We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

No complaints! The room was clean .. only there for 1 night but the location was great..Had the B&B and it was a very good breakfast. The Thai massage offered was fantastic! Service was a little slow in the pub but overall the people were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GGCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on a weekend getaway the night of 12/13 July and while we found the room to be of a good quality, we were rather disappointed with the price for what we got. €119 for the room, with a double bed and a single, then to have to pay €10 each for breakfast (€139 B&B in effect) wasn't our idea of a bargain in a three-star hotel. We were given room 39 which was on the rear of the hotel and we could hear the thumping from some sort of bar/club below even with the double-glazed windows firmly shut. Fortunately we both got to sleep despite the noise.
Others have said that the parking was €3 with a token from the reception, however after twice inquiring about parking they never offered such a token. We paid €5.
Breakfast was good and there was a plentiful selection, however we thought for the price of the room it should have been included as it was simply a hot and cold buffet.
We don't typically expect a lot from a hotel, after all it's just really a place to sleep, but for what we paid, our experience was rather average.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank DanielD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Recently stayed here for 1 night on a CIT Tour. The hotel is rather old but location is fantastic. My room faced the main road/water front so it was quite noisy. The room was clean but needed some updating. I had a double bed, having paid a single supplement. The main restaurant where we ate was much better than the accommodation. Good choices for a fixed menu dinner and the breakfast spread was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed one night on a CIE tour. Hotel was convenient to the downtown area, restaurants, shopping and bars. Our room was located in the back of the hotel overlooking a commercial street. Some partying after midnight disturb our sleep. Room had one twin and one twin and a half bed. Bathroom was spacious. Hair dryer is kept in desk drawer if you are looking for it. Free Wi-Fi was available in the room. Had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Food was great. Breakfast is a buffet. Liked the quaintness of the hotel. Hotel staff were exceptional. No air conditioning but you can open your window and let the fresh air come in which I preferred. Bed were a little hard but somewhat comfortable. NOTE: To turn on lights in the room you must use your room key card near the door. Hotel did not inform us on arrival.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just had one night here, room was nice and big.
Next time I would go with room only rather than pay extra for B&B as the breakfast in bar is only 8.95 and much nicer than the one they offer with B&B.
Staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently held our annual sports awards dinner in Dooleys Hotel. It was an excellent event from start to finish. The venue was ideal for the 140 attendees. We had an excellent meal with great service. The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout the evening. Everything we required for an awards evening was set up and no request was too much. We would certainly recommend this hotel for such a function.
Susan Mc Gill

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We enjoyed a family weekend break in Dooley's Hotel. Its central location is ideal for exploring Waterford City. The car park is convenient and very reasonably priced at €3 for the whole weekend (token from reception). Our room at the front of the hotel was comfortable, spacious and modern. Hotel staff were welcoming and friendly, without being intrusive. The breakfast buffet included a wide selection of dishes to suit everyone. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the range and quality of the food was excellent!!! Compliments to the chef!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenos08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,169 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £58 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing