We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“midweek break two night BB plus evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“midweek break two night BB plus evening meal”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

on arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff member on reception , then told all about our stay and given cards to room , room lovely had tv n two seater couch , on both mornings breakfast was lovely as were staff, we had our evening meal in the brass cock ,starters lovely. our main courses of duck and steak cooked to perfection again friendly staff all in all great value for 180.00. iv seen comments about the tv been samll what i say is i didnt go there to watch tv was out sightseeing everyday , only one thing i could fault was the mattress it was very hard but over all experience wonderful and yes we will be back soon i hope .

Room Tip: ask for soft bed everything else is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kegotoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre K, Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for sharing your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words about all the staff here at the Woodlands.

Yours sincerely

Deirdre Kearns
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    132
    70
    51
    44
See reviews for
168
133
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel was absolutely spotless. The food was ok, not huge choic in the bar. The reception staff were lovely. The waitress in the breakfast room was a little star.
However, the decor badly needs updating. Our room was not pleasing to the eye. The tiniest telly in the world, bring your glasses!
Our stay was very comfortable though (once we got more pillows) and I would return. I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tomgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our stay was good value for money. The room was pleasant slightly dated but clean and adequate. Breakfast was very good. There was a lively atmosphere in the pub & the staff were very child friendly.
However, the hotel needs a serious deep clean. The bar was filthy, with dirty dishes left on tables. The glass on the cabinets were smeared with dirt and needed to be opened & cleaned. The carpet on the stairs to the leisure centre was well worn & dirty. It needed a vacuum at least. The swimming pool was disgusting. There was at least 5 used plasters discarded at the side of the pool.The grids at the side of the pool were caked in grime & need to be replaced or power washed. The dressing rooms had not been cleaned from the evening before, as there were childrens hair bobbins left on the shower floor.
I can forgive a hotel for being dated. The staff were lovely. The food was very good. However, hygiene left it down big time. I will not be returning again. I would not use the swimming pool if I lived in Waterford.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatmoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Co. Wicklow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here during half term in a family room. They are currently doing some painting in the communal areas and corridors etc. to freshen up. Our room had a few little quirks (you had to stand up against the wall/taps to get a shower as the angle is off. The hot tap in the sink in the bathroom was also badly set with similar issues to the shower). The TV remote control was not working and the staff fixed it right away. It would be useful if there was a standing lamp or such to take away the need for just the overhead lights and bearing in mind that a family room usually has children who may need a nightlight.

The staff are all lovely and do as much as they can to accommodate anything you may need. The rooms are clean if a little dated. The swimming pool is a great way to start your day, especially if you have children.

We found a lovey local pub/bar no more than 5mins walk from the hotel called Oskars. This is in Ballinakill shopping centre. They do terrific food and the service is impeccable, they are also very welcoming of children. The chef even took time to come out and ask if she should make smaller pizzas for the children (aged 7) as they were quite big. I thought that was very nice of her, she didn't have to take that extra step.

This is a great hotel if you are a family, who want to stay near but not in the city and want to be able to get to areas like Tramore without a huge effort or parking fees. The People's Park is on the way back from town and the kids could get to play in the excellent playground and the surrounding parkland before getting to the hotel.

All in all, this is a great hotel to stay in for a short break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the swimming pool and not facing the back as this is where all the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yenolomaraic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurles, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The Woodland Hotel is very nice and very well priced, however I was left very disappointed by the quality of food that was available from the hotel. The food was very over priced, I had a starter of chicken wings which were covered in sauce. I then had a main course of "Fresh" fish of the day which was clearly out of a packet. The chips, as well as the fish was very greasy. On top of that the coleslaw was warm and clearly left out for to long. Over all I was left very disappointed by the food, with a very limited menu. I found this to be very disappointing and would not go back again as a result, which is a shame as the hotel is quite nice.
By Philip

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bray
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed in the Woodlands hotel on the 30th January.Its a very fine looking building,just a few miles outside Waterford city. A very friendly receptionist Sandra checked us in very efficiently,and in a very pleasant manner.We were on the 1st floor beside lift. We found the room to be spacious,quite atmospheric and comfortable.For once we had more than 1 chair in a double room.There was a couch and 3 chairs,plenty of seating for a small party!! a good sized bathroom. Beds were very comfortable,and we had a pretty good nights sleep. Breakfast was self service except for the service of Tea and Coffee. It was a lovely breakfast,fresh bread rolls,excellent brown bread,nice fresh Coffee,and a very friendly and efficient waitress. I highly recommend this Hotel. We avail of the good value deals for several trips a year,i can safely say the Woodlands was one of the better ones,and i am critical, as i worked in Hotel management for over 20 years.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank methusalembray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel is a "must visit" if in the Waterford Area, we found the staff very friendly & welcoming. Our room was very clean & comfortable,and breakfast was plentiful with a good variety of foods catering for all tastes, again with very friendly & attentive staff. Will definately visit again.

Room Tip: Rear of hotel has River Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.1 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,100 reviews
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
2.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,119 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Property: Woodlands Hotel
Address: Dunmore Road, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing