We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Hotel is well located but dated. This is definitely an old world hotel. Great location right on the river. Clean rooms.

Staff friendly but not exactly proactive.

Online Internet provider instructions incorrect when trying to login, amenities book stated a 4 Euro charge, also incorrect as its free. Instructions missing on phone and no mention in hotel amenities book on how to use it to reach the front desk. After getting the proper code for access by descending 3 floors - one very small, slow elevator - there was no mention that it would only work for one device so another trip down to the lobby for two more access codes - really?

Food in the restaurant okay but waitress made an error on our bill necessitating a second payment.

Bed needs a new mattress - enough said.

Cable channels good with clear picture. Shower excellent but shower rod too high so lots of water on the floor to mop up afterwards.

For one night it was fine but I wouldn't return, especially at the rates indicated by Trip Advisor.

I think this hotel has been over-rated by the normally brilliant Trip Advisor. Perhaps this hotel attracts a particular type of patron. I found the attention to detail lacking.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    397
    170
    53
    39
See reviews for
227
431
44
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My partner and I decided to get a break away for a few nights, we looked on the net and found a beautiful Hotel in the sunny southeast & it happened to be Dooleys Hotel on the Quay in Waterford City. Got a fab deal. we arrived and the very second we arrived to the very second we checked out it was amazing ! Beautiful food & nice pints!! We were welcomed at reception by Denise & did not have worry one bit more the service was outstanding , we got plenty of food & as much as we wanted so we left the hotel in great form and we are planning to have our Wedding Party at Dooley's Hotel this year. I cannot recommend it enough to family & friends .. We look forward to seeing you guys again very soon .. Regards Shane & June

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juneandshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I received an invitation from my retired Financial Adviser friend to Dine recently. He choose Dooleys Hotel Restaurant because as he said he had listened to my forty years of praise on Dooleys food. My first meal in 1973 was followed by hundreds of meals over the forty years and last week I again so very much enjoyed their delicious offerings. I will continue to go back. Should the Restaurant not be open then choose one of the very many comfortable alcoves to be found adjacent to the bar where one, two three & four course meals are available and so delicious quality food at a fair and reasonable price. Late afternoon is a good time and if you are on your own bring your book or newspaper peeping over it to enjoy the happiness of visitors to our city enjoy a pint of Guinness at the Bar.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing onto the River that flows past the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LD0yle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a very friendly hotel, staff are lovely. Wednesday night has a traditional music session with some ballads and is very entertaining and not intrusive on your conversation. Food served in bar is excellent and reasonable; nice pint of Guinness also.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the Hotel may be noisy. It is city centre so ask for a quiet room. We were 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douglaswilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I attended the FAB Women Business Awards on the 17th May and had the delightful company of Tracey (Dooly's Hotel) and Sue, great conversation, great setting, the room looked so elegant and compliments to the chef.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nicola k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

i had my daughters communion meal in this hotel and i have to say that the staff were very helpful and friendly and couldnt do enough for us service wise. we did have a few extra turn up to the meal and the manager on the day was very helpful in having them seated at the table with us instead of them being in the bar on there own. i would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definietly go back again as the food was amazing and everyone was stuffed when they were finished.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glamgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This hotel filters through coach tour after coach tour. It certainly takes a beating and was evident that you were not trusted either!!!! The headboard was nailed to the wall. Stains on the carpets upstairs and down and unhelpful reception staff. You got one complimentary hour on the Internet and after that you had to pay. Staff were not clear whether it was per day or per stay. The dining room staff were amazing and worked hard under so much pressure. When you came out of the dining room you were hit by a wall of cigarrette smoke from smokers outside the lobby Two and a half stars is all this hotel deserves. Beware of the court yard rooms. The smell of curry wafts its way through your bedroom window along with cigarette smoke if you happen to stay while there is a function on.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra and go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,353 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Property: Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing