We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night only!!”
Review of Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One night only!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The pool is great and the leisure club is clean and the staff are friendly and polite. In the hotel however the receptionist who greeted us was extremely abrupt. The room we had was clean but the décor is dated. During the recent heat-wave we requested a fan as this hotel has no AC. The bar food is average, the portions are generous but the selection isn't great. The views are of a housing estate or more houses. During the night the fire alarm went off, we tried to ring the front desk internally and it went unanswered. I rang from my cell phone externally and this also rang out. When I left my room to go and see if there was a problem I met a staff member who told me to ring the number again only to find he had a portable phone and answered my call!!! I got this hotel as a deal but I would never return. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellie157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    134
    73
    51
    46
See reviews for
172
138
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

If you plan on going to Waterford be advised that the traffic is quite bad. Stay in town, ideally at the Granville Hotel. This was about 3 miles outside of town and it was challenging going into town. The bedding was clean but the decor and rugs were dated and stained. Also, be advised that you must have a bathing cap at all hotel pools in Ireland because they are used by other and called Leisure Clubs. Staff was friendly but I would not return here. Also, we were their during heat wave (90 degrees), which is unusually warm but the rooms do not have AC.

Room Tip: Don't stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristintoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Just spent 3 days at the Woodlands Hotel Waterford. Fabulous spacious rooms, right side of the city for the beaches at Tramore and Dunmore East, lovely buffet breakfast and evening bar food and lovely hotel staff. Gave this hotel a 4 star instead of a 5 star for one small detail ~ the swimming pool did not allow children in until 9.00am which is perfectly understandable but did not include this information in the Information brochure/book in the hotel bedroom. It said that children could not be in the pool after 7.00pm but did not mention that they could not be there before 9.00am. My husband and children headed off at 8.00am the first morning and only discovered when they got down to the leisure centre that they were a tad early. Not a major issue especially considering that everything else was spot on.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Recently we attended a friends wedding here and it was nothing short of fantastic from start to finish, it is a perfect location for a wedding. Very friendly greeting to all guests that were attending the wedding reception from Manager Larry and Wedding Coordinator Claire. The food was amazing, genuinely I've never tasted beef like I had for our main course in my life. The ballroom layout was very impressive, all chairs covered and backdrop behind top table, really set off the room. I most centianly will be considering the Woodlands Hotel for my big day. One word unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickoMiCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed at the Woodlands in Waterford for 2 nights in June and really enjoyed it. The room was very large, clean, and the staff was very friendly. While many of the older hotels are small, this was very modern, with plenty of space.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Woodlands Hotel for a Friday night with my young son. Was up at 6 on Saturday morning for a run and wanted to microwave some porridge - no problem at all by very nice staff person. I organised a wake up call and breakfast to the room for my son and a taxi to take him to the end of the race with extremely nice receptionist. I know that's what you should expect but it rarely happens. They couldn't be nicer and I would go back and recommend it to anyone on that basis.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I recently had my wedding out in the Woodlands Hotel on the 27th of June, what a fantastic venue! The wedding room and tables were laid out beautifully for us, the food was magnificent, a lot of positive feedback from our wedding guests, all the staff were first class, and the wedding co-ordinator Claire O'Mahony was so professional in looking after our every need and request. Attention to detail was amazing, everything that was promised was delivered on. I would have certainly recommend the Woodlands to any future brides and grooms to

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis_Brophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.1 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,106 reviews
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
2.9 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,353 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Property: Woodlands Hotel
Address: Dunmore Road, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing