We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best days of our lives”
Review of Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
1 review
“Best days of our lives”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We got Married in the woodlands hotel in May 2013. We had an incredible 2 day's which was down to the staff, the food and our clean and cosy accommodation.

A big thank you to Clare who helped organise our special day. She was fantastic, any doubts we had Clare kept us on the right path. Our Wedding Ceremony was incredible, the staff helped us to decorate and prepare for it. The staff were curtious/friendly throughout our stay.

Miss Coco hair salon is just above the leisure centre in the Woodlands which is just perfect for any bride to be. The girls in Miss Coco were amazing they did both hair and makeup for bride, bridesmaids, flowergirls and mother of the bride. It took a lot of pressure off the bridal party knowing everything was close by.

Our guests also stayed for 2 nights which they all had great things to say about it. They are still complimenting the wedding menu, it was faultless and delicious. The bar is cosy but spacious there was plenty of room for all.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a wedding venue or a getaway.

Overall value for money for the quality of this hotel is unbeatable.

Thank you Woodlands Hotel :)

Angie & Ciaran Caulfield

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHCaulfield2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear CHCaulfield2013,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to host your Wedding with us here in the Woodlands Hotel, Waterford.

I will ensure to pass all your kind comments onto the team who I am sure will find this very motivating.

On behalf of the management and staff we wish you all the best for the future.
Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    134
    73
    52
    47
See reviews for
174
138
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Had our wedding here on the 19th sept this year & it was incredible.. The staff went above & beyond all expectations, they were also so friendly as well as professional & made everyone feel so welcome..the service was impeccable & the food was absolutely amazing. Would definately recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Allyc30,

Thank you for your review. I am most delighted to read your comments on your Wedding Day!

We take great pride in the food and service here in the Woodlands Hotel, as we understand just how important a Wedding day is to a couple.

On behalf of the Management and Team ,we wish you all the happiness in the world!

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Came out of the Place stuffed at a price little more than I would pay at a takeaway. Excellent food and service from the Carvery in relaxing surroundings , A large plate of Corned beef kept me full for hours later which is proof that the food is of good quality and worth trying out. Parking is not a problem and a few moments spent in the peaceful hotel grounds to help digest a fulfilling meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaw, Waterford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had our wedding at the woodlands and it was the best day ever more than we ever could have ask for from the beginning to the end. very helpful and friendly staff. the lead up to our wedding any question we had they were always helpful in ever way. Great atmosphere throughout the hold day and it made us able to enjoy without and stresses. The bridal suite was fabulous and so spacious and very clean couldn't fault at thing and the food was out of this world fantastic. Compliments all round.
Caroline and Gerard Murphy

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinemurphy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Carolinemurphy84,

Thank you for your review. It was our great pleasure to host your wedding with us here in the Woodlands Hotel, Waterford. I will ensure to pass all your kind comments on to the team.

On behalf of the team we wish you all the best for the future.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had an excellent few nights. Staff were very friendly and professional. Leisure centre was great. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Very pleasant and cheerful atmosphere. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve1265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Eve1265,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend the Woodlands Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Reception welcome very friendly, bar food - in particular toasted sandwiches very pricey for what they were. I ordered one on Sunday and it was excellent if expensive, when the same item was ordered on Monday it bore no correlation to what was on offer on Sunday. It arrived pale and non toasted, it was a basic cheese/onion and tomato but, had a strange flavour as if the onion was rancid. There was no dressing as the one on offer the previous day. It was returned and we were advised that someone would be with us --this did not happen!!

The leisure facilities were good, but, the back areas en-route to the Leisure area looked as if they had not been hoovered in quite some time. Showers not working, lift not working which meant trek through Restaurant and up some back stairs.

Restaurant did not appear to open on Sundays!

Room was of a good size if dated. Antique TV , room was over the reception area canopy which was littered in cigarette butts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Annette,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at the Woodlands Hotel, Waterford. I am glad that you found the very staff friendly and enjoyed the leisure facilities.

I have passed all your comments on to the management team, We appreciate all the feedback given.

We do hope that you would consider the Woodlands Hotel for any future stays in Waterford.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I purchased a 2 night B&B and one evening meal. A great weekend had by all. There was a group of couples. A great few days. Very relaxing.
At reception, we had all booked separately but they helped us organise that we could rooms which were next to each other. the staff were very helpful. Really made us welcome.
The rooms were basic but comfortable, loads of space. Rooms were spotless upon arrival.
We sat for dinner on the Saturday night. Meal was lovely. Good choice on the menu. The staff again, were very pleasant and a pleasure to deal with.
Great atmosphere around the bar. very enjoyable few drinks. Barman was great fun.
Breakfast next morning was lovely. Very relaxed. For a busy morning, the place was spotless. every table cleared quickly.
The leisure facilities were the best that I have been in. The pool was lovely. Very clean. Not too busy either.
Had a lovely bowl of soup and sandwich the next day. While others ate from the bar menu. the food was very tasty.
While leaving the staff were very helpful. The receptionist was so pleasant and cheerful. A great weekend. Thanks too all the staff, they were amazing

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidohea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Davidohea,

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in the Woodlands Hotel, especially the feedback about the staff. I will ensure to pass on your kind compliments to our team. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.1 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,147 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,125 reviews
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,113 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,369 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Property: Woodlands Hotel
Address: Dunmore Road, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing