We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we hoped for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Having had a sleepless night on the overnight ferry from Pembroke the staff were very helpful and made a room available for us early so that we could get some rest, and tidy ourselves up, before exploring Waterford. The room was excellent, as were the public areas and the breakfast was really good. Overall we thought that Dooley's was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed here for four nights last week on a coach holiday last week. This has to be one of the best hotels in this part of Ireland. All the staff were very friendly and efficient. The food was excellent and a slight variation of the menu was no problem. ie ice cream instead of cream. We had a rear room which was clean and quiet, those in the front rooms were unable to have windows open at night due to high traffic noise. For those that are interested WiFi costs 3 euros per 24 hours.

Room Tip: For a quiet room avoid one that over looks the road and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djsmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Great family hotel, staff were really friendly and the service was excellent. Room was very comfortable and better than the 3 star rating, I was very impressed. The food was excellent and was one of the reasons for choosing Dooley's as I had read previous reviews. I wish to thank Renata, our waitress in the restaurant and also Rachael at reception who arranged my booking and arrival treats for my family. I have stayed at many hotels at home and abroad and I must say that my stay at Dooley's ranks among the top 5 hotels I have stayed at. The room service breakfast was definitely the best standard ever experienced in any hotel and the quality and choice of food in the restaurant was better than most 5 star hotels. I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely return to Dooley's very soon.
Thank you so much for a lovely few days

Room Tip: I was on the 1st Floor and I had absolutely no complaints. The linen has to be the best quality ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Very nice hotel with comfortable furnishings. Great pub-style bar and excellent breakfast. Only one night here while on a tour but really enjoyed our stay. Very nice, friendly people. Handy location in the city, walking distance to Waterford Crystal and on the river.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cands2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I stayed in Dooley's Hotel last weekend for my sisters hens, we had originally booked another Hotel in Waterford but because the reviews for the Hotel on Trip Advisor were so bad my sister wanted to change Hotel, I rang Dooleys not thinking I would get any accomodation and I spoke to Denise in reservations who kindly found rooms for all of us. The hotel is situated right across from the bus station which was brilliant. The rooms are grand, nice and cosy. We had dinner in the restaurant on the Friday night, the food was fab, I had soup and steak and it was the gorgeous, nicest steak I had in ages, the restaurant staff was lovely, I didnt want desert as I was full and the manageress asked if I was sure I didnt want desert, the staff are very nice and accomodating. The bar staff were equally nice and very friendly. The breakfast was buffet style but there was plenty of food, it was delicious, sorted us out for the day. We only stayed for 2 nights but I will definitely return for another weekend with friends later in the year as its only a 5 minute stroll to shops and all the pubs. You have to try out the Hotel restaurant as the food is lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This hotel is in a great location in Waterford, very central and parking across the road. The hotel room was comfortable however the hotel itself was a little dated. I stayed for two nights with my partner in this hotel. Staff on reception were not overly welcoming when we arrived. After the first night of staying there, I had a horrendous experience in the morning. One of the cleaning staff decided to let themselves into my hotel room without knocking while I was in the shower and I had to ask her to leave. An hour later, another member of cleaning staff let themselves into the room without knocking while I was getting dressed. And a half hour later, a member of staff knocked on the door, I answered and they were wondering if we were still in the room. We were inappropriately disturbed on two occasions and I was very upset about this. Overall, this hotel was physically good but I was very upset with the service.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bambiam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Dooleys in Waterford is a true gem. The staff are very friendly and helpful and offer that special feeling of being very welcome and more than just a paying guest. The hotel is spotlessly clean and offers up a tasty traditional Irish breakfast. I look forward to another stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracyonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,238 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £49 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing