We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family break”
Review of Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here with the kids during the summer, kids had a ball they loved the swimming pool. Food was great and no shortage.

The rooms were clean and fresh a good size, we had to get 2 for our large family would have prefers adjoining rooms but wasn't possible so we got rooms across the hall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aislingej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Booked a family room with this hotel on the 16th of August my girlfriend and our two kids arrived around 6pm after spending the day in tramore when we finally got to reception because there was a wedding blocking the entrance we where told our room had been cancelled when we asked " by who " we were told could we wait in the bar while it was sorted out the girl then explained they where fully booked and didnt have a room for us she said she would get us a room in there sister hotel but then came back and said we wont send you there its too far we will put you in the b&b down the road i explained we didnt want to stay in a b&b and asked how our room was cancelled and by who as we had been charged for the room i also rang the sister hotel and tried to make a booking that night to find they where fully booked so we were being lied too we ended up going to the b&b as we had nowhere else to stay and it was a 2hour drive home we dropped our bags off and had to try find somewhere for food for the kids we where also told we would be contacted first thing Monday about what had happened its now a week later and after numerous phone calls and no reply and also still didnt get the money back for the room we never got have to say it has been the worst hotel experience i have ever had with the worst customer service i have ever experienced. Our two kids were so upset as this was our break away before they went back to school. If the Woodlands hotel has a wedding or debs on expect to become a problem to them not a guest .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grahamj927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Myself and my wife spent one weekend night in this hotel. The hotel itself is nice and the rooms pretty spacious, however, a lot of wine stains on the carpet was off putting. Also be aware that this is a very popular wedding venue and consequently a lot of noise. The music from the function room could be clearly heard in the bedroom. The staff, though friendly enough, were not particularly interested in helping with problems. The hotel itself is surrounded by a housing estate and about half hour walk from city center. The room only rates are expensive in relation to other hotels in the city.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front may be quieter as further from function room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiamBray_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I've stayed here on 2 ocassions . The first was when a relative was in hospital, it was an ideal location for Waterford hospital and having leisure centre and pool was good to get a bit of exercise after hanging around the hospital a lot. First stay prompted me to return with husband and 2 children aged 4 and 7 as Hotel is on the right side of Waterford to explore the many fabulous beaches between Dunmore and Dungarven. The hotel is just a 10-15 min drive from both Tramore and Dunmore East but there are lots more less well known beach coves worth exploring. Having a fall back option of a hotel swimming pool is a must in Ireland when holidaying with young children.The hotel has an excellent well managed pool which caters well for serious swimmers , leisure swimmers and kids having fun. Although the pool was busy when we visited the supervising staff were the most meticulously attentive i have every experienced in a hotel pool. That level of attention was required to ensured that everyone had a good experience. I was impressed that both adults and children were given prompt gentle instruction when they strayed from the pool rules . We had breakfasts which always had a freshly stocked selection of the usual hotel cold and cooked buffet food. The breakfast room was also well managed and all staff were attentive courteous and efficient. Although busy when we stayed there was ample staff to ensure that noone was kept waiting. We ate in the bar twice and if pushed to proviide an area for improvement I thought the bar lacked a bit of atmosphere - this may be because of the times we ate and is just being pickey. The reception staff were helpful when we need directions to go to different beaches and guidance on where to buy some gear the kids wanted . Many thanks to everyone for super hospitality ,all the family had a great break - 4 days simply wasnt long enough to explore this lovely corner of Ireland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyface077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel while attending a wedding. The rooms were clean and comfortable with friendly customer service. The food was good with big portion sizes which i couldn't finish. Rates are reasonable as well. All round we had a pleasant stay. We will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Namitha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed 4 nights, and on all but one night there was a wedding function in the hotel. There was no noise from the functions themselves (the hotel had been sensible enough to place us up on the second floor) BUT there was a load of noise from people continuing the party in the carpark. returning to their rooms at all hours and kids running around the hallways. We had to ask the hotel to intervene in one case. This made for a few nights of restless / broken sleep which detracted from the stay. Better room allocation (eg keep revelers on one floor and travelers on another) might help? The room was a good size and had tea & coffee making facilities. Small TV which is unusual in this era of cheap flat screens. We ate at the associated pub "The Brass Cock" and the food was very good as was the service - even though they were quite busy. If you are attending a wedding function then the Woodlands would probably be perfect (the front of house staff were all very friendly and helpful) but if you are using it as a base for exploring the area, just check how many weddings are happening (and maybe at least try to get invited)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The pool is great and the leisure club is clean and the staff are friendly and polite. In the hotel however the receptionist who greeted us was extremely abrupt. The room we had was clean but the décor is dated. During the recent heat-wave we requested a fan as this hotel has no AC. The bar food is average, the portions are generous but the selection isn't great. The views are of a housing estate or more houses. During the night the fire alarm went off, we tried to ring the front desk internally and it went unanswered. I rang from my cell phone externally and this also rang out. When I left my room to go and see if there was a problem I met a staff member who told me to ring the number again only to find he had a portable phone and answered my call!!! I got this hotel as a deal but I would never return. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nellie157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.1 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,227 reviews
2.9 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,196 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
2.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Address: Dunmore Road, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range: £70 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing