We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully underestimated hotel”
Review of Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
kildare
1 review
“Wonderfully underestimated hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2009

I stayed here for the very first time in April with my wife and 14 month old daughter. I found our room very comfortable and spacious. We brought our own travel cot and still had plenty of space left. We didn't experience the dodgy shower heads and the room was fresh and spotless. Found the bed comfy aswell.
Ate in the Bar and restaurant. Bar food was tasty and great value. The restaurant food was delicious, well presented and with excellent service. Breakfast time was special. With a buffet set up, there was no excuse to go hungry for the day and yes it was very tasty indeed. On a par with any hotel I've stayed in.
The leisure centre was great. Spotlessly clean and with a baby pool it was ideal for our daughter. In fact it was one of the main reasons we chose this hotel and it didn't dissappoint.
The staff were very friendly and worth tipping even in these recessionary times. The reception area is bright and spacious and ideal for mammy and daddy to enjoy a drink with a toddler in tow!
Were going back next month.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    134
    73
    52
    47
See reviews for
174
138
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in July. From the outside the hotel looks quite nice and the reception area has recently been renovated and looks good. However, we booked a standard double room and it was quite dated and lacked any feeling of comfort; the bed was very uncomfortable, the bathroom was in need of repair (lots of cracked tiles and grouting), the sofa was dirty and the shower was nowhere near strong enough.

Location of the hotel is quite peaceful but it is completely surrounded by housing estates, from our balcony we could look straight in to people's kitchens. There is a Tesco and a retail park close by and a small selection of restaurants too. City centre is only a ten minute drive away.

The leisure facilities are quite good at this hotel and are included in the price. The gym is adequately equipped and the pool area is very clean.

Breakfast is a hot buffet style and is quite nice.

The bar is lively enough and the staff are very nice and friendly.

I stayed at this hotel with my wife as we were attending a wedding nearby but it would be a great place for a family to stay. Our only real disappointment is the comfortness of the room.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

tried this place a few times for food... not great at all..... try becketts dwon the road or oskars!

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gastronomy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Pa.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We are a family of 4 with two children. We only get one vacation per year so I research
long and hard for the best deal available. I wasn't sure what to expect at Woodlands because the reviews were mixed. I must say our experience was absolutely wonderful!
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a standard room which was a nice size and a beautiful view of a court yard. I was very pleased with the daily maid service everything was well stocked and very neatly done. Air conditioning , TV, were perfect. I was shocked when I saw and iron, ironing board , hair dryer , coffee maker. in the room.already , and I requested a refrigerator and was supplied at no charge. The breakfast was well supplied with plenty of food, a variety of cereals, oatmeal, toast ,bagels, waffles, fresh fruit and a selection of drinks and hb eggs. If you go hungry its your own fault. They have a car service if you need to come back late after the shuttle sevice has stopped. The pool area was huge and they offer hot fresh towels for your use . The $200 credit was perfect and we hardly spent any money on food. and the balance came off the room bill. And we had 20% off all our gifts. The hotel is across from the vistor center where you can get the shuttle. Very convenient ! I can not say enough about the Hotel and the staff. I would recomend this to anyone. In my book Woodlands is 5 stars!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

We recently stayed here when my mother got rushed to the Waterford Hospital with double pneumonia. They offered us a 79 euro rate with breakfast. The staff could not have been more accommodating and caring during our stay. They were wonderful. The restaurant/pub was good and the breakfast was also good. The rooms looked a little worn and the beds were not the most comfortable in the world but it was fine. The shower heads were the worst – it was hard to get the shampoo out of my hair!!!! I think if they did one thing, it should be to change the shower heads. The hotel is less than a mile from the hospital which was convenient and there was a local restaurant that was also good called Beckett’s (Someone told us it is a chain.) It was not close to the downtown area, but really it was only a 5 minute drive. On the whole, considering the reason I was there, it was a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookieCahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Very comfortable and clean.
Staff very friendly and helpful.Food excellent.
Good 'craic agus ceoil' in the bar over weekend.
Would recommend to others. Perfect location.

Hilda and girls.

hillycg@hotmail.com

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilly2338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Its an average 3 star hotel with not much going for it. We recently stayed here for a weekend and the only good thing about our stay was the food in the restaurant, the breakfast, dinner and service were good by any hotels standard. Multiple bad points, the location is really bad, a good 3 miles from the city center with not a woodland in sight only housing estates. The rooms are fairly old and dirty, the sheets are clean but the beds are very uncomfortable. The first night we arrived we decided to have an early night, this was a mistake as a band started at 11pm in the bar and it sounded like they were in the room with us, on complaining they said this was standard weekend entertainment and that we should have been informed on booking, we werent informed so they moved us up a floor to a quieter room. Room was a little nicer without much sound problems, but very very hot, I dont think they have any ventillation. I would not stay here again...

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mat789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.1 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,147 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,125 reviews
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,113 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,369 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Property: Woodlands Hotel
Address: Dunmore Road, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing