We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelent Hospitality.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow
1 review
“Excelent Hospitality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

I have just returned from a weekend in Dooleys Hotel in Waterford and it was magnificent, as I work in hotels my self I am very choosey with where I stay and Dooley’s was defiantly the ideal hotel. The food was gorgeous; the staff members were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were perfect and the relaxed atmosphere really made you feel as tho you were at home. My entire group found the weekend to be perfect and we will defiantly be back to Dooley’s Hotel. All in all i found this hotel to be outstanding and a big thanks to all staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Liked — Food.
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BrownieWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    384
    165
    53
    36
See reviews for
221
418
42
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2009

I stayed in Dooley's with my boyfriend and a group of friends for a weekend away in Waterford in January.

We chose the hotel because of its location - it's really close to the city centre without being smack bang in the middle. It's walking distance from lots of restaurants and pubs and it's also really close to the bus station and train station.

We had a great time - all the staff were very helpful and friendly.

We didn't have dinner in the restaurant but did eat in the bar and the food and service was fantastic. There's a great atmosphere in the bar and it's really cosy.

Really couldn't have picked a better spot - everything about it was great.

  • Liked — location and friendliness
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SC78Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

Loved it! Traditional Irish welcome and friendliness, special mention to bar staff for supplying endless Guiness, good laugh even at 2am. Breakfast was top notch. We'll be back!

  • Liked — The Irish Brekfast
  • Disliked — Crap weather
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ChilliPeppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a week long trip around Ireland. Our decision to stay at Dooley's hotel was spur of the moment (we had by chance parked over the road) and were immediately impressed by the warm welcome and helpfulness of the reception staff. We were then further impressed by the very cheap room only rate that we were offered. We questioned what the catch was, and upon seeing the room we realised there was no catch. The room was cosy, comfortable and above all clean!!! Fantastic value for money.

We decided to eat in the bar later that evening. And once again were impressed by the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble, and every request was met with a smile. The food was also very good, bonus!

We were only planning on staying in Waterford for one night, but after such great service we decided to extend our stay, and we were not disappointed! It is very clear that this hotel is way ahead of the rest with regards to customer care and service.

  • Liked — Staff helpfulness & friendliness
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AjRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

great location,
Check in was very effecient. The rooms were comfortably furnished, we had a twin on the second floor, which included hairdryer, kettle, iron and ironing board. Beds were comfy. . Plenty of room and shelf space in the bathroom and good water pressure.
Breakfast was excellent - cereals, fruit, and good hot options. Plenty of bar facilities and comfortable lobby area.
Very helpful and friendly staff. I would stay again and would recommend to friends visiting Waterford.

  • Liked — The River View
  • Disliked — !!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBlogin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2008

Stayed at Dooleys Hotel for 2 nights during a winter break in Ireland. It was our first stop as we came by car from London. Its about an hour and half drive from Rosslare so it was an ideal place to stop. Dooleys is a nice city centre hotel, a little bit old but the rooms are very clean and the beds very comfy.
Breakfast was nice, there was a good selection of hot and cold food and the staff i must say were very helpful even the foreign staff which there are alot of all over Ireland.
All in all Dooleys Hotel was a good start to our break and we found the rates to be very good too.

  • Liked — The beds were great.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwinicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2008

Avoid this hotel, they charge for everything, internet and parking, the rooms are crap and so is the food. There are better hotels in town, try The Grenville one hundred times better. Trust me I have stayed in a lot of hotels.

Helpful?
2 Thank paul365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Property: Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing