We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Little Hotel with a Great Bar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Nice Little Hotel with a Great Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

My husband and I were VERY lucky to get a room at all as we arrived the night before a huge street market festival in Waterford. Luckily, Dooley's Hotel had a double room available, inclusive of breakfast in the morning.

The room and the hotel were a little bit dated decor-wise. You can tell they updated the look with paint and fabric, but didn't do much to cabinetry, especially evident in the bathrooms and slightly scary elevator.

Still, the place was clean, available, and had great water pressure. With a head of thick curls, I've not had the best luck with showers in Ireland, and this was a great relief for me. Besides the slightly dated look, it's not very well sound-proofed. We heard A LOT of very loud profanity off of O'Connell Street at all hours of the night. I don't mind cursing (I do a bit of it myself), but at 3 a.m., it's a bit unwelcome.

The bar in the hotel is great. We had countless (seriously, I lost count) drinks there and the clientele was quite the range - everything from a middle-aged man from Kilkenny to a "Fallen Angel" Hen Party, complete with a sexy Satan bride-to-be. There was also a Stag Party that wandered through with a blow-up sheep...

All in all a great experience. And a decent value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    380
    162
    53
    36
See reviews for
219
409
41
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

This hotel is highly professional, offering a very easy location, every comfort, excellent restaurant, and extremely helpful staff. The rooms were comfortable with good seating space. Anthony on reception..and in the Bar...was particularly helpful. The dinner was of a high quality and we were served with great charm and efficiency by Lucas. One dish was not satisfactory, but this was speedily replaced and due concern was expressed. The breakfast was among the best we had in our week's tour of Ireland. A charming hotel and strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Living not too far from Waterford I have only ever eaten at Dooleys.That said it is always a pleasure to eat here.

The staff are always courteous, efficient, polite, and attentive. Noel, one of the managers, can only be described as a gentleman and an example of how managers should be in a hotel.He leads by example and the difference is always obvious when he is on duty.

We went for the low price menu today and it was very well worth it. The panini was generous and tasty. Served with a large portion of chips it was more than my partner could eat.

The half portion of lamb was again more than enough (though in part a bit dry); and my bangers and mash reminded me how good simple food can taste - especially as it had a lovely carrot and parsnip puree topping: something I'd forgotten to make for ages.

With 1 Sprite included the total came to a VERY reasonable €23.

Well done Dooley's on showing how good lunches do not have to cost the earth.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seanaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

The location of this hotel is right on the quay, within walking distance of many shops. On the opposite side of the street is public parking which if 2.50 euro for however long you keep the car there (they give you a discount token at the hotel). The room was very big, with a big window and comfortable bedding, and a nice TV. The breakfast was included in our discounted rate of 108 euro. The breakfast was plentiful and had good food, with plenty of coffee and tea. Reginalds tower and the crystal factory are 10 minute walk and right next to each other.

Room Tip: Most rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

I and my wife can say that we had a marvelous time at Dooley’s Hotel. We stayed for three nights in mid August. The cost was competitive for a three star hotel. The Hotel itself was very comfortable including the river view double room. We did not experience any adverse background noise from outside. The staff were really good and did the Hotel proud; a mix of indigenous and European staff kept the wheels in the bars and restaurants moving nicely.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast board and found that the breakfast were standard and wholesome for the standard of hotel; and you did not need anything more. We did have one evening meal and took in the local heritage show (dance and fiddle etc) at the hotel. We very pleased with the standard of the four course meal and the price again was not painful; the entertainment was good quality too.

We wee on a cycling holiday and used the hotel as a base, our bikes too were well catered for stored warm and dry and secure each evening by diligent staff. We would certainly recommend the hotel and there is a conveniently located bar attached as part of the complex which serves a good range of daily bar meals.

Eating out is not cheap anymore in Ireland but we found (by recommendation) a lovely Italian restaurant the food was high quality and the price a little high but worth it as a one off trip; Amilianos (something like that). We phoned the hotel direct having made initial reviews on web. It was our second visit to Waterford and this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSmiths8771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel recently. Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. The bar is nice and the food is good. Breakfast is good too and the staff on for breakfast are very efficient. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel, the only negative would be that it was a bit noisy as we were on the 1st floor and some of the guests were making a lot of noise downstairs. Even with the noise we would still stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: get a room on the top floors, should b quieter there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishtraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

My Husband & l and our 1 year old baby recently stayed in Dooley Hotel, Saturday 20th August on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast rate. l spoke with Caroline in Reservations & via email, who was a pleasure to deal with it. The receptionist on Duty was very welcoming to us. The Restaurant staff was also very welcoming. We had a beautiful room. l work in Reservations myself and it's nice to get the same service back. l will definitely
be recommending this hotel to my colleagues & to everyone l know

Room Tip: The Security of the hotel was excellent ie You needed your room key card to operate the hotel lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Property: Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing