We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and will certainly visit again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Stayed for two nights 10+11th Augu.'11. Got a great deal on price. This is a 3* hotel and for that it deserves a 5* rating. It is everything a 3* should be.
Staff were enthuasiastic and helpful. There was a band playing in the bar ( if u like that). Food was nice , presented well, plenty of variety and, tastey. I made a mistake and we arrived late for breakfast the first day. There was no problem. Fresh breakfast was prepared and presented in the lounge at no extra cost.
The room was spacious and comfortable.
The lotel is within walking distance of the train station and opposite the bus terminal.
Even the beer was ( unnecessarily, I thought) cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CiaranSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

4 of us stayed in dooley's for two nights. Price reasonable compared to some of the other Hotels along Waterfront. €198, two nights bed and breakfast and 1 evening meal per couple. The rooms were fine, a bit dated, and we could hear the people above us waking around their room, the shower in our room also wasn't the best, but did the job, however, this didn't really bother us as we were out most of the time. The meal in the Restaurant was lovely, and there was plenty of choice for breakfast. The nicest thing about the hotel was the staff, really pleasant and courteous. There is also parking across the road in the public car park, the hotel gave us a token as we were leaving, only cost €2.50 to leave the car there for the two nights.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orladDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour of Ireland. It was a very nice hotel in the heart of Waterford, with very easy walking to the historic area with many shops and pubs. The room was average sized and the bathroom was large. The water pressure in the bathroom was just ok, and the hair dryer was an odd shape and made it difficult o style my hair. The room did not have A/C, which is not normally a problem, but we did leave the window open all night for the breeze. We had a great view of the river from our room. The restaurant food was very good! We LOVED the location of this hotel and wished we could have stayed another day in Waterford to walk around the town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T_Loves_to_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed at Dooley's last month while on a tour of Ireland. The hotel itself is clean, with friendly staff. The rooms are well sized although a bit dated. The furnishings could do with a revamp.

Location was very good, fronting the river and within a few minutes walking distance to the shops. Food in the hotel restaurant was fair.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We booked this hotel as a stopover for one night. Due to the great deal we got we hadnt very high expectations. We were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were spic and span. We enjoyed some music in the bar before retiring to bed. Breakfast next morning was excellent. Staff were very attentive and the food was very tasty. We would be happy to return for a longer stay and indeed to reccomend it to our friends. Because of its prime location we plan to return for some retail therapy!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marscenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I cant belive the comments from one reviewer saying this hotel is average because he got a room with 2 beds although he was single - not something to complain about. And as for the marble shelf being too small (how petty can one get) The marble shelf is approx 10" deep and 5' long to place your toiletries on, what size shelf does this man need. We have stayed here about 6 times in the last 4 years and have to say the hotel is clean, quite fresh, has entertainment some evenings and breakfast and dinner have always been excellent. The staff are efficient and very friendly and helpful, the location is great, only minutes walk from town centre yet it is quiet. I will definitely stay here next time I visit and would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank birthday4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I've been to this hotel only 1 night, on 7 July 2011, as a member of an organized tour group to Ireland, so take this into consideration. I've got room no.43 which was a simple room for two, with 2 twin beds, although I was single. The bed was comfortable enough. The window view was of the street (pubs, shops etc.). In the clean bathroom there were two separate water taps (hot & cold) which are inconvenient to some people. Also, the marble shelf is too small to put things on, but you can manage it if you are not too meticulous and it's for a short staying. Breakfast was o.k.

Room Tip: try and look for a room with a view nice than i got(see in picture)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronit10roni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,170 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £58 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing