From our arrival to our departure nothing was too much trouble. We were welcomed with coffee and cake as well as lots of interesting information about the house, Wexford and good places o eat / visit. Antoinette's passion for her home shone through without being boring. The house is filled with a whole collection of fascinating artifacts; each time we entered a room (especially the dining room) there was something which had gone unnoticed before. Views from the property, overlooking the town are beautiful and the grounds are amazing, being restored to their original using primary resources to support the process.
We stayed in the Coleman suite, which we had requested, this being our surname too. It was grandly furnished but relaxing too. The bathroom was a good size with a powerful shower.
Breakfast was well cooked and filling, with plenty of choice. Our only regret was we didn't get to meet the legendary toast throwing George!
- Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Sion Hill House & Gardens overlooks Irelands oldest city, the city of Waterford, and the river Suir. Set in almost five acres of gardens, this period and listed house dates back to the early 1700's, when the artist Van Der Hagen in 1736 used the gardens to paint his view of Waterford city and its waterfront, described as " the noblest quay in Europe".Today, Sion Hill House still looks out on this noble view stretching out over the city with its many church spires and even to the church spire of Tramore , a seaside resort seven miles away which can be seen clearly in the distant horizon. The house was built by the Pope family who were wealthy Waterford merchants and ship owners, and remained in the family until 1917. The Pope family, descendants of William the Conqueror, arrived in Ireland with Oliver Cromwell in 1649. They were very wealthy, operating ships between Newfoundland, Canada, England and France and amassed most of their wealth during the Napoleonic wars by importing wine from France to their wine cellars here in Waterford and then exporting it again to England for profit. Sion Hill has not changed over the years. French and English Cavalry swords still adorn the walls together with many other artifacts and paintings, some of our guests have described the house as "a living museum". However, nowadays we have all the modern conveniences with en-suite bedrooms, tea/coffee making facilities, TV's, trouser presses and hair dryers etc. and have been awarded a five star rating with the Automobile Association.The gardens at Sion Hill are extensive, divided between parkland, formal and woodland with many trees approx 200years old and close to 100 ft high. The gardens contain many rare plants, sourced from all over the world and are at their best in the Spring when thousands of bulbs are in bloom. The many certificates awarded by the Mayor of Waterford and displayed in the entrance hall give testament to the importance of the gardens to the city.The house furnishings include many rare and unusual items of interest including many old clocks , two of which are in the hallway, both made in Waterford. The Grandfather clock by William Parker, 78 The Quay, was made in 1870 and the wall clock made by Mosleys of Waterford in the late 1700's , both remain in good working order. The hall chandelier and wall brackets were made by Waterford Crystal while the Murano13 light glass chandelier in the dining room was made in Venice, Italy. Stuffed Antelope heads adorn the walls of the hallway along with fishing rods and Waterford Crystal walking sticks. At the back of the hall stands a beautiful Ancient Hopsicord piano. ... more less