We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed here for my debs. I must say overall a nice hotel great big spacious rooms. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Would recommend hotel, easy to find, good parking. I will be back hopefully soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear DragosA,

Thank you for your respond and for sharing your experience of your stay and Debs
here in the Woodlands Hotel, Waterford.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    134
    75
    54
    47
See reviews for
176
140
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
vermont
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Although it's well out of the city center, this hotel is worth the drive. I was warmly greeted upon arrival and given a very spacious, well-lit second floor corner room with a balcony (alas, overlooking a housing development, but views beyond) and a wonderfully comfortable bed. When I found that the hot water tap in the bathroom was not working, the front desk person sent a repairman up immediately, and then offered me a free breakfast buffet (very good) for the inconvenience. Although I didn't use the pool, it looked well-kept and inviting.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear KayVermont,

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here in the Woodlands Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prosperous, Kildare, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2013

this was our 2nd time to stay in the woodlands hotel and again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.the minute we walked in we got a warm welcome from sarah,and found our room to be lovely again.we went into the bar for a bite to eat and the food was top notch.we were nicely full leaving.service is excellent and staff are as friendly.only 10mins from city centre and 20mins from tramore.great spot..

Room Tip: avoid room beside lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear HelenaD,

Thank you for your reveiw. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your returned stay at here in the Woodlands Hotel, Waterford.

I will ensure to pass all your comments onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Lovely hotel and staff but the walls in the rooms are so thin the guy snoring in the next room may as well be in the other bed in my room. Groan.
Nice and clean and warm though. Lots of parking. Good breakfast and attentive and helpful service.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Endas,

Thank you for your comments on your stay here in the Woodlands Hotel, Waterford. I am delighted to read that you foufn the hotel was nice and clean and that you enjoyed your breakfast.

I have passed all your comments to both Management and Staff.

We hope to welcome you to the Woodlands Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Firstly I stay in a lot of hotels and in my experience I usually find people are well equipped to complain rather than seek the positives in a premises. Myself and my new wife stayed here 23rd and loved everything, from the moment we arrived we were greeted by Aoife, huge smile, fierce chat and gave all info required for us to enjoy our stay. Throughout the night I noticed that this girl was everywhere and as DM -duty manager she ran the hotel. The bar was tipping away nicely while she ran in and out looking over the running of the bar and residents with dinner included in their packages, she also managed to consistently check people in with the same professionalism as she had given us.
The room we got was superb Room 216 right next to the lift and fabulously furnished. The room was cold when we got in but low and behold I didn't complain I simply turned on the radiator myself! We had a lovely meal in the restaurant attending a family function.
All in all we both enjoyed our one night away, slept very comfortably, really enjoyed breakfast which in my opinion is very important if not more important than dinner as this is your last meal before you leave so a good impression is vital. Breakfast manager superb, greeted with smile, newspaper, fresh food, selection of pastries, yoghurts, fruit, cereals, porridge cooked to order. Full Irish buffet if that's your thing my wife loved the scrambled eggs as they were so fresh.
Checkout was fab, lovely blonde girl super friendly again, asked did we enjoy stay and was delighted that we did and said don't hesitate to call again. Which we will. I should note that the FOH Manager I dealt with on booking originally was so friendly as well. Staff friendliness is the big plus here and I hope that the management reward the staff for taking such good care of us.
Many thanks,
Regards James & Laura.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauracleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardara, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Excellent staff in all departments. Very good value and reasonable. A comfortable and well located hotel to suit exploring the South East of Ireland. Excellent, clean and well maintained leisure centre with first class service with discreet and efficient supervision.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Smack19126d,

Thank you for your comments on your stay here in the Woodlands Hotel, Waterford.
I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and that you were looked after by the staff extremely well. I have passed all your comments onto the town.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I have spent recently one night in this hotel.And it was great!The staff were really friendly.The room was spacious.I did not eat in the restaurant,but I used the room service,which was really fast and the staff from the bar was really friendly as well.Overall I had a good time.Definitely would recommend.And I am looking forward to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nordlys55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Nordly55.

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to read that you would recommend the Woodlands Hotel and more importantly would return.

I have passed all your comments on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.1 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,148 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,127 reviews
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,113 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,372 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Property: Woodlands Hotel
Address: Dunmore Road, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing