We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the staff that make it special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's the staff that make it special”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I spent two nights at this hotel in early November. I had family business, so it was not just a 'pleasure' trip. The staff were all so genuinely friendly and helpful. I had a brilliant room, overlooking the Quay, which was clean, comfortable and the right temperature (important at this time of year in Ireland). The service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. I ate at the hotel. There was something on the menu for everyone and the food I had was very nice indeed and good value for money. So, thanks for a great stay and a special thank you to the great staff and their attitude.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tidy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    397
    170
    53
    39
See reviews for
227
431
44
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

You get an excellent welcome at the Dooley's. We arrived early but reception welcomed us and ensured that our room was available immediately.

Our room was up a few stairs and was slightly strangely set out. As you enter the bathroom was on a top level with a small staircase down to the bedroom. The room, though is large and spacious and has free WiFi. We got one double and one single in a twin room but both beds were plenty large enough and very comfortable so we got a good nights sleep.

The hotel is a little old but it doesn't skimp on comfort and is recommended. Breakfast was extra, with a discount for booking the night before, and was extremely good with an excellent range of hot and cold food, the black and white pudding was especially good, which set us up for the day.

The Dry Dock pub attached to the hotel makes an excellent bar and a good place to enjoy a relaxing pint after exploring the lovely town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife and I stayed in Dooleys from the 1st to the 3rd of November, it was a most pleasant stay,the room was comfortable and spacious, the food was excellent. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and contributed hugely in making my wife's birthday dinner very special. Our stay was excellent value for money, we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jnshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at Dooley's for one night on our way down to Kinsale music festival. The staff were helpful, friendly and polite, our room was clean and comfy and we found the hotel to be warm and welcoming. This was our second stay at Dooley's and this time we brought six friends with us! We would definitely stay again and recommend it. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I had no complaints with dooley's hotel . Our room was clean and large enough. We had a room on the back side of the building, and it was quiet at night. People staying on the front side said they heard a lot of street noise. The management helped me to get WiFi (no fee). I would not have an issue with staying here again.

Room Tip: Like I said, the back side was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dwillard2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuba, Missouri
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We enjoyed this hotel. Very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The rooms are a little dated but considering the age of this Hotel they have been maintained very nicely. Very efficient staff, great supper and breakfast. Our view was one looking over the river and it was great. We enjoyed being so close to the water for a night-time stroll!

Room Tip: View of the river on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Showme_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have stayed here a few times, if you are looking for a true Irish experience- you will find it here. The room we had was lovley and updated, the bathroom super clean with luxurious towels - that are bath sheets!

Not sure what other reviewers are referring to about the staff- every singles person we talked to was friendly- giving nothing but a warm welcome.

The food in the restaraunt was superb! I had salmon and my husband had the beef- both meals were super hot and very, very good! Our server was very friendly as well.

Again- Dooley's does it right!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not look over the area where the kitchen staff come out and smoke. Had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelSue89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,353 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Property: Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing