We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
snugbay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, comfortable and a great location”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed there on our second to last night in Ireland. Had tried to get a room at the Granville, but they were completely booked. The Granville referred us to Dooley's which was just down the street. We were not disappointed. The rooms were clean, beds comfy, the bathroom both modern and clean, and breakfast was wonderful. The location was perfect. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see in Waterford. I would have given five stars but our room was located on the back side of the hotel and we had to close our windows due to bar noise and cooking odors.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snugbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    393
    168
    53
    38
See reviews for
225
427
43
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel was in a great location in downtown Waterford across from the river. It was old but has been updated and is well kept. The food was good and the staff very attentive. Its an easy walk to all downtown attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harborctylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tx
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

After a long drive from Dublin I was looking forward to staying a 4 star hotel. What I got was less the 3 stars. The place is small and old. Situated right on the Quay , the shops are all in walking distance. The room was smaller then expected, and a little dingy. The staff were not real helpful at makng things happen. The entry is small and cramped. The food is fair but not as good as other hotels I stayed in while in Ireland. Parking is across the street and if you are on independent travel you must drag luggage thru parking lots and across the street. I can't really reccomend this hotel if your tired and hungry.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drgccgTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I recently stayed in Dooley's for a class reunion. The room was nice, clean and very comfortable. Had a few drinks in the bar before the meal and the beer was great. The meal was excellent, served on time, the staff were friendly and service was friendly.
I had a great breakfast the next morning in the ship restaurant. There was a nice relaxed atmosphere for the entire stay and I always felt I was a valued guest.
Overall great hotel with great staff and service.
I would thoroughlyrecommend Dooley's.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenNich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed here for a weekend recently, staff are super and the presentation of the rooms is great, a presentation of fruit in your room and papers available every day. We had a large crowd for dinner on the Saturday evening with on person with dietary requirements and they were all dealt with in a confident manner. Anthony is a pleasure to work with too.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Oriel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed last weekend 27-29 sept 2013 in Dooley's Hotel Waterford having travelled by train from Dublin I walked across the Bridge into Dooley's. There I received a very warm welcome with painless check in. I asked was it a quiet room and true to word I got one, Room 48. 
There was complimentary water, fruit and even an ironing board in the room. This I thought a touch of class, for a 3 star hotel, amazing. Exceeded my expectations, many 4 star could learn from these small touches. I met folk in the bar that evening which went to the early hours of Sat morning. The bar staff were very helpful and no issues at all, as long as we were there they would be there to serve, yes to serve. I attended a Dinner with 120 people in Dooley's on Sat night a forty year school re union and it was a great success, good food, great service and again bar open to the early hours, no stress. 

Others who attended I spoke to on Sunday had hangovers, self inflicted, but thought the meal function and service were great on the Sat night. On Sunday I checked out and left luggage for collection later in the day, no issues. I have no hesitation in recommending Dooley's Hotel, for anyone looking for great value and friendly service, where expectation are exceeded.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quite room, no 48 is good. See more room tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a good hotel with the right mix of old charm and modern amenities. The room was fresh and modern. The breakfast was excellent. We were able to park the car right across the street for 3Euros and were walking distance to everything we wanted to see.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah2L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Property: Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing