We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sour beer” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Munster Bar

Munster Bar
Ranked #14 of 174 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sour beer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Have drunk in here several times. Found beer has the been to be quite sour on each occasion. Pity seeing as it is a fine and beautiful building.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    79
    17
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South East
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

The Munster is a real gem, great food, warm friendly atmosphere and great value. Convenient location close to the Viking triangle, beside the theatre royal so perfect for pre theatre dinner or a leisurely meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sus_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Munster Bar is across the street from the Waterford Crystal Factory. The food, the beer and the service was excellent. As the chef was taking a break, he even came over and visited with us for a while. This was a typical Irish Pub but it was beautiful inside.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank golferkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksburg, nj
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food we had in Ireland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The food here was absolutely delicious. The choices on the menu were the most varied of all of the restaurants we dined at during our entire Ireland trip, which covered Limmerick, Killarney, Cork, and Adare Counties. I had the Smokie for an appetizer, the seafood pie (both made in house, yay!) for my entree, and because everything was so good had to try the dessert. I decided on the pear almond tart which was very good. I am not a fan of bread pudding but because it looked different from what I am used to in the States I decided to sample my sister's and it too was delish. The cream that was on all of the desserts was also great. My tween daughter is not a burger girl but, loves bacon, so decided on the burger. She enjoyed it very much, especially the bacon. I couldn't convince her to try the tomato relish, oh well, more for me to enjoy! I had it with my fries and picked up a couple of jars at Centra for home. I can only hope it taster as good. Our waiter was very attentive and the restaurant is in the same area as several tourist attractions, including Waterford Crystal, the Reginald Tower, and the Medieval Museum. I would definitely have to make ths a stop if I ever return to Ireland!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My family have been to the Munster now for years, and we cant fault the food in any way, It's always freshly cooked and piping hot, the service is great and the staff are very helpful and chirpy, it is a family run restaurant and bar and the Fitzgeralds go out of their way to make your stay a very pleasant one, and of course the price is very good for the quality. Would highly recommend it,

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Munster Bar also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Munster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing