We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Holiday Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Holiday Again”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just retuened after staying 5 nights with Dooley's. We also had a previous 5 night stay there a month ago!! Everything about this family run hotel is outstanding. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The bedrooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast and dinner, including the bar meals at the hotel are delicious. It is very conveniently situated for public transport, including bus and rail. A 5 munite walk takes you to the centre of Waterford, and the riverside promenade is across the road from the hotel. Looking forward to travelling over from Wales for another holiday in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    406
    176
    53
    40
See reviews for
236
441
44
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

No complaints! The room was clean .. only there for 1 night but the location was great..Had the B&B and it was a very good breakfast. The Thai massage offered was fantastic! Service was a little slow in the pub but overall the people were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GGCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on a weekend getaway the night of 12/13 July and while we found the room to be of a good quality, we were rather disappointed with the price for what we got. €119 for the room, with a double bed and a single, then to have to pay €10 each for breakfast (€139 B&B in effect) wasn't our idea of a bargain in a three-star hotel. We were given room 39 which was on the rear of the hotel and we could hear the thumping from some sort of bar/club below even with the double-glazed windows firmly shut. Fortunately we both got to sleep despite the noise.
Others have said that the parking was €3 with a token from the reception, however after twice inquiring about parking they never offered such a token. We paid €5.
Breakfast was good and there was a plentiful selection, however we thought for the price of the room it should have been included as it was simply a hot and cold buffet.
We don't typically expect a lot from a hotel, after all it's just really a place to sleep, but for what we paid, our experience was rather average.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DanielD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Recently stayed here for 1 night on a CIT Tour. The hotel is rather old but location is fantastic. My room faced the main road/water front so it was quite noisy. The room was clean but needed some updating. I had a double bed, having paid a single supplement. The main restaurant where we ate was much better than the accommodation. Good choices for a fixed menu dinner and the breakfast spread was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed one night on a CIE tour. Hotel was convenient to the downtown area, restaurants, shopping and bars. Our room was located in the back of the hotel overlooking a commercial street. Some partying after midnight disturb our sleep. Room had one twin and one twin and a half bed. Bathroom was spacious. Hair dryer is kept in desk drawer if you are looking for it. Free Wi-Fi was available in the room. Had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Food was great. Breakfast is a buffet. Liked the quaintness of the hotel. Hotel staff were exceptional. No air conditioning but you can open your window and let the fresh air come in which I preferred. Bed were a little hard but somewhat comfortable. NOTE: To turn on lights in the room you must use your room key card near the door. Hotel did not inform us on arrival.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just had one night here, room was nice and big.
Next time I would go with room only rather than pay extra for B&B as the breakfast in bar is only 8.95 and much nicer than the one they offer with B&B.
Staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently held our annual sports awards dinner in Dooleys Hotel. It was an excellent event from start to finish. The venue was ideal for the 140 attendees. We had an excellent meal with great service. The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout the evening. Everything we required for an awards evening was set up and no request was too much. We would certainly recommend this hotel for such a function.
Susan Mc Gill

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,128 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Property: Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing