We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent New Years Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tower Hotel Waterford
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent New Years Eve”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Tower Hotel in Waterford. We stayed for two nights over New Years Eve we had a great time. The hotel itself is very comfortable. The food at breakfast and dinner was great! Loads of choices. The entertainment in the lounge was top notch. But what takes this hotel from being a very good hotel to an excellent hotel are the staff. Every staff member was attentive, they tried to meet our needs and worked very hard to make our stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible. Deidre one of the receptionist could not have been more helpful or pleasant, she is an excellent staff member. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for real value for money and comfort.

Room Tip: Try to get a riverside room. Or if not ask for one close to the lift. But really I just like this ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    333
    185
    89
    60
See reviews for
274
353
39
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Best City in Ireland and thats from a Dub. Loved the Hotel, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My wife and I recently spent a night at the Tower Hotel as we were on our way from Cardiff to Derry for the Christmas hols.
The reception from the staff at the hotel was faultless, we had travelled over night on the ferry and although check-in is from 14:00hrs we were told we could park our car in the car park as soon as we arrived (if we let them know they would give us the code for the car park) as we were arriving around 07:30hrs.
We called in to reception and were told that they would pre-register us to save time later. The receptionist then said there was a room empty that we could have, it would be at the rear of the hotel and not at the front . . . after leaving Cardiff at 22:00hrs the night before any room would be appreciated. The room was very comfortable and clean.
The bar in the hotel was more reasonable than I expected.
We did not have an evening meal at the hotel but we did have the breakfast which was superb, an excellent selection of both hot and cold foods.
The staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful.
We look forward to visiting the Tower Hotel again, this was a short stop off as part of my family originated in Waterford and as we were on our way up north for Christmas this gave us a chance to trace some of my roots. We will be back, next time for longer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth-Michelle-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights for Xmas shopping trip. The room was lovely, very warm and cosy for this time of year. We dined in the bar and the Bistro and the service and quality of the food were excellent. All staff were helpful, friendly and competent and we will be returning for a longer period next year. Would recommend the Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walesamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Great location, clean, comfy rooms, great breakfast and bar. Brilliant service too.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laois ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

stayed here for the weekend, booked at the last minute. when we arrived receception was busy witha wedding but we were seen to quickly and efficiently. Reception, bar and restuarant very nice, food excellent at dinner and breakfast. Staff were really good, both friendly and sorted out any problems we had quickly.
Our only complaint was our room, it was so dated, really one of the worst rooms i have ever stayed in, but while chatting to the receptionist she said that wing of the hotel was getting decorated in the new year. If this was done , the hotel stay would be wonderful and the location is excellent. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for one of the newly decorated rooms. Rooms at the back are quiet and overlook the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenlaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We had booked a 3 nights for the price of 2 deal in faithlegg hotel, The towers sister hotel but Faithlegg is only open 2 days a week in the winter!
So we agreed to stay in the Tower for our first night in Ireland, After reading the reviews - we was alittle worried however what a lovely suprise we had!
We was early getting to the hotel but they checked our rooms where ready and let us check in.. Bonus
The young guy at the desk was cute, friendly and helpful...
We dropped our cases and headed for Bar/ Bistro and had lunch there. The prices are good, being a hotel I expected them to be alot more.
Bar staff were keen and quick..
we made full use of the Spa which was excellent - Loved it..
The Steam room & Jacuzzi was the best I had ever used the Sauna & Pool was equally good.
It is worth staying at this hotel just to use these!
* Remember in Ireland you have to wear a cap to swim these cost 2 euros in the hotel, I recommend using ebay to buy them before your trip!
The room was good, clean but the bathroom was tired - Refurbishment needed!
the bed was firm but hard, which is miles better then being old and saggy!
Our room had a lovely view of Reginalds tower and the noise level wasn't to bad
Breakfast was top class really enjoyed it however the breakfast staff were unhelp and uninterested, tables left un cleared

The next night before we went to the faithlegg, they had a wedding there.. I noticed this was very noisy and crowded.. so becareful if they have a wedding at the Tower it could change your entire experience.

Waterford is a lovely little town, there is enough to explore just in walking distance for a couple of days

Couple of tips...
If you are disabled you & a carer can get into Blarney castle for free!
When I planned my visit I e-mailed a lot of the places I wanted to go
Reginalds Tower, Jerpoint Abbey, Cashel, etc and asked if they could do me a disabled rate most did!
Dropping entry to 1 euro!
There isn't enough done for disabled people visiting Ireland which is a shame.

Room Tip: Always see if you can do a deal with hotels or try for a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorwydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,089 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel Waterford

Property: Tower Hotel Waterford
Address: The Mall, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Waterford
#6 Business Hotel in Waterford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel Waterford In the heart of Waterford city, overlooking the marina, the Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre is the perfect accommodation venue whether your visit to Waterford is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tower Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing