We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful building.”
Review of Bishop's Palace

Bishop's Palace
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
US$8.72*
and up
Bishop's Palace Museum: Admission Ticket
More Info
US$12.46*
and up
Medieval Museum and Bishop's Palace: Combined Admission Ticket
Ranked #4 of 60 things to do in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Bishop’s Palace Museum houses a display of Waterford treasures from 1700 to the 20th Century, and gives visitors a wonderful insight into the history of what was, up until the 1750s, Ireland’s second city. 'The Mall is a beautiful walk, about 200 yards long… facing it stands the Bishop’s Palace, which not only adds a considerable beauty ... the Palace is a fine building of hewn stone, with two fronts, that next to the Mall is beautifully ornamented with a handsome portico.' (Charles Smith’s History, 1746)' This exquisite architectural jewel, now a museum, continues to delight over 250 years later, the ground and first floors furnished as a very elegant 18th century townhouse. The top floor brings 'old' Waterford alive from the 1900's to the 1960's.
Reviewed 7 August 2014

It would be a short enough stint but worth going to. Apparently I have to fill a hundred characters minimum. So here we go. Is that enough?

Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

HI Ann, thank you very much for your very short and concise review, it was obvious that you enjoyed your trip to the Bishop's Palace!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 358 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Tour guides were brilliant!! The tour was so well presented and timed perfectly between the two guides. They both got into character for the whole duration and kept everyone entertained. Good way to spend an hour.

1  Thank RoMcD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Good afternoon RoMcD2014, we are delighted that you had a fantastic time here at the Bishop's Palace. I shall certainly pass on your very kind comments to our butler Mr What Why and the housekeeper Mrs Rickards, I know they will be delighted that you enjoyed yourself here at the Bishop's Palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We didn't wait for the guided tour as we were short of time, but even so, we enjoyed our visit to the Bishop's Palace. We were lucky to receive a lot of information from a chap in one of the rooms, who filled in a lot of information about the exhibits and the history behind them. He also gave us a lot of information about some of the great families of Waterford, such as the brothers who set up the Crystal business.

My favourite section was the very interesting display of life in Waterford during the early part of the twentieth century. The political background was particularly interesting, as were the displays and background to local sporting endeavours and the Irish swing band scene. I found the information on the effect of the first world war was fascinating but saddening at the same time.

The joint ticket with the Medieval Museum is good value at 10 euro per person. Both museums are well worth a visit, and I wish we had enough time to take the guided tour.

1  Thank RojBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hi RojBlake, many thanks for taking the time to visit the Bishop's Palace and also for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. Its great to get such positive feedback and on your next visit, you might like to take the re-enactor led tour, which is at no extra cost, and the butler Mr What Why and the housekeeper Mrs Rickards will give you more in depth detail as to what went on in the house and the City at that time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I liked the proximity to the city centre and the crystal glass showroom. I also liked the fact that I was able to get a joint ticket for this with a Museum ticket. They share a coffee shop and in good weather it is possible to sit outside. I really enjoyed the tour, in spite of being an ignorant non-conformist!! (Didn't understand the use of the alter furniture) The staff are very friendly and the house is more interesting than I thought it would be. Don't just visit because it's wet outside! Worth an hour or so in any weather. Allow longer if you want the free tour as you can go back round at your own pace.

Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L C, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Good morning Patricia, many, many thanks for you kind words about the Bishop's Palace, it is indeed a wonderful building to visit, not just on a wet day, but any day! There is so much to see and you can certainly relax in the Bishop's Palace Café inside or out on the plaza when the weather is beautiful like it is at present. The combined ticket for the Bishop's Palace and Medieval Museum is the best and most economical way to view the two wonderful museums and we look forward to seeing you again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We self-toured this three story mansion to save time, but were able to overhear some of the bigger highlights from the great tour guides leading other groups. The rooms were beautifully decorated according to the period of the owners ranging from the late 1700's to the mid 1950's.
This was well worth a visit to see all the interesting historical items.

1  Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L C, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Many thanks Jan for taking the time firstly to visit us and secondly for writing such a great review. The team here pride themselves on making the experience as memorable as possible for visitors and while the self guided tour will save time, there is so much to learn from the re-enactors who go into great detail about the palace and its contents. Hopefully on your next visit you will have time to take the re-enactor led tour by our butler and housekeeper!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bishop's Palace also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Bishop's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing