We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located but not much bang for the buck”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Dooley hotel was unimpressive. They misplaced our luggage when we gave it to the porter. The food at the hotel restaurant was mediocre. Do not get the Tiramisu. The rooms were adequate and clean. Location is good, although there is not much to see in Waterford.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,139 - 1,145 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2010

Second time to this hotel in as many weeks and yes the stay was as good as last time. We had 7 rooms for 1-2 nights B&B and the staff were so pleasant greeting us by name and making us feel welcome. We had dinner at the bar and the food came freshly cooked and was lovely and hot. The bathrooms especially the shower could do with a pump as that was the only little negative - there wasn't much power compared to other hotels but this is not a major concern. The sleep quality would have been 110% except for the 'gentleman' who wanted to tell everyone about his life at 4am in the street at the back of the hotel. I would definitely return and would highly recommend it as the best in Waterford having stayed before in 3 other hotels within the city

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

I, my wife (both in our late 40's) and our 18 year old son had the pleasure of staying in this charming hotel for 3 nights. The hotel itself is in central location to the city of Waterford. Upon the recommendations of the helpful reception staff we spent 3 wonderful days visiting the local historical attractions, most of which were in walking distance of the hotel.

From the minute we stepped into the hotel, until the minute we left we were never disappointed. We had expected the averageness that comes with a 3* hotel, but Dooley's was far from average. The rooms were exceptionally clean, comfortable, and cosy... infact the whole hotel could be described as cosy.

As our package included dinner, we ate in the hotel restaurant each evening. The food, service and ambience was first class. The food could not be faulted. Great sized portions, well presented and full of flavour. Compliments to the chef.

What made our visit to Ireland so special was definately our stay at Dooley's. Irish hospitality at its best. And this is all thanks to the wonderful staff in Dooley's, who were welcoming, friendly and could not do enough for us. We have returned back to California with many happy memories. Thank you to all.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan000P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Adequate, comfortable hotel. Food good, room clean and reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upsadaisy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

I spent a weekend with Friends in Dooley's Hotel for my birthday. On arrival we had a very friendly & efficent check in. The room was spotless and very comfortable and we really felt at home. That night we had dinner in the restaurant and the food and service was first class. After Dinner we headed into the main area for pubs & clubs. We were pleasantly suprised at the nightlife in waterford. We had a brilliant night.
The Breakfast was fantastic the following morning. Exactly what we needed the morning after. It will be a Birthday to remember. Wont be forgotten. Will definitly be back.....

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariposa_bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

What a lovely way to welcome in the New Year! Dooleys know how to do it in style.
Food was excellent as was the entertainment - The Bottle Brothers. Dance floor was never empty which meant there was something for everyone.
Have done NYE there before and intend doing again,

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulinebSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We stayed here as our jumping off point for our Ireland vacation. The hotel is in a good location, and there is a convenience store located just a few doors down. Plenty of parking across the street for a fee. The room was large and clean. The bathroom layout was awkward (i.e.:the blowdryer is over the toilet, the radiator is right next to the toilet), but provided large guest towels. The lift to the 4th floor was quick. The highlight of this hotel is the pub located on ground level. The food was very good, the ambiance was authentic, and the staff was attentive without hovering.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank carmella205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,190 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £57 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing