We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Girls Night Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Great Girls Night Away”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

7 of us booked for one night. We were greeted by extremely friendly reception staff. I'll be honest and say the rooms were not the most up to date but they were a good size, clean and had everything we required. We were situated on a floor with another group of partying girls and that suited us perfectly as it removed concerns about disturbing other residents. We liked that the hotel had considered their guests and had separated us from their quieter residents.The hotel is very centrally located so a short walk took us to the main nightlife. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and a waitress (Helena) who was beyond excellent. Not feeling in the best of condition following a long night of partying she couldn't do enough to help us. Their rate for the night was extremely reasonable and they were happy to accommodate a group so we couldn't have asked for more. We will definitely be back to Waterford and without question would be back to Dooley's Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFKelly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    406
    176
    53
    40
See reviews for
236
441
44
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camrose, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Least favourite hotel on our tour. Very dated. Smell of urine as you pass the front desk/ bar/ bathroom area. Poor signage to find the rooms, oddly numbered. Rooms are dated but clean. Not the quietest place, walls are paper thin. Internet password not given on arrival, had to run down for it. Need a keycard for the stairs and the elevator. Dinner and breakfast were good but the smell at the beginning just did me in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivanhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We visited the hotel for two nights as part of our CIE tour of Ireland.
The rooms are large and the bed was comfortable but the bathroom was crowded and we had problems with the toilet. We reported the problems three times to the staff but the problem was not fixed during our stay.

We ate breakfasts and dinners in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent. We also visited the hotel pub and had a fun time there.
I would give the meals four stars plus and the hotel three stars.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SAinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night here in mid April. The rest of the clientele seemed to be from tour bus groups. The wing we stayed in was quiet and courtyard facing. Very strong smells of paint and cleaning agents in corridor and room. The rooms were clean but decor was dated. The showers had no hot water. The saving grace was a good breakfast with very helpful staff

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MartinSurfIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

have little good to say,we had a one night stay here, food in restuarant was nice but we had a very long wait for it, that night was terrible we were kept up all night by party in next room,we complained to security but it kept up anyway,ended up going out for a walk at 6am because we were sick of it and couldnt sleep,had breakfast and was glad to check out and then had to pay for our parking too,would never ever book in there again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on a Friday afternoon and were warmly greeted by the lovely reception staff.. The hotel itself is basic enough and there is no wifi in the room but there is in the bar which was odd but handy all the same.. The Friday night entertainment was lively in the bar and the bar staff were helpful advising on spots to see in the area. The hotel itself is based on the quay and is a mere two minute walk away from the centre of the town. I would definitely stay here again as it is a great base to see the greater waterford area. We visited tramore, and got the ferry to hook head in Wexford.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of a touring holiday around Ireland. On arrival our first impressions of the hotel and service were excellent. Unfortunatley, whilst in the restaurant eating our evening meal, somebody entered our room (Room 14), and stole all our money which was hidden in a bag; leaving behind other valuable possessions such as a camera and jewellery. We realised afterwards our door was very stiff closing due to the thickness of the carpet and our door may not have shut properly. We reported the theft to reception staff but they didn't appear concerned and asked us if we had closed our door properly on leaving the room. There was no more help offered by the hotel staff. On speaking to other people on our coach the following day, we discovered there had been several sightings of people 'trying' other doors that same night and one couple reported someone opening their door as they sat in their room. Initially we felt the security of the hotel was good. On arrival we were provided with a pass card and could only move around the hotel with it. We were very shocked to find someone had entered our room due to the nature of security. We would like to highlight this bad experience to anyone thinking of staying here and although our money was hidden, we feel someone knew exactly how to get in to the room, our whereabouts at the time and exaclty what they wanted to steal.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KatyDavidH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfordDot, General Manager at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Katy & David,

Your comments have been forwarded to me for my evaluation and response by the Darrer family.
While I was aware of the situation regarding your money I was stunned by your review, and that you felt that the reception staff were not concerned. The receptionist and manager on duty who assisted you the following morning were both disappointed to read that you felt they did not care. I understand from our manager on duty that you had converted money for your trip and placed it in your bag the previous Wednesday, and had not noticed the missing money until Sunday morning.

On Sunday morning when you reported the incident the receptionist immediately called the manager on duty to assist you that morning. As you correctly said we take security of our guest very seriously and have taken measures to ensure that we do our very best to provide a secure environment. From our records and the one provided to you that morning of the lock report printout, your key was the only key used to enter your room from arrival on Saturday evening up to the time that your report your missing money. Unfortunately we cannot take responsibility for valuable items that are not left in our direct care for safe keeping in the safe. Additionally the manager on duty felt that she exhausted all options of assistance, especially when you declined her offer of police assistance, which she advised you to do. As the offence had occurred to your personal belongings this incident has not been reported to the authorities.

We had no other reports of disturbances on that evening.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the lack of concern that you felt during your visit. It is apparent that we failed to provide you with, which you both expect and deserve from our hotel. Rest assured your feedback has been shared with our staff.

Katy & David, again on behalf of the Darrer family, hotel staff & myself, I apologise for any negative perception it may have left. Please do not hesitate to call me at 353 51 873531 if I can be of assistance to you and if you change your mind in reporting the incident to the authorities I am more than happy to assist with this.

Kind regards
Michael Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,130 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Property: Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing