We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic food surprise”
Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

We popped into the bar here for a bite to eat to take a break from shopping in the cold weather and we got a lovely surprise. we both ordered fishcakes expecting small portions and what we got was an extremely large and delicious plate of food. a wlovely pick me up!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7_Fitz7_7_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    406
    176
    53
    40
See reviews for
236
441
44
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
carrick on suir
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

we stayed for one night (sat) , hotel was warm on arrival as was the greeting from the receptionist. Our room was perfectly presented and spotless , with simple to use tv ,
The information booklet prepared by the hotel was excellant and up to date ,very helpfull to visitors. Breakfast was well organised , hot and with a nice selection of fruit and also plenty of choice from the hot buffet , coffee and toast was topped up without fuss by busy , friendly staff . Great stay in an traditonal style hotel , with the "old" style values that some of the newer celtic tiger hotels dont understand ...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcosCarrickOnSuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My first time to stay in Dooley's Hotel after hearing so many good reports. I was really impressed with the service first of all. I ate in the Bar and all the staff were interested in looking after you - at the end of a very busy service, they were still doing their work with their heads up, wanting to make eye contact with the customer - a very refreshing trait. The bedroom was very comfortable with some lovely brochures on the Darrer family and the history of the hotel.
The stand out memory of my stay was the breakfast in the morning - all the milk jugs, tea & coffee pots, sugar bowls were that lovely old Hotel silver - you never see that anymore. For me, that capped a proper traditional Irish family-run Hotel experience. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterLoughnane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is the second time we have stayed in Dooley's and I would not hesitate to return AGAIN! Staff very helpful, friendly and polite, food beautifully presented from a varied menu, rooms large and comfortable. It can be difficult to get teenagers to agree easily on a family destination but no problem here - they loved it. Parking directly across the road is very reasonable at €5 per day - this is a public car park, not owned by the hotel, but a great bonus! I will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Sorry, no tip as any of the rooms I have stayed in were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deirdre m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

All the other hotels I stayed in were 4 star but this was just as nice. It is right on the water. The room was huge and a little old style but better than a chain hotel anyday. The staff were great.
The bar is nice. My only complaint is all of the 4 star hotels had free wifi and here they charged 4 Euros. I thought that was a bit much.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khaton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Wexford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

My grandmother and I stayed at dooleys for a week and I have to say I enjoyed it. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous opening doors because my grandmother is wheelchair bound. The food is nice however I found the deserts to be lacking taste. The bedrooms on the third floor are homely and extremely comfortable (coming from somebody who is uneasily pleased). The only three things I disliked were the parking facilities, the lack of facilities on site for families (ie. swimming pool, gym etc) and the punctuality of staff when there is a problem with one of the items in the room like the tv. I enjoyed my stay a dooleys and hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: Stick to the third and fourth floor much more modern and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisling B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Stayed at Dooley's Hotel, the choice of the coach company.

The hotel coped very well with a couple of coach parties of over 100 guests.

The room we had was road side, second floor. Very pleasant, well appointed and clean.

The Hotel uses a security system preventing non hotel guests from accessing upper floors.

The food was plated for dinner and buffet for breakfast.

We found the staff very helpful and friendly. The only down-sdie is Wi-fi for which a charge is made and is only available in the reception area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thierry_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,129 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Property: Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing