We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice sweets”

Lily O'Briens - The Chocolate Cafe
Price range: US$1 - US$11
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice sweets”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great location to sit with coffee and muse opposite Cathedral. Indoor and outdoor locations weather permitting the pavement location is a wonderful place to watch Waterford and relax.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThomasSWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chocolatecafe11, Owner at Lily O'Briens - The Chocolate Cafe, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Great to hear thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    11
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chocoholic”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect spot for a chocolate lover like me, I usually have the hot chocolate which is amazing there desserts are invent full and delicious, staff are friendly and the atmosphere is cosy

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Junkieforbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chocolatecafe11, Manager at Lily O'Briens - The Chocolate Cafe, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your review fellow chocoholic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
2 reviews
“What a Gem”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

What a a fab coffee stop to indulge and relax chance... the best Illy coffee with the most amazing little chocolates.. the seats outside lend me to people watch and relax as the world goes by.... It really is a gem in the city.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chocolatecafe11, Owner at Lily O'Briens - The Chocolate Cafe, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your review we are delighted you enjoy it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Never let's me down”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

I work just around the corner from here and am in quite regularly, hot chocolates are gorgeous but also have lovely sandwiches and baps, especially the smoked chicken bap. Often buy the little pouches of chocolates for when I have visitors, great value. What I love most is the service, they are always very friendly and welcoming, it's nice when you've moved to a city away from home to have a regular place you feel welcome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wicklowroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chocolatecafe11, Owner at Lily O'Briens - The Chocolate Cafe, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
That is great to hear thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
337 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stopped in here for coffee recently. Both sections were busy so we took a seat at the counter at the window. First noticed a strong paint smell and a sticky counter top, taking a closer look I saw that the paint was fresh and wet in places on the counter as if someone had put something hot on it before it dried. The waiter told me it had been painted a few days ago and covered the wet paint with a tissue. The latte I ordered arrived in a take away cup, I would have expected it in a glass, and it was cold. I feel that there is a need for some attention to detail.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Declan2004Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chocolatecafe11, Owner at Lily O'Briens - The Chocolate Cafe, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your review! Unfortunately there had been some refurbishment and there was a paint smell from the window area. We are a takeaway based café so all our coffees come in takeaway cups - we apologise for it being cold and would have loved to have been given the opportunity to replace it. Please call in again and make yourself known to Philip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lily O'Briens - The Chocolate Cafe also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing