We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed one night on a CIE tour. Hotel was convenient to the downtown area, restaurants, shopping and bars. Our room was located in the back of the hotel overlooking a commercial street. Some partying after midnight disturb our sleep. Room had one twin and one twin and a half bed. Bathroom was spacious. Hair dryer is kept in desk drawer if you are looking for it. Free Wi-Fi was available in the room. Had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Food was great. Breakfast is a buffet. Liked the quaintness of the hotel. Hotel staff were exceptional. No air conditioning but you can open your window and let the fresh air come in which I preferred. Bed were a little hard but somewhat comfortable. NOTE: To turn on lights in the room you must use your room key card near the door. Hotel did not inform us on arrival.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    384
    165
    53
    36
See reviews for
221
418
42
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just had one night here, room was nice and big.
Next time I would go with room only rather than pay extra for B&B as the breakfast in bar is only 8.95 and much nicer than the one they offer with B&B.
Staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently held our annual sports awards dinner in Dooleys Hotel. It was an excellent event from start to finish. The venue was ideal for the 140 attendees. We had an excellent meal with great service. The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout the evening. Everything we required for an awards evening was set up and no request was too much. We would certainly recommend this hotel for such a function.
Susan Mc Gill

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We enjoyed a family weekend break in Dooley's Hotel. Its central location is ideal for exploring Waterford City. The car park is convenient and very reasonably priced at €3 for the whole weekend (token from reception). Our room at the front of the hotel was comfortable, spacious and modern. Hotel staff were welcoming and friendly, without being intrusive. The breakfast buffet included a wide selection of dishes to suit everyone. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the range and quality of the food was excellent!!! Compliments to the chef!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenos08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

pros:
comfortable beds
spacious bathroom
good breakfast
nice storage/shelving
good location
inexpensive parking (€3 if u get a token from front desk)
inexpensive(€99 including breakfast for a room with 1 double, 1 single, and 1 cot)
decently quiet in room( couldn't hear bar)
secure
nice/helpful staff
cons:
very dated(old boxy tv, bathroom)
my children said it looked like their grandmothers bathroom
dumpster view outside our window
unclear breakfast time
lots of drunk people in lobby

Room Tip: get a room that doesnt overlook the dumpster
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa12345678910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We didn't stay there because we only have one hour for a break of bus. Within the one hour we have to finish our food. The food was delicious, and fast service, good atmosphere. The staff did good welcome and behave us good.The staff take serious about our time ,and help us to save our time. I work in same field, comparing most of the place fish and chips were better, like the chips were home cuts.The food was good portion. The hotel is in good location. If travel in same route of bus definitely I will visit back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajay12342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The team of Navigator, Driver and two mechanics stayed two nights in two twin rooms. We found the Staff excellent and they looked after everything with a smile. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the portion size was generous to say the least. the rooms were excellently presented and the bathrooms were new. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. overall it was a very pleasant stay with a view of the river from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Property: Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing