We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure what to expect but”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We had been on a short break with this coach holiday company before,which was'nt the most enjoyable experience,but what a revelation Dooleys was.On arrival on Sunday evening,after a 13hour journey from Derby via Pembroke Dock,we were greeted very warmly and informed that dinner would be served as soon as we had come down from dropping off our cases.There was an excellent,if limited,choice for dinner and this also applied to the other two nights we were there.The breakfasts were really good also,being a buffet arrangement and one could have as little(or as much) as one wanted.The room we had was qiute a large one in the original part of the hotel.It was an internal one,but we packed so much into our stay that it did'nt matter.All in all we were very satisfied

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordDot, Owner at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Peter1947

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at Dooley's Hotel, Waterford.

Please know that your comments are truly appreciated. It will be a pleasure to share your many praises of our facilities and service with the staff. We look forward to your return visit and the opportunity to once again provide you with the true graciousness of our facilities and staff.

I nice to recieved such great praise from someone with your name as this was the year our grandmother purchased the hotel. Thank you again for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

976 - 982 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

Excellent breakfast. great location and friendly receiption staff, but Hotel could do with some modernisation. TV in room was ancient and signal flickery. Window in room would not seal properly so quite a bit of noise from the road. Woken up at 6am each morning by coach loads of tourises off for their early departures. Average age profile seems to be 65+.

Room Tip: Request a room not overlooking the road, to keep noise down. Ask to be on a floor away from early de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike070275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordDot, Owner at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Mike070275

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at Dooley's Hotel, Waterford.

We were pleased to see that the majority of your encounters throughout our hotel were very satisfactory. We were disappointed, however, to see that the sleep quality did not rate as highly. Being city centre there is some early morning traffic noise, but as you recommended we do have rooms that are not directly facing the main road and try to facilitate all requests where possible.

Please know that your comments are truly appreciated. The team will be delighted to read your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights for her birthday and really liked it.The hotel is perfectly located on the river and a short walk to the bars and restaurants.The staff are very friendly,they even left a birthday card in our room,and the hotel bar serves great food and also has a really nice atmosphere to it.will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dublin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordDot, Owner at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at Dooley's Hotel, Waterford.

Dublin L, we are gratified to learn that you enjoyed your visit with us. Please know that your comments are truly appreciated. We look forward to your return visit and the opportunity to once again provide you with the true graciousness of our facilities and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

great service and excellent breakfast in Dooleys this week. We were so pleased with our breakfast, that we returned for a late lunch, again the food and service was excellent. The menus are very well presented and price. Lovely, pub, restaurant , clean and spacious

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rossie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordDot, Owner at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Rossie1

The team will be delighted to read your kind comments. Many thanks for taking the time to write your reveiw and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We have been going to Dooleys hotel in Waterford for four years now for our Christmas weekend. We are ten elderly ladies and we have always been made very welcome, We don't bother eating out as they have a very good, reasonably priced bar and dinner menu. Their Christmas parties are wonderful, we look forward to it all year. The last two years they have had a great Joe Dolan tribute night that is also a favourite of ours. The staff and service are great and we have already booked our Christmas weekend, bring it on.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrayMollyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordDot, Owner at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear BrayMollyo

Thank you for your kind words regarding our Christmas parties, we always enjoy your groups arrivals as we truly know that the Christmas season has arrived. However, I would like to disagree with your comment about being ten elderly ladies, how we see you as ten ladies who know how to enjoy life. We look forward to welcoming you back this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I stayed here recently with a group of friends. We were using Super Valu tokens and felt from the moment we arrived that we weren't welcome. The staff at reception and in the bar were rude and unhelpful. However the night porter from Portugal was very nice and professional, maybe he could give the girls at the desk a few pointers in customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordDot, Owner at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the lack of service you received during your visit. It is apparent that we failed to provide you with service you both expect and deserve from our hotel. Rest assured your feedback has been shared with our staff.

We do take your comments seriously and hope that this incident will not keep you form returning to our hotel so that we may show you the true graciousness of our staff and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Location was excellent. Just across the street from the Waterford- Plunkett train station and the river. Rooms were nice & clean. Bed was hard though! Many shops and pubs in the area. Staff was nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingSisters812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,202 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £48 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing