We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, poor hotel.”
Review of Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Had a week at the Woodland Hotel during a business trip to the area. The staff in all areas of the hotel are great. The breakfast and bar meals are good but the evening menu is very limited. The rooms are large but are poor, stayed in a normal room and had a further two days in an "executive" room. Both had large stains on the carpet, were excessively warm due to the heating being on in the halls and had dirty water coming from the taps, so a bath was out of the question. The executive room came with a small balcony but was no different from the normal room other it being twice the cost. A wedding on the final night of my stay ensured no sleep was possible until 4.30 am when the final guests left and stopped shouting and smoking below my bedroom window. I re-iterate the staff are great but the hotel is poor. I wouldn't stop there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Sootnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a nice hotel, the rooms are very spacious with lovely bar food and a nice bar and leisure centre. The only con is the life in the hotel is very very slow which is quiet annoying and there was no air conditioning in our room so it was very hot

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Myself and 2 friends stayed here the night before our half marathon in Waterford.the staff were extremely courteous and Sandra arranged a quiet room as to ensure we had a good night's sleep.We were accommodated with an early continental breakfast as we had an early start the next morning.pool and jacuzzi were just perfect. Room was a really great size and spotless. Definitely will return here.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Budycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre K, Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely feedback on your recent stay at the Woodlands Hotel. Hope you enjoyed the Marathon, it was a lovely day for the event.

Look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Many thanks

Deirdre Kearns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Room was big. Although dated and carpet was in need of a good clean. Bathroom was ok until I used the shower and it was very poor.
Pool was great. The first morning there was a very helpful guy on the desk. On the second morning there was a girl, who clearly didnt want to be there. And didn't even know if there was a lift to the hotel. Considering we had a child in a pram to carry up the stairs!!!!
We didnt have much dealings with the staff but they appeared friendly.
On our second night at around 12 midnight a car pulled up outside with very loud music and young guys standing outside it smoking. Not very pleasant with a 13 mth old baby in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vonx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre K, Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Woodlands Hotel following your recent stay with us.

Apologies for any inconvenience caused, however, I'm a little puzzled as we do not have any stairs located in the lobby, on either side of the reception desk are 2 lifts which are in clear view.

Hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Woodlands in the near future.

Kind regards

Deirdre Kearns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had been promised electrical plug adaptors and upon arrival we discovered that they were only good for shavers, so we had to spend 10 euro to purchase our own. The reaction from the front desk was null.
No air conditioning in the rooms and although Ireland is not a hot country, the rooms get very very hot and uncomfortable.
The Hotel is in a great position to travel in the country side and to see the ocean.
The shower is horrific, the bath is small and the tap sprays water against the wall rather than to the person.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre K, Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Woodlands Hotel.

Sincere apologies for not having the correct European adaptor on your arrival, I realise reception were unable to supply you with this however the girls did do their best to organise this for you .

Hope you to see you back again in the near future when over visiting the sunny south east and family.

Kind regards

Deirdre Kearns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here in late May 2014, lovely large rooms, but in need of renovation at least cosmetic renovations. The room was large but the curtains & upholstery was sun bleached and tatty. The service was ok, but I wasn't impressed at getting charged for a late checkout when I didn't even get a phone call to the room or a knock on the door! Clean hotel with ok service.

Room Tip: A lot of sun to the front of the hotel, nice bright rooms on this side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trekkieboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre K, Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Woodlands Hotel and your constructive criticism.

We have been very busy updating our bedrooms and public areas over the past number of months and are continuing to do so continuously.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Deirdre Kearns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed here from the 20th June to the 23rd. The hotel catered for all my family around 20 people. The staff were extremely friendly and catered for all our needs. The Hotel has a swimming pool and various hot rooms. I really enjoyed my stay. The rooms were more than adequate and the food was perfect. Thanks Woodlands.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christy Clarke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre K, Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Woodlands Hotel.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and staff during your family stay. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Deirdre Kearns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.1 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,252 reviews
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,422 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
2.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,238 reviews
2.9 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Address: Dunmore Road, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range: £85 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing