We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Good Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
1,360 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Good Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

This hotel was our second in Ireland and we enjoyed our stay for two nights, the view of the quay is nice but you will get some noise from street traffic. Hotel parking is the public parking across the street and there are a large number of spaces, be sure to get your token from the hotel for their good discount. They did not offer this to us, but we knew and asked. Our room was nice size, clean with king bed, TV was old and outdated with poor selection. The hotel staff was very friendly and helped to make our dinner and tour reservations. The Breakfast was standard Irish Breakfast, but good. Would have liked a better selection of rolls/pastry. Be sure to eat after the tour groups so service is better and the buffet is not so crowded.
On Thursday evenings during the summer the hotel has a very good Irish dance show
The Hotel is within walking distance to the Waterford display, Bishops Palace and a good walking tour of the old city and many good restaurants. Would go back even with the tour groups and some street

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    384
    165
    53
    36
See reviews for
221
418
42
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We have just returned from a tour of Southen Ireland and this was a first trip to Waterford and Dooley's Hotel. I had e-mailed the hotel before visiting to ask for a quiet room. In the event, this was anything but. Our room was on the first floor overlooking a back street. The room itself was comfortable, with clean linen and good housekeeping generally. However the bathroom was very shabby and seriously in need of an upgrade. The extras provided were very basic pump-action shower gels and soap.

At night our room lit up like the illuminations from the shops, street lamps and restaurant across the road. My husband and myself climbed on a chair and tried to block out the light using the bed-runners, folding them over the curtain pole, with some success. Also, after a day trip out, on returning at 3.45pm, we and our fellow passengers found our rooms had not been cleaned and two of the non-Irish chambermaids were busy " chin-wagging" on the landing, oblivious. Particularly galling was that some the passengers were disabled and obviously in need of a lie-down/rest/bath.

As for the food, it was generally felt that the breakfast was sufficient with not a lot of variety, however, after a shaky start the two evening meals we had were plentiful and well-cooked.

After a fantastic hotel stay in Killarney, this was a disappointing end to our tour.

Room Tip: Apart from sending a nice e-mail(which I did) possible asking for a higher floor may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorry5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

I'm surprised by the rave reviews of this hotel. It was totally average, but may be outstanding for Waterford. Compared to our lodgings in other towns, it was disappointing. We did not have dinner there, so I can't comment on the food. On the first night we ate at The Bridge Bar, good pub food. My husband and I and our 30 yr. old son shared a very small triple. The beds were not comfortable and the noise of a huge compressor outside our window kept all of us awake the first night. We asked to have the room changed and were moved to another triple that was a smoking room. No compressor, but we were over the kitchen and it was just as noisy the 2nd night. On a positive note, the staff is attentive and the breakfast was generous. We went to McDonald's to use the free WiFi. No chance of us going back to Waterford, there are too many delightful towns to waste time here.We used Dooleys as a base for sightseeing (Rock of Cashel is a must do) and to do family research at the library in Dungarven.

Room Tip: To avoid noise from the kitchen, request a high floor. The front faces a busy street, but all of mac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineSlattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Our first holiday in 20yrs and our first stop on our bus trip was at Dooley's great start to our hols. My parents had stayed there a couple of years ago and also had a great experience. We went on to stay in another two hotels after Dooleys and although good didnt really compare to our first nights stay. Lovely rooms, friendly ,helpful staff and both the evening meal and breakfast were fantastic great choice and tasted fabulous . We would definatly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipperary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stopped off in Dooleys Bar last Friday morning to have breakfast and were delighted with what we got there. Firstly we explained that we didnt like bacon so could be have more egg and sausage instead and that was no problem. The food was sizzling hot and well cooked and we got a top up of coffee. The price was great value too. Will try the lunch next time.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank campers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Arrived in Waterford about 5pm and loked at several hotels. Dooleys looked good and quoted us 92 Euro for a twin room inc breakfast.
The room was good with many facilities. The only gripe was that WiFi wasn't free and I ended up paying 15 Euros for 24 hours.
Has a good reataurant within the hotel and after looking arounf waterford we decided to use this. Staff were friendly and service good, food was presented well and value for money.
Afterwards we went into the hotel bar that had traditional irish music until 1-2 am in the morning.
Breakfast was help yourself buffet and cooked well.
Overall very satisfied and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

My husband and I were VERY lucky to get a room at all as we arrived the night before a huge street market festival in Waterford. Luckily, Dooley's Hotel had a double room available, inclusive of breakfast in the morning.

The room and the hotel were a little bit dated decor-wise. You can tell they updated the look with paint and fabric, but didn't do much to cabinetry, especially evident in the bathrooms and slightly scary elevator.

Still, the place was clean, available, and had great water pressure. With a head of thick curls, I've not had the best luck with showers in Ireland, and this was a great relief for me. Besides the slightly dated look, it's not very well sound-proofed. We heard A LOT of very loud profanity off of O'Connell Street at all hours of the night. I don't mind cursing (I do a bit of it myself), but at 3 a.m., it's a bit unwelcome.

The bar in the hotel is great. We had countless (seriously, I lost count) drinks there and the clientele was quite the range - everything from a middle-aged man from Kilkenny to a "Fallen Angel" Hen Party, complete with a sexy Satan bride-to-be. There was also a Stag Party that wandered through with a blow-up sheep...

All in all a great experience. And a decent value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Property: Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing