sleep. It was generally quiet, there was some noise in the car park in the morning- but people have to go to work.

We used a room that was on the first floor overlooking the entrance. Because we always keep our windows open we were occasionally treated to the smells of those smoking outside the entrance. If this might cause you a problem check before you travel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Choirman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Choirman09,

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully you will come back and visit us again

Regards,

Conor M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here for the first time in a few years. Previous stays have been fine but the place has gone right down hill. Doesn't look as if it has been decorated since our last stay. Very noisy at night from adjacent McDonalds. The mattress was awful - springs protruding and most uncomfortable. Best word to describe it is shabby.
We gave our complaints to the very polite receptionist who said he would pass on to the manager. I gave him my Irish mobile phone number and was told the manager would be in contact. Over a month later and nothing heard. Travelodge should be ashamed of this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry100Newbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Barry100Newbury,

Please accept my most sincerest apologies for your disappointing stay. I would like to discuss some of the items that you mentioned in greater detail with you so could i please ask that you make contact with myself directly at waterford@travelodge.ie

Many thanks

Conor M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is what it is. A travel lodge that works out about 25 euro pp. If you want fantastic service and rooms then pay more else where. The room is basic, clean and standard. If u want luxury go elsewhere. If you want to put down your head for a night in a clean room/bed (and dont expect a memory foam matress) then go for this. location is good and facilities close by.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear MJC_10,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel again sometime in the future.

Regards,

Conor M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
1.1 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
1.0 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
1.9 mi away
Viking Hotel Waterford
Viking Hotel Waterford
#11 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Waterford

Property: Travelodge Waterford
Address: N25 Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterford Travelodge Hotel is ideally located just outside the main city centre. Travelodge Waterford is located on the main Cork to Rosslare Road (N25) our hotel is the ideal gateway to all that the sunny South East has to offer. Local beaches and golf courses are all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Travelodge Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Travel Lodge
Waterford Travelodge
Travel Lodge Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing