We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotel is located on a main road, however, we had a room at the back - no view to speak of but no road noise either. Good location too as it's within walking distance of all the sights and shops. Our room was large and spacious, with a very big bathroom. There was plenty of space for our luggage and to sit and read a book or have a coffee. Although we've stayed in more luxurious hotel rooms this one was very clean and comfortable and we would have been happy to stay more than one night if our holiday had allowed. The food was excellent too so we can happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

865 - 871 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed in Dooleys for one Saturday night and I do have to say that the quality of the rooms and the food served at Breakfast were both really excellent. The hotel is also very nicely located for all that Waterford has to offer. However, here's the sting in the tail. I had a room which faced out onto the courtyard at the rear of the hotel (room 67) and I was kept awake into the early hours (later than 2 a.m.) by people using the courtyard as a smoking place, making lots of noise and not giving a hoot about guests trying to get some sleep. When the noise wasn't being made by the smokers there was the constant (and very loud) drone of some sort of extraction system which was operating somewhere on the ground floor. I complained the following morning at checkout and was amazed at the ambivalent manner in which I was dealt with by the Duty Manager whio said that they "would take my comments on-board". I have seen similar comments on other review sites from other guests so the management clearly aren't acting as one would expect. Such a shame as the hotel itself is very nice indeed.

Room Tip: If you value your sleep then steer clear of any rooms that front onto the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Covtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

As a native of Waterford City I highly recommend this family run Hotel on the Quays of our beautiful city.
Staff are courteous and friendly,food is excellent and the Traditional music session on Wed and Sunday nights are pure class and have made the real Irish holiday experience for everyone that I have brought there.Directly across fom main Bus station and a short walk from train station. Many special acc. offers also during the year

Room Tip: Try and find room to rear of hotel which backs on to quiet street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bendel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

I got a deal on dealrush so this was a bargain. We were going to a wedding in Waterford and the staff kindly arranged for our room to be ready early so we could change for the wedding. Rooms were big enough and clean. Staff were very friendly, we ate lunch in the bar and it was nice. I would recommend hotel it is good location and does what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purplefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We spent one night at this older hotel on the waterfront in Waterford. It was the height of a heat wave, and the hotel is not air-conditioned, but aside from the stuffiness of our top-floor room, we very much enjoyed our stay here. Older furnishings, creaky stairways, non-granite countertops all suggested a genuine European, non-westernized hotel. And the perfect cleanliness and top-notch service matched our experiences throughout Ireland.

We had an excellent dinner of Guinness Stew and enjoyed the atmosphere of the pub. Breakfast was plentiful; hot foods were hot, and pots of coffee and tea on the table were kept full.

The location is excellent--take the walking tour of the city! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed in Dooley's for three nights. The room was small but very comfortable eg two armchairs so we could both sit and read in comfort, and the room and bathroom were both spotlessly clean. We ate in the hotel as part of our package and the food was really good - particularlythe fish chowder and the imaginative starters. The service in the restaurant was absolutely excellent - so efficient and friendly, and the reception staff were very helpful (I needed to see a doctor and they were very helpful in arranging things). Irish music in the bar was a treat and the location was on the waterfront. All the main museums (which were very good, particularly the e-guides) were within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Go for one at the back as the front is quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel goes beyond to help you ,on arriving with abad chest infection they had me in a taxi to the doctors within half an hour a had my script n was on my way back to Dooleys.in the mean time a fan had been placed in our room.nothing seemed to much trouble for them .from freeezing ice packs for our water bottles to storing our luggage while we enjoyed afew extra hours in Waterford's muesums,great veiw out of our window on to the water n sush soft bed linen it was a delight to sleep in ,these things matter in the cver all experience. Thank You Dooleys for making this a holiday Il always remember.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,202 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £49 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing